We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”
Review of Nauyaca Waterfalls

Nauyaca Waterfalls
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 3 May 2018

There are several ways to get to the waterfalls. Four members (3 generations) of our group did the hike, while 2 members rode in the pickup to the top. It was great to have options, as the hike is a workout. Luckily there is a restaurant where one can fill up with water half-way up the hike. The pool was cool but not as cold as I had expected. The rocks were slippery as covered with algae so wearing swim shoes would be best (which none of us did). We visited at the end of April so it was not crowded. There is a washroom at the bottom and at the top, and change rooms. We all enjoyed our time there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"parking lot"
in 44 reviews
"truck ride"
in 28 reviews
"tough hike"
in 12 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 15 reviews
"lower falls"
in 22 reviews
"miles round trip"
in 6 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 8 reviews
"costa rica"
in 55 reviews
"horseback rides"
in 5 reviews
"great swimming"
in 5 reviews
"nice hike"
in 11 reviews
"lots of water"
in 9 reviews
"the main road"
in 18 reviews
"wear shoes"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 22 reviews
"cool off"
in 7 reviews
"refreshing swim"
in 8 reviews
Filter

80 - 84 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

Beautiful 2 tiered waterfalls. I went the end of April and you had to walk a 12 km. up and down hike round trip. They let you dirve 1 km to a parking lot but do NOT do it unless you have a 4WD vehicle. do NOT take young children!! Take lots of water and a flotation devise as the rocks are covered with moss and very very slippery - even with water shoes I could not take any steps without holding onto other dry rocks. Wished I had a small blow up to get over the slimy rock to the swimming hole. Some areas of the paths were very steep and wet- sliding in mud and only April ;) Be careful and have fun

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank CarolisMyRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Gorgeous Waterfall. Tough hike. We thought $28 was A lot per person for the truck ride. Great rest stop in the middle with bathroom and drinks.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank cathmcg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Amazing guides, fun horses, delicious traditional food, and breathtaking and refreshing waterfalls for viewing, swimming and cliff jumping. A must do!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank celderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We started out early and hiked up to the waterfall. Secure parking lot. You can horseback or ride a truck part of the ways but the hike was not difficult. There is a rest house midway where you can get drinks and breakfast/lunch. There were beautiful peacocks in a caged area and macaws up on a tree. Waterfall was beautiful and cold water was refreshing.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kurenai2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nauyaca Waterfalls also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Nauyaca Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing