We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
60
71
26
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
71
26
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird cagerooms facerock restaurantmid century feellocked areamotel offersnice play to stayreal platesnice free breakfastyogurtbusiness roomretro feelclose to the airportwould stay here againrooms are fineheated pooldesert botanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We preferred a closer hotel to the airport to sleep in as our flight was late at night. There was a Denny's nearby for a late dinner, plus several Starbucks close by for brunch the next day.It was far enough (about 15 minutes away) that there is no jetplane noise overhead. The front staff was friendly and helpful even if we arrived late. The room was very clean and the king size bed was firm and very comfy and sheets were soft and clean. Outside there are beautiful and fragrant jasmines and pretty bougainvillaeas, plus a parakeet sanctuary!We slept in and missed the free hot breakfast.If you are on a budget stay here! We stayed at other Magnuson hotels in other parts of the country. They were all reasonably priced and very clean and comfortable for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaH2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Super disappointed that they will not let us smoke here anymore. It's Phoenix why can't you smoke outside? So we won't be staying here again. We have stayed here in the past and enjoy the pool area the birds can be quite noisy though. And the rooms need updated! The carpet ARG I don't even want to walk on it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IncidentalExplorer, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Val,

I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay at my hotel. Yes we have updated our smoking policy. There is no more smoking inside the interior courtyard of the hotel, but of course you are still welcome to step outside and smoke 20 feet away from the hotel. We still have some rooms that haven't been updated. We are finishing up a million dollar plus refresh of all 60 rooms this summer. Please come back and see us. You won't believe how nice the new rooms look!

Sincerely,

Bret Wirta - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

If you’re looking for an inexpensive stay this is your place. No elevator, so you’ll get your exercise carrying your luggage upstairs should you stay on the second floor. Room was clean. Restaurant is only open for breakfast. Breakfast was ok. Staff is very pleasant.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kris_LaMere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

This was our second stay the Papago - the first was a couple of years ago - and once again, it was very good. The rooms are basic, but have pretty much everything you need. The beds are comfortable. The fridge was a bit smaller than other places we've stayed, but adequate. There was no microwave in our room, but there was one down at the vending machines. It may sound inconvenient at first, but when you're escaping Midwest winter, any chance to walk outside in 90-degree weather was welcome!! The water controls on the bathtub/shower require a bit of getting used to.

The woman that handled our check-in and check-out (Marcia) was very friendly, very conversational, and very helpful. The breakfast was not elaborate, but was good and fresh...and the lady in charge of that (I didn't catch her name) was great, too. We ate it each morning.

The pool was nice, the cage with the birds provided a very pleasant sound, and small library and seating area provided me with some nice reading material. Next time we visit, I may need to donate a couple of books. We also took advantage of the laundry.

I believe they're in the process of remodeling, so a few things might change, but we really like it. It's kind of old-school, but that's part of the charm. And it's very reasonably priced. As long as our son and his family lives in Scottsdale, Papago will be our first hotel choice.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IncidentalExplorer, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Joel, glad you came back to stay with us. Yes, we are about to remodel the other half of the rooms in our hotel, but we promise to keep its Mid-Century Modern design! Please come back again. Bret Wirta - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Staff: courteous, professional, helpful, from front desk (ALL shifts:) ) to cleaning. Rooms: large enough for yoga next to our king bed, which is rare. Nothing fancy: cozy midst Scotsdale uppercrust discust. Clean, good beds, pillows. Nicely appointed pool, but not lappable. One star off for the breakfast: greasy bacon, ok eggs, awful muffins-bagels-whitebreadfortoast, weak coffee. Overall, I'd be back bec. there are plenty of fine breakfast options nearby. Thanks again to a great staff!

Room Tip: West side is further from the pool, but don't reserve next to the laundry room. Upstairs is airy'er.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IncidentalExplorer, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks for the kind words Cynthia. Looking forward to your return. Check out the "bold" button on our coffee maker. We hope that stronger brew is more to your liking. - Bret Wirta, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews