We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical place”
other travellers have booked this property
Pamakanya (upper house, main house, la casita)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pamakanya (upper house, main house, la casita)
Main house porch Main house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Pamakanya (upper house, main house, la casita)
Main house porch
Main house
Main house bedroom
Main house master bedroom
View from main house master bedroom
Main house living room
Main house loft
Main house bathroom
View from main house porch
Gardens & dock from the main house
Gardens
Upper house
Upper house patio
View from upper house patio
Upper house view
Lower house (La Casita)
La Casita, beds
Relaxing on the dock
One of the many places to hang out and enjoy the view
Pascual and Maria
Having fun swimming in the lake
Pascual greeting the boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
miranda-m...
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My family and a group of friends just returned from a week-long stay at Pamakanya. Our group has rented houses all over for the last several years, and we all agreed that this one ranks as number one. The views from the three houses that comprise Pama are all breathtaking -- from eye-level views of the water and boats to panoramas of volcanos framed by flowering trees and bougainvillea. The houses themselves are beautifully done, very comfortable and nicely decorated.

The location on the lake is ideal -- the surrounding area is barely developed and the house is centrally located relative to the towns most people want to visit. Also, you really want to be on this side of the lake if you want the surreal volcano views.

We hired the housekeeper, Maria, to shop for us and make us dinner. I highly recommend this strategy -- after a day of swimming, boating to local towns, and/or hiking, there is nothing sweeter than a multi-course, home cooked meal (always plentiful portions and she can do a range of options that will satisfy vegetarians to paleos.....even kids!). She also kept us stocked with fruit, milk, eggs and coffee.

I have to add that the owners of the house did a fabulous job of orienting us to the area and pointing us in helpful directions (great cliff-jumping nearby, people who helped with private boat transport, etc.). When we had questions or concerns about things, we just emailed and they responded right away with helpful feedback. Imagine that!

We don't usually visit the same place twice, but we'll be going back to this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location on the lake -- convenient and not an over-developed area
Liked least: having to leave :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunster1
Morgantown, Wv
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular and charming escape in a quiet part of Lake Atitlan”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I'll admit, after 20 years away from Guatemala I was a bit nervous about staying in an unfamiliar location with my family. We could not be happier with our decision to stay at Pamakanya. What a delightful way to become reacquainted with Guatemala and the Lake Atitlan communities. We were utterly charmed with the guest houses and the people.

The owners provided all the information to make our arrival easy and transportation overall was much easier than we anticipated. They send a written guide to help you find the place and we had no problems at all taking the public boats from Panajachel. Just gather a few provisions (food/beer), get on the boat and tell them you are going to the Pamakanya house. The owners had arranged for a lovely local woman and her daughter (Maria and Rosalia) to prepare a wonderful dinner for us the day we arrived. I highly recommend arranging this. The leftovers lasted us 2 days! The houses are artistically designed and well stocked with everything you need, including basic spices, and a well appointed "foodie's" kitchen. The caretaker keeps you supplied with Salvavidas pure water.

What a lovely little place this is. It is very artistic in its design, beautifully decorated and just stunning at every turn. My husband and I stayed in the main house, and our two teenagers stayed in the casita above. The views are so amazing, you can hardly believe such a place exists. The gardens are abundant with citrus, avocados, and other fruits that guests are welcome to harvest. I think the key to enjoying Pamakanya is to slow down and let it take hold of you. We loved making fresh limeade and guacamole from the garden. You could spend days swinging in a hammock and never want to leave, but the walks to local villages reveal the most exquisite views and joyful experiences at every turn. The people are friendly, helpful, and have loads of interesting stories. There are endless things to do around Lake Atitlan, including swimming, volcano climbing, ziplines, shopping, touring villages or just relaxing away from it all. It's an easy walk, boat, or kayak to some wonderful eateries. If you go with a group, it's easy to do some things all together such as a meal at the big table but then a few could go shopping in a village, while others hike a volcano or kayak. The design allows for enough togetherness, yet the privacy of separate sleeping areas. We felt very safe here and the owners and property caretakers were able to help us with advice on everything. The property is well designed for a small group, with the three separate houses, and a big main table for gathering. Although we came in the "rainy season" of summer, it doesn't rain all day every day. Typically, you get a storm in the late afternoon. So, to make the most of it, plan on greeting the sunrise. You'll have plenty of time to put in a full day and return before the rain for a relaxing evening with loved ones around the table.

Tips and things to be aware of: Read the guide you will be sent so you know what to expect and what to bring. The owners are great with communication and will tell you everything you need to know. Guests often leave behind things like sugar, coffee, butter. So best to buy light on the first day till you see what is there. Be aware that if you arrive in Pana on a Sunday, the grocery stores close in the early afternoon. You are in Guatemala so unpredictable things happen, and it's best to just roll with them and make it part of the adventure. The power could go out - there are plenty of candles. You need to plan for your shower and turn on hot water a little while in advance. You will likely be charged more than locals for your boat fares - best to just get over it. Don't pay the guy who shows you what boat to get on, unless you feel like tipping him - you pay the driver when you get off. There is a phone on the property that you need to buy a prepay card for to use. Better to pick up a cheap local prepaid cell phone for your whole trip. Pamakanya does have a lot of stairs, so pack light and be aware it is not easily accessible for the disabled.

Honestly we could not believe such splendor was so affordable for us. When we were at Pamakanya, we felt like we were living someone else's life. We are already planning our return and can't wait to share it with our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and design of the property, the kitchen, the people we met
Liked least: Getting caught in a storm on the lake at night.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEL535
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil, cozy retreat tucked into beautiful natural surroundings.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

One of our best vacations ever in this comfortable house overlooking beautiful lake surrounded by volcanoes. A place to relax and forget work & the outside world. Perfect
spot to explore the villages around the lake. Walk down to the dock & wave for a "lancha"
(public motorboat), like hailing a cab in NYC, to take you on your next adventure. When we were looking for a little more exercise, we kayaked to Santa Cruz for excellent lunch at delicious restaurant on the lake. We spent nights on the patio playing cards & games & seeing the night sky with a million stars. House had everything we needed & felt like a home with a variety of games & good reading material. Owners could not have been nicer & more helpful & responsive.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jssirish
Farmington Hills, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking Vacation Location”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled to Pamakayna with my husband and teenage daughters. We were concerned about the trip in, but it couldn't have been easier. Plane, bus, boat, there! Becky, the owner, arranged for Maria to have dinner waiting for us that night, but the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals for the rest of the week (we stocked up with groceries in Pana before the boat ride across Lake Atitlan). The house was clean, the gardens gorgeous, and the water crystal clear. My daughters enjoyed shopping for Guatemalan handi-crafts in nearby Santiago and Pana. Hope to return someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and friendly people.
Liked least: Traveling across the lake from Pana with the large amount of groceries.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, relaxed vacation homes on the peaceful shores of magical Lake Atitlan”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We spent our extended-family Thanksgiving away from the hustle and bustle of the U.S. at peaceful Pamakanya. How fun to arrive at our vacation retreat by boat! Our dinner was awaiting us when we arrived - delicious. The next day, for our Thanksgiving dinner, some walked, some swam and others took a boat to close-by Jaibalito.

We awoke each morning to a beautiful sunrise over the lake. Our days were spent relaxing, hiking, swimming, kayaking, and exploring the towns around the lake. It was a truly memorable vacation get-away. We look forward to returning again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing