We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try in Tempe”
Review of House of Tricks

House of Tricks
Ranked #5 of 814 Restaurants in Tempe
Price range: US$9 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mill Avenue and University Drive
Transit: House of Tricks is located 2 short blocks from the Veteran"s Way Metro Light Rail stop. Just cross Fifth Street at Forest Avenue and head south to Seventh Street. Turn right on Seventh, and we are on your right. The Veteran's Way station is also the home of the Tempe Transportation Center and the hub of public transportation in Tempe.
Description: Welcome to award-winning House of Tricks restaurant, nestled in the heart of downtown Tempe near popular Mill Avenue, Gammage Auditorium and the ASU campus. Retreat to this charming oasis for mouth-watering cuisine, gracious service and a relaxed atmosphere that will leave you delighted and refreshed. Let us serve you on our sun-dappled patio, at our outdoor tree-covered bar, or inside one of our two historic bungalows. Perfect for a getaway lunch, intimate gathering, private business meeting, romantic dinner or happy hour celebration, House of Tricks has been a favorite treasure of locals and visitors alike for almost 25 years.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an excellent dining experience. We sat outdoors and the constant misting around the restaurant ensured that the ambiance was nice and cool. I started with the soup of the day (can't remember the name but a well balanced tomato based soup) followed by Braised Veal Osso Bucco on creamy rice grits with snap peas and cilantro-sesame chimichurri - which was succulent with melt in your mouth quality. My husband had the pork chops and all I could hear from his end of the table was hmm, hmm, hmm and a smile on his face. We shared a bite of each other's meal and agreed that the chef had scored well on each meal.Our server was very pleasant and helpful. So happy we tried this restaurant. The only negative was we were too full to have desert which looked delightful. Oh well better planning next time and we'll make sure to leave room for the best part of the meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DisappointedTrini_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at House of Tricks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the lovely review Trini and save room for dessert next time! Our world-famous bread pudding tops the list and we always have a few other delights on hand. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2018

I ate here with friends while attending a conference in Tempe. The atmosphere was great and relaxing. The food tasted good but took way too long. We arrived around 6:30 PM, received our starters at ~7:15 PM, and did not get our main meal until after 8 PM. Someone did come to our table to apologize for the wait and gave us one of our starters free. However, the excuse that the kitchen was small and they were busy was a little hard to believe as there were empty tables and it was a Tuesday evening. Overall, the meal and experience were good, just allow lots of time if you are planning to eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PsychRN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at House of Tricks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback PsychRN. We all try very hard every day to make each guest feel special, but you know some days you're the fly and some days you're the windshield. Hope you give us another try next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

If you're looking for a quaint setting in Tempe, check this restaurant out. This old house converted into a restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere inside and out. The service was exceptional and the food was divine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charity P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at House of Tricks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the lovely review Charity! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Brought my new team here for dinner and wow, was it good! It was packed on a Wednesday evening and it’s no surprise why. The outdoor setting/garden is really pretty. The Tempe weather of course complimented it perfectly. We didn’t want to wait half an hour for a table so we grabbed a small high top at the bar and while the service was a little slower without dedicated wait staff like you would have at a table, the people were great and the food was amazing. Two of us had the steak and two had the chicken. Both meals were delicious and well presented. My steak was cooked to perfection and cut like butter.
The prices are upscale: was about $30 a plate but not so expensive you can’t enjoy yourself worrying about the bill. The drinks were pricey for sure so I wouldn’t come here for the bar probably but if you want a really good meal in a beautiful setting, this is the place.

Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at House of Tricks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the review Laura! We aim to please and make every experience for each & every guest outstanding. Clearly you get it! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

On the fence as to whether to rate 3 or 4 out of 5 -- I've been here twice and have never been blown away by the fare, and certainly not impressed enough to justify paying this much for a meal that isn't simply outstanding. Last time I visited, on a weeknight, with a reservation, and a table of four people, the wait time to receive our meals was inexplicably long; we waited over an hour from the time we were seated until the entrees came out. Our server was friendly and knew the menu but returned to the table so infrequently that it was unclear if she was still employed by the establishment. Water glasses ran empty and the second bottle of wine went un-ordered. The setting on the patio might be "romantic" if that's code for "rustic" -- which is OK if you're not sitting for a couple of hours on a very uncomfortable chair while waiting for $24 of dark blue polenta. The patio heat lamps provided little respite from the chill after sunset, on a chair akin to what you'd sit on at a hot dog stand at an amusement park -- no padding whatsoever, and at least mine had a dip in the seat where the webbing was sagging. It's also hard to enjoy a meal when the patio surface is uneven such that the table and chairs have difficulty finding their balance point and are wobbling to and fro. I hate to knock a local spot, and it's true that my palate is probably just not refined enough -- but given the price and reviews vs my actual experience, for whatever reason when it comes to this particular place, I just don't get it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madge66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at House of Tricks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the honest review Madge. We do tend to get very busy in season and I'm sorry to hear about your experience.Perhaps a daytime visit inside one the historic homes or at the bar might be more your speed if you come back. Let us know and we hope to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Tricks also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to House of Tricks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing