We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite food great service great vibes”

Mulan Malaysian Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Description: Mulan Malaysian located in historic building and serve Chef's traditional home cooked style food, Penang Malaysia. Mix culture in the family Indian, Chinese and Eurasian. Melting pot of flavors , fresh ingredients from local produce served to the table.
Restaurant details
Description: Mulan Malaysian located in historic building and serve Chef's traditional home cooked style food, Penang Malaysia. Mix culture in the family Indian, Chinese and Eurasian. Melting pot of flavors , fresh ingredients from local produce served to the table.
Reviewed 23 March 2024

If you are in Malay fusion cuisine in a buzzy atmosphere with superb service and value Mulan is a must do

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Juliennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2024

The restaurant offers great Southeast Asian fare largely attributed to Malaysian cuisine. Their signature dishes are truly outstanding while the rest are also absolutely memorable and nice taste-wise. The service is attentive and not pushy - you could ask for their recommendations and advice - and they will be provided very honestly. It is a BYO place, which makes the meal arrangements even better. The seating was comfortable, and the table was of a good space not to be overcrowded. The prices are fair. All in all, it is a top-quality friendly Asian food jewel at North Shore. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank SergeND
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Always a great evening. Vibrant atmosphere. Friendly staff even when it is busy. Delicious food every time. Great beer selection and fabulous cocktails. Whenever we take friends they are always excited to have found this little gem of a place too.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank AngeBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

One of our favourite restaurants, luckily it’s not far from home! Food is authentic and tasty, service is excellent and beverage selection is very good, serving a favourite Chardonnay as well.
BYOW is also very handy and appreciated.
Worth a visit or two.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank tcz2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

The local community FB page really rated Mulan so I decided it was high time to try it. I can't believe I waited so long. It's now a favourite of mine. It's only been 24 hours and I've recommended it twice to friends. The flavours and freshness of the food were amazing. If you can try the cocktails, devine! We were a group of five for a birthday and had such a wonderful meal, lovely service. I am already planning my next visit.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank kiwiworldtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mulan Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

 
Birkenhead, North Shore
 

Been to Mulan Malaysian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.