We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
darinbignell
Gisborne, New Zealand

Cultural Day Out

Review of Vai Villas
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Oct 2017
Spent the day along with approx. 50 other people on a Cultural Day Tour, Biking, Kayaking and walking through the local Village watching a Emu preparation of food, Coconut de-husking and of coarse Climbing of the coconut tree was spectacular.
Our host Jill and her husband were friendly and very help full. The food was excellent and the entertainment in the evening was some of the best I've seen and considering it was their first time for a large party made it even better.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $134
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $134
18.2 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$416
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $277
  • Expedia.com
    $320
19.1 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$528
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $587
  • Agoda.com
    $403
  • Priceline
    $1,271
20.4 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$130
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $127
  • Tripadvisor
    $127
  • Booking.com
18.1 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Restaurant
Outdoor Lounge
Booking.com
$297
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $262
  • Priceline
    $346
19.1 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$101
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Expedia.com
    $117
17.7 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Room service
Tripadvisor
$123
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
24.9 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Room service
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $700
  • Priceline
9.8 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $206
  • Priceline
26.8 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $114
  • Booking.com
31.0 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Upolu
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

I had an excellent stay at Vai Villas. Jill was an incredible host; she cooked us a delicious dinner and breakfast using local vegetables and fruits, including lemon leaves from her property. The fales are situated on a peaceful lake, and Jill was so accommodating when many of us wanted to sleep outside by setting us up with mosquito nets and beds. She truly made us a feel at home. It is affordable and a great location. Only 10 minutes from beautiful beaches, 10 minutes from the giant clams (a popular tourist destination) and about 35 minutes to Apia. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kendall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Had such a lovely stay at Vai Villas. We really enjoyed kayaking through the mangroves, swimming in the spring and walking around the beautiful grounds. The dinner was excellent with lots of great fresh local produce and the banana pancakes for breakfast are the best on the island. Jill and Lua were brilliant hosts and I can't wait to come back again.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 619davinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Beautiful place with a slightly different type of accommodation. Your fale has a huge deck with a view over a small lagoon, it is equipped with a small fridge, kettle and sink. You have your own toilet and shower so it is really comfy. Location is great! You can borrow a kayak (for free) and paddle aprox. 30 minutes through mangroves to the ocean...great...then just turn back and look at the scenery with mountains and jungle in front of you...that is the real paradise. Owners were super nice, made us a beautiful breakfast and gave us a lot of interesting recommendations...just go there:-).

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaroslav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I wanted an authentic experience within a village. We were pleasantly surprised by this simple but beautiful little Eco Resort set amongst the mangroves, extraordinary gardens and a natural spring.
A priority for us was a comfortable bed. We were so relieved to have just that.
It is a family run business and it has a warm family atmosphere. We became immersed in family life and the life of the village.
If you are looking for a resort with all the bells and whistles, then you are looking at the wrong place. If you want to experience Samoa in its beautiful simplicity, then this place is for you. The rate in June was 90 tala per person, per night (which included breakfast ).
Thumbs up for their meals.👌👍

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This place caught our eye as being very different to anything else on offer. And what wonderful memories we have of our time there. Lua, Jill, and their likeable and talented children welcomed us as family, and that made us family to the whole village too. Walking around the village was a joy, meeting new friends everywhere. The locals are very proud of this place, and many helped to build it. And when we were there, the other guests were all Samoan too, all friendly and happy to include us.
Days of relaxing, sharing stories, kayaking and swimming. But the highlight was surely going crab hunting with our special 10 year old tour guide!
Beautiful local food kept arriving - be prepared to eat. And the account, once we finally managed to talk someone into giving us one, was very reasonable.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank huntlywelches
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews