We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$353
Fully refundable before Mon, 22 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$322
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$270
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
17
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lobby wifi reception samoa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Highly recommend staying at Lava Hotel. Spent 7 nights here with my Partner & absolutely loved our stay! Location is close to Apia so accessibility to all you need in town but further enough to be away from all the busyness. The hotel in itself is so tidy & clean with amazing staff! The room had all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay including the bed! Having the restaurant & bar downstairs was also very convenient!
This modern hotel is a hidden gem in Upolu! If you’re after a place to stay in Samoa I would highly recommend Lava Hotel!
Hotel Manager & staff made our stay even more enjoyable, after days full of activities coming back to relax at Lava Hotel was beautiful.
We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Escape04679292728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024 via mobile

Thank you for accommodating everything about my stay. I initially missed the check in date due to being stuck in Savaii and the bad weather conditions out there. But they managed to give it to me still since it was prepaid months in advance. Loved the atmosphere, the hotel is very clean, intimate and staff very friendly. One thing that needs improvement just like everywhere else on island is customer service. I was able to attend their buffet/entertainment night and the servers don’t look out to customers who need refills or services. I’ve noticed how a lot of guests had to hand wave down the servers. But overall experience was great!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Sooula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

What a top spot! Our fish (tuna) and chips were fantastic, so good that we went back three times, and had fish and chips every time. The servings are generous and very reasonably priced.

The casual dining area faces the garden and swimming pool, the beers are cold (no draught though), the background music is unobtrusive and it's fan cooled. A very pleasant place to relax and wile away a couple of hours.

We did book for their Thursday night Fiafia which at the time, wasn't confirmed. We left our contacting details, nothing heard, but when we went out for dinner that night, it was in full force. How disappointing as we've now missed the opportunity to experience a fiafia.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SteveandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

A group of us went for dinner at the Lava Hotel. There was a rugby game on TV which a lot of people were watching. While I enjoy a rugby match, next to a restaurant is NOT an ideal place. You are hotel, surely you must have another area where people can watch rugby and make as much noise as they want!
Having this match meant the dining room service was lacking. The 5 hrs we were there, only once did a waiter/waitress came to ask about drinks. Each time we had to call for someone to take our order.
The food was average. My steak sandwich while it was tasty, was so chewy.
Shame because this place with proper management could be a lot better!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Finz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lava Hotel Sales, Sales at Lava Hotel Apia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Talofa,
Can you kindly provide your details and an email address that we can communicate with you directly. We take every feedback very serious and will look into why you were unattended for most of the 5hrs duration of your dinner. We would like to update you on what we have actioned in accordance with your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023

Thank you Lava for making our stay comfortable and going the extra mile to cater to our needs! We are extremely grateful. Services was top notch and everything about Lava was impressive. We will definitely be back! Faafetai tele lava from ASNA🙏🏼👏🏻🙌🏻

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maliah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lava Hotel Sales, Sales at Lava Hotel Apia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

We were honored to host you at Lava and are pleased to hear the many positive reviews during your time with Lava. Our aim is to "delight our guests" with every encounter and we will take on this positive feedback to provide motivation and encouragement for the team to continue to strive for top service delivery.
Thank you for choosing Lava and hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews