We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Desert Jewel Well Worth the Trip”

The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Sonoita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The BEST Eggs Benedict on the planet! I have heard quite a few people say that they had the best burger IN THEIR LIFE at the Vineyard Cafe Sonoita!!
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I planned a business function at a local winery in Sonoita which included a catered dinner for our partners in a big 4 accounting and consulting firm. The winery strongly recommended the Vineyard Cafe and I'm so glad I took their suggestion. Vineyard Cafe was so easy to work with prior to the event, and the dinner was absolutely amazing and the entire group was raving on the way back to Tucson about how great it was. Jon and Jennifer did a fantastic job both preparing and serving the meal from start to finish.

The food was so amazing that I took my wife to the restaurant for lunch after our horseback ride the next day and she is still raving about it too. The peach pie is epic.

I had to understand how a restaurant in a sleepy desert town was able to impress stoic consulting partners who live in New York and Chicago, and who've traveled the world while eating at the finest restaurants for years. I spent some time talking to Jon and Jennifer to learn more about their background. Turns out that Jon was trained as a chef in at the Culinary Institute in NYC and after years of leading and delivering high-profile culinary events in big cities around the US, and then they both decided to return home to pursue their passion where they could enjoy a better work-life balance. I greatly appreciate and admire Jon and Jennifer's dedication to their craft. The next time I'm in Tucson, I definitely will make the 1 plus hour drive just to go to Vineyard Cafe. It's that good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Owner at The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thanks so much Terrence. Your group was a pleasure to work with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Not sure what we were getting into but we were hungry! When we entered the cafe we were surprised at how many folks were there. The food was superb, mostly homemade, and with locally grown items. Then there are the desserts! We especially recommend the pecan shortbread.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naturenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Owner at The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thanks! That’s an old family recipe that Jennifer makes. So glad you liked it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

This nondescript cafe hides the secret of a nice place for good meal in an off the beaten path location! Worthy off a stop if you are in the area!

Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Owner at The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

After a lengthy absence we have had the pleasure of visiting the Vineyard Cafe twice in rapid succession and it surpassed our already high expectations. Excellent and innovative food by any standards and a very pleasant experience all round. The short menu has a SouthWest orientation as it should and all items we sampled were excellent in taste and well presented. The in-house bakery offers temptations which are worth sampling even for those who might consider forgoing the self-indulgent pleasures on offer. We have taken our chances by not making reservations but recommend doing so in order to avoid disappointment. Weather permitting, the outdoor patio is lovely.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Owner at The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

So nice of you to take the time to review us so warmly! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

It is always interesting to try the Trip Advisor #1 rated restaurants, sometimes we agree and occasionally we think our culinary tastes must be unusual. We stopped here about 12:15 on a Sunday, they are only open from 9-2 on Sunday. When we arrived they had a full house with several waiting. We waited about 30 minutes for a table.
We were not disappointed in any part of the experience. My wife ordered a wrap of some sort that came in a sun dried tomato tortilla. She said it was very good, but mostly she raved about the sweet potato fries. I ordered a build your own burger with fries, it was excellent! This is definitely on our favorite list! They have several other interesting menu items.
Tip: If you are going on Sunday, plan to arrive early. When we were there they were full at 1:00 so they closed an hour early.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sewbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, Owner at The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We are so glad to be on your favorites list! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita also viewed

 

Been to The Vineyard Cafe Sonoita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing