We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Priceline
$137
Fully refundable before Mon, 15 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$115
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
305
128
31
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
305
128
31
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancakes mosquito net breakfast was delicious samoan experience air conditioning every morning central apia close to town new zealand claus supermarket fans coconut
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2018

We stopped at the Samoan Outrigger twice in October 2018, first up for 3 nights then booked and stopped for an extra 2 nights at the end of our trip. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel gardens were beautiful with about 4 fale's, a pool and a wooden decked area!!! We had the aircon room both stays, the room was clean and tidy if a little cramped (my only slight gripe about the entire experience) but good value for the price. The staff at breakfast are only too happy to feed you, if you let them know you like pancakes they'll look after you!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiteensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Manager at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2018

Talofa Whiteensign,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and of course for staying with us. Its good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast. Faafetai tele lava.

Kind regards

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Quiet location a 20 minute walk from Apia sea front. Good choice of restaurants within walking distance. Car hire is available on site and the staff are more than happy to book tours etc. Although our room was double booked for 1 night of a 6 night stay, Claus the hotel owner was brilliant in providing alternatives and could not have been more helpful. The staff were so friendly it was a pleasure to stay. The breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble if an extra helping was requested. The kitchen was available to prepare your own meals. The rooms, although basic were clean and comfortable however the pillows were poor and there was a shortage of electrical sockets. Always find it frustrating when WiFi is extra and it was not available in the room. Nonetheless would not hesitate in staying again if revisiting Samoa.

Room tip: Chose an air condition room with ensuite
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 548PeterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2018

Talofa lava Peter,

Faafetai lava for your kind review. Your positive comments regarding our staff and breakfast is very much appriciated. I will certainly look into the issue with the pillows you mentioned. All the best and once again thank you for staying with us.

Regards


Claus Hermansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We couldn't have asked for a better experience at the Samoan Outrigger for our 6 week medical elective. The family at the Outrigger truly create a home away from home environment and the hotel is a mere 5 minute walk away from Tupua Tamasese Meaole Hospital. It is a 5 tala taxi ride into town and within walking distance of many local restaurants.

The staff are outstanding, incredibly helpful and knowledgable about the local area. All of the front desk staff are happy to call taxis or help with enquiries at other locations throughout our trip (thanks Nevah!)

We stayed in one of the upstairs triple share rooms which was lovely and spacious. The rooms are cleaned daily and the shared bathroom facilities were kept in excellent condition.

The included daily breakfast is fresh and delicious each morning. There is a barbeque and kitchen to cook evening meals if you wish to do so. We also rented our hire cars through the front desk without a hitch - great, reliable cars at competitive prices. Thank you Claus for organising so many day hires at the last minute for us - we greatly appreciated it!!

If you are planning a trip to Samoa there is no better place to stay.

Fa'afetai lava!
We will miss you all

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Talofa Holly,

Thank you so much for the nice card you left behind and for this wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you guys here. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Samoa. We wish all of you all the best.

Faafetai tele lava,

Much alofa

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere and good facilities. Maybe a 5 tala taxi ride to town. Staff were super helpful and you can rent a car directly from them, highly suggest this as a taxi tour for half the day is the same cost as renting a car. The pool was a nice feature and was well kept and clean. Definitely recommend for travellers and couples who want a cheap, clean and central accomodation.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 22krishv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Krish,

Faafetai tele lava for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you guys here. All the best and please visit us again.

Regards

Claus Hermansen
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Perfect Stay

We stayed in the Hotel for 9 Days and we really loved it!
The House is so beautiful with high ceilings and old history pictures wich are really interresting to look at.
The Staff is so amazing kind helpful and loveley. Especially Judy helped us to organize Trips and gave us all advices we needed. The Staff is absolutely gorgeous and we would stay in the hotel again for sure. They have a nice pool and a beautiful garden with fales too.
We really recommend to stay here you will feel like home away from home.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexandrajasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Alexandra,

It was a real pleasure having you here. Thank you so much for choosing the Samoan Outrigger Hotel and for taking the time to upload this wonderful review. Your positive comments regarding Trudy has been forwarded to her and she sends her regards.

Faafetai lava

Regards

Claus Hermansen
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews