We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stacy H

Budget Eco Resort

Review of Vai Villas
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Sept 2016via mobile
My husband and I wanted an authentic experience within a village. We were pleasantly surprised by this simple but beautiful little Eco Resort set amongst the mangroves, extraordinary gardens and a natural spring.
A priority for us was a comfortable bed. We were so relieved to have just that.
It is a family run business and it has a warm family atmosphere. We became immersed in family life and the life of the village.
If you are looking for a resort with all the bells and whistles, then you are looking at the wrong place. If you want to experience Samoa in its beautiful simplicity, then this place is for you. The rate in June was 90 tala per person, per night (which included breakfast ).
Thumbs up for their meals.👌👍
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$595
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $700
  • Agoda.com
    $544
  • Priceline
9.8 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$134
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $134
  • Vio.com
    $133
  • Agoda.com
    $133
18.2 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Path way to tennis court/basket ball court
Booking.com
$325
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $324
17.7 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $487
  • Vio.com
7.7 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $2,195
  • StayForLong
7.3 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $348
  • Booking.com
19.1 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $317
  • Booking.com
19.1 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $132
  • Priceline
    $245
18.0 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $114
  • Booking.com
31.0 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $100
  • Agoda.com
    $57
  • Hotels.com
    $101
16.9 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upolu
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This place caught our eye as being very different to anything else on offer. And what wonderful memories we have of our time there. Lua, Jill, and their likeable and talented children welcomed us as family, and that made us family to the whole village too. Walking around the village was a joy, meeting new friends everywhere. The locals are very proud of this place, and many helped to build it. And when we were there, the other guests were all Samoan too, all friendly and happy to include us.
Days of relaxing, sharing stories, kayaking and swimming. But the highlight was surely going crab hunting with our special 10 year old tour guide!
Beautiful local food kept arriving - be prepared to eat. And the account, once we finally managed to talk someone into giving us one, was very reasonable.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank huntlywelches
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We came over to Samoa on a cycle touring trip and this was our third nights stay in Samoa. We were very pleasantly surprise on how beautiful this place was. Fresh water swimming, fantastic views, yummy food and family run.

We would of loved to have stayed 2 nights not just the one and that would of given us more time to go kayaking and just relax. It is such a peaceful place to say.

We loved meeting the family and were very well looked after. This was one of our favourite places to stay on our trip.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bach57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I wanted an authentic experience within a village. We were pleasantly surprised by this simple but beautiful little Eco Resort set amongst the mangroves, extraordinary gardens and a natural spring.
A priority for us was a comfortable bed. We were so relieved to have just that.
It is a family run business and it has a warm family atmosphere. We became immersed in family life and the life of the village.
If you are looking for a resort with all the bells and whistles, then you are looking at the wrong place. If you want to experience Samoa in its beautiful simplicity, then this place is for you. The rate in June was 90 tala per person, per night (which included breakfast ).
Thumbs up for their meals.👌👍

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Think Samoa is all about the beaches? Think again. And spend a day kayaking through the lush and thick mangroves around beautiful Vai Villa's. Truly a wonderful experience and something different and off the beaten track. Hosts Jill and Lua have set this up as a community-based social enterprise, creating new opportunities for the local youth and the village residents. Delicious food, locally sourced, can be prepared with a booking in advance. Accommodation is simple but clean and perfectly adequate. Every wooden villa has a balcony overlooking the river. Perfect for relaxing with a good book.

Room tip: Only four villa's available. All wooden with a balcony.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank coolbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We stumbled across Vai Villas whilst searching for restaurant to get a bite to eat. We were warmly welcomed and had a fantastic lunch sitting with the owners' family and friends enjoying a lazy Sunday afternoon. The food was great and made using products sources from the local village or from the resort itself. Vai Villas truly supports sustainable development in the local community.

A very beautiful setting as the accommodation and restaurant are right on the estuary - and such great people! If you have any questions or need any guidance on anything about Samoa, then Jill is the person to ask.
Definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GabiSandraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews