We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
94
55
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
55
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location front desk clean hotel with comfortable beds small bistro great bars and restaurants typical courtyard hotel chains within walking distance tv remote light sleeper nice pool area platinum member bathroom sink pool and hot tub bed and pillows would definitely stay here again central location
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

I stayed here this past week and it was great for a Courtyard. They say it is in Old Town but in reality it is a couple of blocks away. There are golf carts that will pick you at the hotel and take you anywhere in Old Town for about $5. That is a fun way to get around and much more convenient than trying to find parking. Later in the night once it cools down a little the walk back to the hotel was great. There are tons of bars and restaurants in the area.
I stayed here for work and the Wi-Fi was great, the gym equipment better than average for a mid-range hotel, and the pool was good as well.
While an older hotel it has been re-done pretty well but not great. The fixtures in the shower are new but the shower walls are the old yellowish color. All the furnishings in my room and hallway were newer but you could tell the furnishings in the lobby had seen better days.
The staff was super kind and helpful and this is one of the better low to mid range places I’ve stayed, though the bar was way over priced.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jtndenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianR-GM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

We value your business and thank you for your review so other guests can make and informed decision on where to stay when they travel to Scottsdale. We love knowing you had a comfortable stay and thank you for recognizing our friendly team. We hope to continue to earn your trust as the best hotel choice for your future trips to our city. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Courtyard, your beds... YOUR BEDS are AMAZING! I need to buy one - seriously. The rooms were updated, modern and fresh. That sofa lounger was also amazing. The service was good and the parking was easy. I am happy I switched hotels to come stay at yours. It was the best sleep I have had after many weeks of hotels and traveling. I collected extra Marriott rewards points for not having housekeeping for my entire stay which is fine (who needs a fresh towel every day and do you do that at home?!) I had a car and self-parked it every day without any concerns. If I am in Scottsdale in the near future, I will be staying here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDH424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianR-GM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

We love that you had an amazing night’s sleep as that is our intention for every guest. We are happy to have earned your trust as the best hotel choice for your future trips to our city. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for your business and your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Stayed just one night at this property and appreciated the cleanliness, bright colors and really “new” feel. The location right downtown was essential for this trip, and the property is easy to get in and out of. The parking lot is right out front and guests are issued parking cards to put on their dashboards. There is a small bistro off the main lobby. Our room was spotless, air conditioning was awesome, and we had a frig. We did have trouble hooking up to the free WiFi and couldn’t get it to work even after bringing our device for the front desk for assistance. However it worked in the morning. There was no TV guide on the remote so you have to surf. There is a Denny’s next door and a US Egg across the street. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianR-GM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Our team will be pleased you found the hotel clean and comfortable as that is our intention for every guest. Thank you also for your descriptive review so other travelers can make an informed decision on where to stay. We would love to continue to serve your hotel stays whenever your travels bring you to Scottsdale. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

It appears that many hotel chains commission an architect to provide a standard floor plan and features which are provided to investors in advance of the construction of a particular property. From the standard, tweaks are most likely made to conform to local building codes and the desires of the investors that are building the property. In many travels, evidence is that many short cuts occur from the ideal standard. The Courtyard Scottsdale Oldtown appears to have incorporated many of the initial features where other properties are built with some of the items that make this hotel more desirable, removed. Features selected include better soundproofing - much better than the last two properties visited in other locations in the US where TV's and conversations could be easily heard, an asymmetrical sink countertop for more room for personal items, hotel type "central air" vs. the through the wall unit air in most Courtyard properties and soft close door closers that eliminate the "Kachunk" that one hears and feels when doors, even down the hall close. Elevators, ice and vending are located away from rooms so that they don't cause a disturbance.

The room on this trip had a balcony overlooking the pool. A whirlpool spa was located in a covered patio adjacent to the pool and exercise room. One note of honour is cleanliness. Sitting on the balcony, housekeeping staff was observed wiping down balcony furniture each visit and even vacuuming the sliding door tracks as they went from room to room. This doesn't happen on a daily basis at our home! Purell wipes were provided for the TV remote - a first - and glassware was removed from the room to be washed in a dishwasher (as opposed to the bathroom sink) as evidenced by personnel delivering clean glasses to the floors each day.

The property is located within easy walking distance to the center of Old Town Scottsdale with shops, dining and other entertainment venues. There was a reasonable parking charge assessed and a two story parking ramp was available. Parking spaces were always available, although shaded inside spaces did require one to arrive prior to the wee hours of the morning. Roof top parking only resulted in an Arizona sun heated car, but the entire compound was steps away from the main hotel building. The Courtyard Cafe is located inside the hotel, but all dining occurred off property.

The property is highly recommended due to its cleanliness, quiet, amenities, architectural tweaks and a convenient location. The features that have been retained from the architects original ideals make the property edge out some properties higher up under the Marriott flag. If you can forego a Concierge Lounge, valet parking and bell service, give this property high consideration.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with balconies facing the pool are best. Rear facing rooms may be quieter, but face parking garage.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tzzydzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianR-GM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

We appreciate your descriptive review and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. Most of all we hope to continue to earn your trust as the best hotel choice for your future trips to our city. Your continued business is important to us. Thank you and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Convenient, Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, well-maintained property. The pool and hot tub were great with towel service, the gym is perfect with plenty of machines, clean weights, and equipment. The location is steps away from other food options, Walgreens, and a real Starbucks that is across the street. Getting a parking spot was never a problem. We enjoyed staying here while exploring the area on a vacation very much. Two knocks: no recycling bins and typical bad hotel coffee.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank MF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianR-GM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to describe our hotel so other travelers can make an informed decision of where to stay. We hope you will stay with us again whenever your travels bring you back to Scottsdale. Thanks also for the feedback on ways we can make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews