We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taumeasina Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Insel Fehmarn Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samoan Outrigger Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aniva's Place(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samoa Tradition Resort(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dave Parker Eco Lodge(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$204
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lynn's Getaway Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveller rating
528
223
72
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
223
72
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbedroom villaroom servicethe general managerrelaxing holidaygreat facilitiesbuffet breakfastfia fia nightclose to townenjoyed my staynathanpoolsislandmargaretsamoaparadisepacific
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 875 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
42
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our third trip in the last year to this lovely resort. Our first two visits were with small groups of 8 and 6 both visits were a wonderful experience so it was an obvious choice for our group of 27 when celebrating my 50th birthday. Despite the larger group most things went smoothly from start to finish a lot of which I must credit to Rahul who organised our bookings and was there to greet us on arrival offering any assistance we may need and farewell us as we left . Many of our quests (as we were on our first trip) were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the resort after the “rustic” first impression you get when traveling from the airport to the resort. There has been a massive improvement in service since our first visit, staff have always been friendly and helpful but now are so much more efficient. Stand out staff who have consistently made our stays enjoyable are Soiloto - (not sure if I have the spelling correct) who always greets us with a smile and quick chat at breakfast, then there’s the lovely Ten in the bar area who remembered us from our last visit and John on reception who is very efficient. Our room attendant was a lovely lady, very helpful and I regret that she was not on the day we left so I could thank her properly. This resorts biggest assets are its location to Apia, great swimming pools and beach and it’s amazing staff. Food is Ok and the lunch/bar menu is adequate with a good selection but not always consistent for example we had three butter chickens and they were all rather different. Its possible I am expecting too much but if I could hope for one improvement when we return next it would be in the food area maybe more fresh fruit at breakfast and consistency with other meals - a visit to some of the restaurants our groups enjoyed will show you what I mean. The resorts close proximity to Apia makes it an easy taxi ride (even for 27 people) to experience the local restaurants. Our group enjoyed two visits to Kokobannanas who do the most amazing steaks and one trip to Scalinis. We were disappointed that Paddles was closed for renovations as we have enjoyed a lovely meal there on our last visit. Many of our group also enjoyed the use of the spa for manicures, massages, facials and braiding - here we have seen another great improvement. Over all thank you Taumeasina we enjoyed our stay and will be back

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Talofa Lava

We were very happy to welcome you back again this year, and I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were able to see improvement time on time.. I have ensured that the staff you have mentioned have been recognized. Chef is working very hard on ensuring consistency, and I have shared this review with the kitchen team.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your time and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here at the Taumeasina you will get what you pay for plus more! They have activities throughout the day that are free. The food is great. The service is amazing and everyone is happy warm and welcoming

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelBuggLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Talofa Lava TravelBuggLulu

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an amazing stay. The resort is unlike any I have ever been too. We both really enjoyed everything about it. Breakfast was second to none! Rooms are cleaned back to new daily. Pools are fantastic. Plenty of facilities. Staff are super friendly. We’d stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AurionAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Talofa Lava AurionAKL

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us,and we hope to welcome you back in that heartbeat'

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter & I had a 2 bedroom Villa which was wonderful it had air conditioning units in both bedrooms plus the lounge. Having a washing machine & dryer was great. Even had a pull out clothes line on the balcony so maybe bring a few pegs. Flower Lei on pick up a nice touch. Spa did absolutely amazing massages! Loved the Faafafine (Drag) Show on Thursday night was very entertaining. Breakfast was good. Lunch and Dinner food was not consistent some dishes were good others were just not up to standard. I must say anything you requested the staff did their best to provide. Need: Hamper by the Pool for dirty towels so people don't leave them on the loungers/Day beds and you don't know if they have gone or not.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank NthShoreTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Talofa Lava NthShoreTraveller

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay wih us.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very proud of our staff, and the performances that put on each week

We hope to welcome you back again shortly

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very over rated. Hard uncomfortable bed. Not enough service staff at bar and pool area. Very smelly at times. Music to loud in bar all the time. Very slack at fixing things wrong in room. Staff very friendly and pool area great.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paddymccarthy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Talofa Lava

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay. I am sorry that this was your experience, and its not the norm, at Taumeasina, we did have a system failure a couple of weeks ago, in regards to the waste, however this has been fixed now. We have had no complaints to date over the beds, but we understand that this is a personal preference

I will address your comments regarding service with the bar and pool area with the Food and Beverage Manager and his team

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews