We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
justin
California
The place to stay!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Feb 2024via mobile
Couldn’t ask for a better place to stay - phenomenal staff, superb location, nice accommodations, great food, and plenty of good surfing options. The entire crew was committed to making our stay extrodinary. We will return in the future. Thanks!
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$259
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $260
  • Hotels.com
    $259
1.9 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $136
  • Agoda.com
    $82
  • Vio.com
2.4 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Free parking
Pool
Vio.com
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $277
  • StayForLong
7.2 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
9.0 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $167
  • Vio.com
9.0 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $225
  • Booking.com
    $249
13.0 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
$1,336
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $1,365
  • Agoda.com
    $1,125
  • Official Site
    $1,524
20.4 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$251
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $239
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Vio.com
    $239
19.7 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Hotels.com
19.8 km from Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort
View more hotels in Vunaniu
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
207
15
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
15
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf trip other guests great waves keen surfer yoga instructor surf spots non surfers local breaks local waterfall fish private dinner kava ceremony fijian culture surf guide every night vinaka vakalevu our honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

Had the good fortune to stay at Matanivusi Eco Surf Resort early November 2023. On arrival it was beyond our expectations. The place is amazing from staff, accommodation, food and activities, they have it all covered. We surfed Frigates Pass every 2nd day never more than 6 in the water. The local breaks at your door step were so much fun, un crowded. Had session at Frigates pumping 6ft just with Brian (owner). We had one really windy day. My wife had plenty to do while I surfed with my boys 14 and 17. Matanivusi is a luxury intimate resort with the bonus of quality waves on hand and the food wow! I miss every staff member, all beautiful people. Can’t wait to get back there

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna McDonald, Owner at Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

Bula Sean :) Thank you so much for your review. We absolutely loved having you and your family here. Stoked that you, your boys and your wife had such a good time. It's really nice when you get so many waves uncrowded. Fortunately that is usually the way with us. Also happy your son loved the diving. We're really looking forward to having you all back to surf, relax and catch up again. Until next time , keep those memories happening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Had the good fortune to stay At Matanivusi Eco Surf Resort earlier November 2023.On arrival it was beyond our expectations, the place is amazing, from staff, accommodations, food and activities they have it all covered. We surfed Frigates Pass every 2nd day, never more than 6 surfers in the water. The local breakers at your door steps were so much fun, no crowds. Had a session with just Brian ( owner) 6ft Pumping Frigates. We had one really windy day .My wife had plenty to do while I surfed with my 2 boys 14 and 17 . Matanivusi is a luxury, intimate resort with the bonus of uncrowned quality waves on hand and the food wow ! Can’t wait to get back there.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Boden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna McDonald, Owner at Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

I'm so pleased you and your family enjoyed our slice of Paradise. Uncrowded waves, great staff, food, accommodation & the activities all gel to make the perfect getaway. I'm glad you found this too. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2023

The natural setting of Matanivusi in coastal rainforest was absolutely stunning. The rooms and food were everything we could have wanted. But the best thing about Matanivusi was the people. The staff were all so welcoming, so warm, generous and ready to share their culture - and most of all they kept us laughing! We felt so privileged to share their home and their Fijian way of life, the special Fiji Day celebrations were a highlight. Vinaka vakalevu!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank russellbP594DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna McDonald, Owner at Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Thank you for your review Russell. I'm stoked you enjoyed your time with us. I agree - the staff are amazing and we certainly have our characters here who love to make people laugh! Fiji Day with the staff and their families is very special....glad you were here to share it with them. Hopefully we'll see you here again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

Our recent stay at Matanivusi Eco Resort was so special - from the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. The resort itself is in a beautiful location, nestled in a thick rainforest on one side, complete with massive banyan tree, and the lagoon on the other. The rooms are really spacious and comfortable, each with an undercover deck looking out over the lagoon. The restaurant and pool area is a great place to sit and relax - watching the incredible sunsets with a drink became our favourite evening activity before dinner. The food is fantastic, with the menu changing each day. Lots of fish and fresh ingredients, with vegetarian options if required.

Boat captain Manasa and his crew got us out each day snorkeling and surfing, finding the best spots depending on wind and tide. Surf guide Zak gave us all tips and advice for each of the surf spots, paddling out with us to ensure we were in the right spot for the best waves. A yoga session in the studio next to the banyan tree was a great way to finish off our day. All the staff were so incredibly friendly and warm - nothing was a problem.

Highly recommended - we’re already planning our next visit.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna McDonald, Owner at Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

So good to hear you are planning another visit, Dominique. Our staff love having you here and sharing their part of paradise with you and the surf guides definitely want you to have the best surfing experience. I'm glad everyone was able to make this happen. I agree with you - the sunset bar is the perfect place to relax before dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2023

My wife and I are both experienced surfers, we have done many surf trips around the world. We chose this spot for our honeymoon because it appeared to offer both an incredible surf experience as well as a little more luxury than your typical surf resort. We could not have been more impressed with both aspects of our trip!

The staff are without exception friendly, warm and welcoming. You truly feel like a part of the resort and not just another tourist. The food is exceptional and plentiful and the rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. What impressed me the most was the pride everyone took with every aspect of the resort. All of the boats were in top shape and well maintained. The pool and hotub were clean and well kept. There were constantly staff members doing maintenance to keep the place running smoothly. Even the owner Brian was on a ladder most days building and fixing what needed it.

The surf was likewise incredible and the variety of waves and the knowledge of the surf guides was top notch. They were always willing to search wherever was needed to put you on the best waves that days conditions offered.

Cannot say enough good things about this place and we will definitely be back!

If I could add one criticism it would be the coffee situation, they did have espresso for purchase which was good, but the free coffee was instant. If you are a coffee snob like me I'd suggest bringing a French press and some beans.

Bula vinaka!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna McDonald, Owner at Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us. Stoked you both enjoyed it so much and we were able to make your stay so memorable. Looking forward to having you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews