We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding – exceptional experience well beyond...”
The open concept of our Luxury home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The open concept of our Luxury home
 Location of Casa Rio Sierpe located in Primary rain forest along the Rio Sierpe Look at What's Included in your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The open concept of our Luxury home
Location of Casa Rio Sierpe located in Primary rain forest along the Rio Sierpe
Look at What's Included in your stay
Our 700 sqft covered deck is our favorite room in the house
Breathtaking views from the house of the rainforest, river & mountains
These could be your foot prints on this pristine beach
Spacious fully equipped kitchen to support your culinary delights
Included in your Stay, Unlimited River fishing by boat & we provide the tackle!
400 sqft Master Bedroom with private balcony
One of the amazing trees found in the primary rainforest near the house
Luxurious Master Bathroom, His/Hers Sinks, His/Hers Rainfall/waterfall showers
Howler monkeys, the loudest terrestrial animal in the world, your alarm clock.
Spacious guest bedroom with 180 degree views
Majestic, golden hour early morning views from the back deck
Our luxury home nestled into the primary and secondary rainforest
Spacious and well appointed bathroom
World class sport fishing found directly offshore
Inside dinning room and kitchen bar
The Bocca Beach on the SIerpe River, safe for all ages, Where is everyone?
Resident white face Capuchin monkey.
 All of the species of monkeys in Costa Rica  are in our area
Cano Island Diving and Snorkeling, the best in Costa Rica and directly offshore
Fishing on the Rio Sierpe is spectacular! How about fresh Grouper for dinner?
Guided Hikes Included; Our onsite staff guiding us through primary rain forest
One of our daily Visitors, the Toucan
The mysterious Mangrove Forest of Terraba Natl Park, largest in Central America
Lesser Anteater in one of our trees
You can do a horse back tour and have lunch and swim at this majestic river
Sierpe River at Sunset
Endangered Scarlet Macaws, they mate for life and are seen from the house
Rio Sierpe at Sunrise. Magic!
Your private waterfall swimming hole a 10 minute walk away.
Included in Stay Guided Kayak Tour; Entire family kayaking on one of our  trail
Included In stay, Tour to Jose Angles (he's 94!) fruit farm and botanical garden
Fire Billed Aracari, part of the Toucan family and regularly seen from the house
Dreams come true at Casa Rio Sierpe! This Rooster fish was a bucket list catch for this former guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ashley G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Outstanding – exceptional experience well beyond expectations.”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We recently spent 8 nights at the house and it was wonderful. The house itself was more beautiful and larger than I expected from viewing photos, but the details are what made it special- wonderful full kitchen, coffee bar, master bath, screens and door designs, and fabulous porch. I was traveling alone with my 8 year old son, neither one of us speak Spanish, and we had an absolutely wonderful time. Mark has created a situation that is impossible to top for a family vacation or even a couples get away. The house is lovely with gorgeous views of the river and the staff was exceptional ( I feel a better word is now family after a short visit instead of staff). Rayna the concierge coordinated our activities and was available at times via text or phone- I recommend her highly for arranging your itinerary if you are traveling in Costa Rica because she will include activities that unique. Rueben was a wonderful guide / boat driver and caretaker. He went above and beyond to make sure that my son was entertained and safe the entire trip- for ex. When we went fishing and did not catch fish, he took us into the mangroves to find crabs and insects that fascinated my son, he always made sure we could access the beach easily and did night walks pointing out amazing creatures – the night walks were one of the highlights of our stay. The beach was pristine and gorgeous on the pacific (it surpassed Manuel Antonio where we went next). The horseback riding was so wonderful that we rode several times- the horses were well taken care of and very well trained- my son galloped for the first time and loved swimming in a pristine waterfall after a trail ride through the jungle. We opted for Dolly preparing dinner meals and she was not only a fantastic cook but very fun and I would highly rec this option. Everyone was so wonderful and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was special- they even decorated the house with banners and balloons and made a cake when we were out on the boat for my son’s birthday. The overall stay was more of an experience than a house rental packed with activities and relaxation- I could not recommend it highly enough especially for families with kids. Mark has really done an outstanding job and we are grateful to have been able to share the experience by being his guests. In addition, the costs overall were substantially less than staying at an ecolodge where activities are not included, but more importantly, the flexibility and service really allowed us to enjoy everything the area has to offer. We will definitely return again because it was truly an experience of a lifetime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicholasR...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second Time Back - Even Better than the First!!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

OK - here it is: What made this trip even better the second time, was the fact that we actually booked our stay twice as long! In this day and age, to be able to truly escape away from the noise, distractions and, frankly, hoards of tourists, is almost unheard of. Seriously, we have traveled all over the world and have found none more quiet and peaceful than Casa Rio Sierpe. The prodigious amount of jungle fauna & flora makes this destination a no brainer for any serious nature lover. Costa Rica is an awesome country, but this right here folks... this IS the real deal. So, check it out. Here's what we saw during our week in the jungle: tapirs, macaws, toucans, all 4 monkey species, an ant eater, 3 tayras, crocs, sloths, agoutis, poison dart frogs, bull sharks, whales, and more bird species than I care to count. I'm probably forgetting a bunch more!

Furthermore, there is now the capability of hiring a private chef for a reasonable price so we had our meals cooked for us every night! Just to make things even more bomb, we imported about a case of high-end wine. Just imagine yourself sort of eating at a restaurant with some Napa Cab and Barolo or whatever in the middle of the jungle. Oh the juxtaposition! Love it.

The local hosts Rueben and Adrianna are fantastic, bend-over-backwards, and provide the knowledge and skill to navigate the awesome rain forest. We love those folks, and they really help complete the picture.

Finally, there is much more than I have time to write about now, but there is a waterfall behind the house, horse back riding, hiking, virtually "free" (only pay for gasoline which is dirt cheap) boat rides anytime you want to fish (we caught snappers and cooked them on the grill) or see sloths in the mangroves, deep sea fishing, snorkeling, visiting gorgeous beaches (without a single person in sight), and much, much more! Look, you should just go :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyYate...
Valley Center, California
1 review
“Jungle adventure that was everything we expected and so much MORE!”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We can't thank Mark and Lisley enough for being such wonderful hosts! It was exactly the experience that we were looking for, and BETTER! To be able to be in the middle of the jungle but also able to stay in a beautiful and wonderfully appointed home was perfect! Everyone is fantastic! Rayna was incredible with her reliable communication, organization of events, and helpful hints on so many things. Ruben and his family were super heroes, Cesar was awesome (and was super fun to talk animals with), and Dolly was so cheerful and accommodating with her delicious and beautifully presented meals! She did a wonderful job accommodating our vegan's request and always came up with a special meal just for her. I usually don't do laundry on vacation, but I'm so glad that is provided as an option given that nothing stays dry in the jungle. We had everything that we needed to be very comfortable (electricity, running and hot water, kitchen utensils, cooler for day trips, etc.). And then of course Mark's personal attention to detail was not only so very helpful, it was also comforting having so much information before we made our trip all the way there. I honestly can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Casa Rio Sierpe and we will be recommending it to everyone we know for sure. If you are even slightly considering going to Casa Rio Sierpe, DO IT!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L
2 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We enjoyed five days in this most beautiful corner of the world. Each day was a new adventure as we were awakened by the sounds of monkeys, and birds, with peaceful and lovely views as the backdrop. The house itself is incredibly well cared for with creature comforts that are hard to believe are possible in the middle of the rainforest.

Mark (the owner) was quickly responsive to every question we had. He understands hospitality at a world class level. Adrianna and Ruben are indeed lovely people who care for the house, property, and guests like they are their own. Rayna handled the rest of the travel and grocery shopping logistics and left us with not a thing to worry about.

From the list of activities available we chose a visit to the fruit farm (an absolute must do), the beach, and some river fishing on the first day. Day hikes, a night hike, kayaking, and the day of horseback riding exposed us to so many gorgeous sights, sounds, and smells. The lunch available near the end of the horseback adventure was nothing less than incredible.

We also took advantage of the private tour option for a trip to Corcovado National Park. That enabled us to see sloths, anteaters, tapirs, four kinds of monkeys, birds, and so many other animals not able to be seen elsewhere. This was well worth the extra effort to get to and a highlight of the trip.

If you need a dose of peaceful, quiet, lush tropical beauty this is the place to go.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME-John20...
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome Relaxing Place!”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Casa Rio Sierpe exceeded our expectations in every way. It is the perfect retreat for nature lovers and those who want to get “off the grid” and experience nature at its best. It’s kind of like glamping with the emphasis on the glamour part - experiencing life in the jungle completely exposed to nature and its sounds 24/7, but with top-notch amenities. We heard howlers every day and watched them with their babies from the porch. The jungle is an awesome place and Casa Rio Sierpe allows you to experience it at its fullest. Terrific service and attention from both owners and staff - loved this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing