We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
Villa Casa Bonita welcomes you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Casa Bonita welcomes you!
Surrounded by nature and jungle (Watch for monkeys!) Time to relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Villa Casa Bonita welcomes you!
Surrounded by nature and jungle (Watch for monkeys!)
Time to relax
'Our' beach by the house
Sun sets over the ocean
Preparing for the big day
Wedding at the villa
Discover artwork throughout the house
Waterfall view from the inside
Feel the ocean breeze on the balcony
Watch a fishing trawler go by
Live outside on the veranda
Fully equipped kitchen
Master bedroom suite
Master bathroom with waterfall view
Wake up in the jungle
Jungle bedroom suite
Ocean bedroom suite
Wake up to the ocean view
Evening mood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sheryl F
Dumas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled with friends to this beautiful place. Romulo helped us with everything we needed. He arranged our airport transfers, tours, info about the area and cooked us a wonderful meal the night we arrived. My husband asked for a martini shaker and he showed up with it the next morning! The house is so quirky, but cool and very roomy. The zipline tour in Osa is fantastic. We really enjoyed the horseback ride to Nauyaca Falls and Manual Antonio. If you want to stay in the Dominical area this is definitely the place to stay!

The best place for grocery shopping is in Uvita, although they're supposed to expand the one in Dominical. We enjoyed meals at La Persala, Jolly Rogers, Por que no?, Tortilla Flats and breakfast at Delicio. They are all very close to Casa Bonita.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the house and Romulo's help
Liked least: Air conditioning only in the bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lora A
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rain forest meets beautiful home”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Bonita is one funky place - a really, really fantastic funky place. If you are looking for something common and uninspiring, then please move along elsewhere. The unique layout and design of this house is truly outstanding. You are fortunate to be located a couple of hundred feet from the main highway, yet get no traffic sounds. What you will hear is the sound of ocean in the distance and a chorus of jungle sounds at times, especially at night. And you get to see the ocean, too, through the lush and and ample landscaping surrounding the property and around the wonderfully large infinity pool. A short 5 minute walk downhill gets you to the closest beach. More often than not, no one else is there. The birds outnumbered the humans every time.

Moving to the inside, there are 4 larger bedrooms and enough beds to sleep up to 10. Lots of elbow room in all of the showers. There were only 4 of us staying for 10 days, but it was an embarrassment of riches when it came to space. The kitchen is well stocked and has large cooking areas- often the bar area was the place to eat impromptu meals. You could also eat at the big dining room table or relocate to the multiple chairs and tables on the covered decks. The jungle theme of the house keeps you grounded to where you really are: the rain forest.

Dominical is a short 2 minute drive away and Uvita about 15. If you are not very adventurous, you could easily get by with just a two wheel drive rental, but do yourself the favor and upgrade to a 4x4 (and upgrade to one with at least moderate power). The 4x4 gives peace of mind. We loved the surf lessons at Bodhi Surf School in Uvita and would gladly take them again. Down to earth, nice people. Boogie boarding and safe swimming was found at Playa Hermosa just 10 minutes to the south. It was our go to beach. Don't miss the local waterfall and rope swing near the school just a few minutes drive away.

The concierge, Romulo, is excellent. He is a busy worker and helps maintain the property most days. He will help arrange a wide variety of trips/excursions all the way down to basic things - mentioning his name saved us about 25% on boogie board rentals for the week. He and his assistant can also cook wonderful meals. We had great food while there (highly recommend Por Que No, Chappy's and Roadshack Deli) but our best food was cooked by Romulo one night. All of us agreed it was the finest meal - quite an accomplishment considering it has several seafood dishes and one in the party isn't a seafood fan.

Finally, don't forget to hit up Melissa and Jens for information before your trip as well. They already have quite a bit listed on their links and it all seems pretty accurate. They are also easy going and good to work with. Even getting our initial security deposit came back to us in a matter of days.

Our planned return trip to Costa Rica in a few years will already be hassle free - we've picked our next rental and no question it will be Casa Bonita.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vtjane
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“I wish I was there now!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Bonita for 10 days in November to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The house was beautiful, and quite unique; way bigger than we needed, but it had everything! Lovely decor, canopied porch, infinity pool, barbecue grill. View and sounds of the ocean 24/7.

Melissa and Jens, the owners, are fantastic - very responsive. Our concierge was quite nice, and did his best to make us comfortable and well informed of the area.

This is truly a great place. Perfect for a family, several couples, or a "girls vacation". Heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraFR
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Memorable Family Holiday”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our family of twelve spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica near the town of Dominical, headquartered in beautiful Casa Bonita. We chose the Dominical location because we wanted the combination of mountains, jungle and sea. We chose Casa Bonita because we wanted a large house with a view, situated in jungle, within walking distance of the ocean.

My son tells me that I selected Casa Bonita because, as well as being beautiful, it looked a little ‘funky’ in the photos. This could be true since I am drawn to houses with personality and artistic flair and this house has that, as well as outstanding architecture and design – inside and out. The setting is spectacular. The back of the house is built against a high rock-face with a waterfall but from the front porch the view expands to pool, gardens and sea - a great location from which to watch the sun set.

Casa Bonita easily accommodated our group. The four bedrooms are large as are the bathrooms and extra beds were provided for the younger children. We prepared the majority of our meals in the kitchen often using the barbeque on the veranda. We bought most of our groceries in Uvita. One evening we hired Casa Bonita’s Concierge/Chef, Romulo Picado, to prepare a Costa Rican dinner. He and his assistant cooked the meal in the kitchen which allowed the foodies in the group to observe and learn. Great meal. Fun occasion.

The six children spent hours in the pool and since the pool does not have a deep end, our four-year-old was as safe in the water as the older kids. On many mornings, we walked to the beach below the house to build sand castles and climb the huge rocks. Since there is an undertow we chose to visit Playa Dominicalito (the next beach to the south) at the end of the day to play in the huge waves. Playa Hermosa, closer to Uvita was another favourite. The town of Dominical offers surfing lessons to the great delight of one of the ten-year-olds, vendor stands for the kids to buy trinkets and a restaurant right on the beach for a light lunch.

We ventured out on day trips to Manual Antonio and tried Zip Lining at Osa Canopy Tour (great hit) and horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls (a highlight). One couple spent two days in Corcovado Park (loved every moment) and another couple spent a night at Wilson Garden, driving there through San Isidro, Paso Real and San Vito and returning via Agua Buena and Neily. (Spectacular scenery from Paso Real – San Vito – Neily.)

Our visit to this region was everything we hoped for. The choice of Casa Bonita proved to be inspirational. Not only did we love the house but greatly appreciated the services of Romulo Picado, the concierge and the exceptional personal attention we received from the owners, Melissa and Jens Moeller, from our initial contact to our departure. They may live far away but their love for their vacation home and their pleasure in sharing it with others is strongly felt. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in a rocking chair on the porch.
Liked least: Packing up to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing