We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kate
Whanganui, New Zealand

Loved it!

Review of Vai Villas
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2016
We stayed with Jill and Lua back in August 2015 when they hadn't been open long. We loved it, it was great to see a different side of Samoa, in the mangroves. The ecological restoration and community buiding that is happening from the lodge is inspiring. My kayak paddle through the mangroves out to the sea was a trip highlight, as was the refreshing dip in the freshwater spring. But without doubt it was the family that made the biggest impression, we felt like we were among old friends. Can't wait to go back sometime. Kate and Jan
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$531
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $531
  • Vio.com
    $465
  • Agoda.com
    $478
7.7 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
$419
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $283
  • Vio.com
    $235
  • Hotels.com
    $283
19.1 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$136
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $115
  • Priceline
    $136
  • Agoda.com
    $128
18.2 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
$483
  • Expedia.com
    $534
  • Agoda.com
    $445
  • Hotels.com
    $535
20.4 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$452
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $497
  • Trip.com
    $449
  • Vio.com
    $449
19.3 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$142
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $107
  • Priceline
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $107
17.7 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Room service
$120
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $122
18.1 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Restaurant
$134
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Trip.com
    $137
30.3 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
キッチンです。調理器具は全部そろってます
$88
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $88
  • Agoda.com
    $88
19.7 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Restaurant
$133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $125
24.9 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Room service
View more hotels in Upolu
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2015

A surprise find when looking for a place to rejuvenate after a day's driving. Friendly people, good food. Rates reasonable, comfortable accommodation. Unique setting. Family atmosphere, traditional fales.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nadine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2015

The owners of Vai Villas Jill and Lua are your absolute quintessential hosts and of an establishment nothing short of an amazing breath of fresh air. If you're looking for something fancy like they have in NZ, the US or Australia, then it's best then that you go there instead. However, if you're looking for something unique, exquisite and exciting then you must not miss the opportunity of this particular fantastic experience. This I must say has got to be the real Samoan experience in every sense of the word.

Thank you so much Vai Villas.

Room tip: Their chalets are perfectly placed on the embankment with a fantastic view
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Vai Villas is a fantastic place to stay - incredibly welcoming and totally relaxing. The accommodation is in individual thatch roofed fales looking out over the river and surrounding bush and estuary and one of the highlights was the fresh water spring for a cooling swim. Get up close to nature with while relaxing on a breezy cool deck enjoying drinks, great conversation and lovely home-cooked food. It gave us an insight into the local village and way of life while also being a great base to explore the rest of the island. Recommend highly for an authentic and highly enjoyable experience.

Room tip: all rooms good
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

What a great place to stay on the peaceful riverside. Much quieter than by the sea. There's a spring water pool which is wonderfully refreshing if you've spent the week in and out of the ocean!
The food and welcome here is really fantastic, great hosts help you to relax in no time and the meals are fantastic, all cooked from local ingredients. This place is well worth a visit.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 139lukek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Newly opened fituafe's indigenous vai villas is a hidden gem on Upolu's southern coast. We stumbled upon it looking for a place to hire a canoe and ended up staying for 2 days. It is amazingly cheap, has beautiful accommodation , amazing food, stunning scenery and wildlife, but what makes vai villas unique is how u are welcomed to engage in the village and the Samoan culture. you are made to feel part of the place. Highlights for us was paddling out to a deserted beach at dawn and making coconut cream for our dinner. visit before everyone else discovers vai villas!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Klaus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews