We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway heaven in Level 3 lockdown”

Mulan Malaysian Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Description: Mulan Malaysian located in historic building and serve Chef's traditional home cooked style food, Penang Malaysia. Mix culture in the family Indian, Chinese and Eurasian. Melting pot of flavors , fresh ingredients from local produce served to the table.
Restaurant details
Description: Mulan Malaysian located in historic building and serve Chef's traditional home cooked style food, Penang Malaysia. Mix culture in the family Indian, Chinese and Eurasian. Melting pot of flavors , fresh ingredients from local produce served to the table.
Reviewed 15 August 2020

Thanks to Mulan for staying open during Level 3 lockdown so we can still enjoy your delicious, heart-warming food in our homes, with our families. The picture attached was taken in our home, although I can't wait to have a sit-down meal in your restaurant. Takeaways will have to do for now. We had cauliflower poppers, lamb and vegetarian momos, sambal babi, Penang curry kapitan and pork ribs with your absolutely yummy sauce(all so good on a cold night!). My 12 year old absolutely loved the pork ribs, eating up all the sauce as well. The Sambal babi was spicy tender pork belly with such aroma, and depth of flavour that I wish I'd bought more... Well, double portion sambal babi next round. See you soon Mulan team!!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank PamsterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

Mulan is a Malaysian, Asian Fusion restaurant that delivers a top notch experience in Birkenhead. We visited on a busy Saturday night. The restaurant was a buzz with lots of energy in the dining room.
We ordered some starters: pork & prawn fried wontons, the fury wings and the sticky pork buns. All 3 were delicious and good portion sizes.
Next, we asked the waiter for a recommendation and he was happy to help. He asked us a couple preference questions and then recommend the beef massaman and the pad thai.
The beef dish had a bit of spice but not too overpowering. The meat melted in your mouth; it was so tender.
The pad thai was flavorful and a good shareable size.
The waiter was attentive and kept our drinks full.
Overall, Mulan is a great location for top notch Asian fusion with great flavors and good service. I fully recommend for an intimate dinner or a large group. I will be back for more. Enjoy!

Date of visit: August 2020
5  Thank gamingtildawn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2020

We had about 50 minutes to dine in and dash - and they did not disappoint! The service and food was FABULOUS. We got 'The fury wings' (very generous portion!), and 'Dad's favourite lamb Masala'. Our servers were both fantastic, but we only got Dominics name - fast, friendly, efficient service and delicious food!

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TinyZimbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2020

We are regular visitors who feel compelled to finally give this place a review. Here's our reasons why we keep going back:
1- 10% discount on take aways- such a great idea
2- Super tasty dishes, innovative and classic- good size portions
3- Very well presented, colourful food
4- Excellent craft beer fridge, BYO wine and a couple of cocktails recently made it to the menu (point to follow about the cocktails).
5- On our street :)

Cocktails- I know espresso martinis are popular currently but id like to see a couple more asian flavoured cocktails. The Singapore Sling was decent, but does need fine tuning. Perhaps they could reinvent and make it a Malaysian Sling and add some local flavours. The front windows open up and i'd love to stop by for a decent cocktail and enjoy the last of the sunshine.

Good work team- love what you have created.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Micmac85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2020

If you are in or near Birkenhead and love your Asian food then this is THE place to visit. Heck, even if you are not near, I urge you to make the trip.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GrahamB2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mulan Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

 
Birkenhead, North Shore
 

Been to Mulan Malaysian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.