We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pauline M
Apia, Samoa

McCarthy, Bruce & Pauline

Review of Vai Villas
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2015
The owners of Vai Villas Jill and Lua are your absolute quintessential hosts and of an establishment nothing short of an amazing breath of fresh air. If you're looking for something fancy like they have in NZ, the US or Australia, then it's best then that you go there instead. However, if you're looking for something unique, exquisite and exciting then you must not miss the opportunity of this particular fantastic experience. This I must say has got to be the real Samoan experience in every sense of the word.

Thank you so much Vai Villas.
Date of stay: November 2015
Room Tip: Their chalets are perfectly placed on the embankment with a fantastic view
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Outdoor Lounge
$354
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $354
19.1 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$152
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • eDreams
30.3 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
$158
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • Priceline
38.8 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
$125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
24.9 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Room service
$102
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $102
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $530
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
7.7 km from Vai Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $1,241
  • Booking.com
20.4 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Level 3 rooms
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $287
  • Vio.com
20.1 km from Vai Villas
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $283
  • Priceline
18.0 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $111
  • Expedia.com
    $115
16.9 km from Vai Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upolu
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Vai Villas is a fantastic place to stay - incredibly welcoming and totally relaxing. The accommodation is in individual thatch roofed fales looking out over the river and surrounding bush and estuary and one of the highlights was the fresh water spring for a cooling swim. Get up close to nature with while relaxing on a breezy cool deck enjoying drinks, great conversation and lovely home-cooked food. It gave us an insight into the local village and way of life while also being a great base to explore the rest of the island. Recommend highly for an authentic and highly enjoyable experience.

Room tip: all rooms good
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

What a great place to stay on the peaceful riverside. Much quieter than by the sea. There's a spring water pool which is wonderfully refreshing if you've spent the week in and out of the ocean!
The food and welcome here is really fantastic, great hosts help you to relax in no time and the meals are fantastic, all cooked from local ingredients. This place is well worth a visit.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 139lukek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Newly opened fituafe's indigenous vai villas is a hidden gem on Upolu's southern coast. We stumbled upon it looking for a place to hire a canoe and ended up staying for 2 days. It is amazingly cheap, has beautiful accommodation , amazing food, stunning scenery and wildlife, but what makes vai villas unique is how u are welcomed to engage in the village and the Samoan culture. you are made to feel part of the place. Highlights for us was paddling out to a deserted beach at dawn and making coconut cream for our dinner. visit before everyone else discovers vai villas!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Klaus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The hotel is located on the fresh water with Mangrove Forest. The buildings and cottages are built with Samoan traditional architecture carefully arranged and spend the night in comfortable bedroom. From the balcony, we can observe fresh water fish and birds playing in and on the water. The hotel has kayaks for the visitors to go paddling in the Mangrove Forest to the beach where Turtle lay eggs. The owner family are most friendly and wonderful to talk with. We can experience Samoan dance night as well.

Relaxing atmosphere and food is great with Samoan tradition.
Away from bustle and we can enjoy total relaxation and the nature.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank tabizuki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews