We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
brett r
Brisbane, Australia

Salani Surf Resort, so much more than a surf trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2023
All the staff were very friendly, from the service staff in the kitchen, to the surf guides, the drivers and the manager Jess. The friendly atmosphere added to the exotic beauty of the surrounding landscape. The surf was fun and we always were able to find waves. Crystal clear warm water with no other surfers around. Took me a little while to get used to the reef breaks (coming from the Sunshine Coast of Australia) but after a few days it was fine. There was also the added bonus of fishing, snorkeling and visiting waterfalls and doing trips around the island. Temps were around the same as the Sunny Coast in summer but with a bit more humidity. The cabins were comfortable and air conditioned, so sleeping at night and taking afternoon siestas were enjoyable. The surf is more suitable to intermediate and above level surfers due to the reefs. I enjoyed my week there immensely and would thoroughly recommend visiting.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Get cash out at the airport, as there are no ATMs near the resort. Take a pair of the thongs/flip...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$488
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $483
  • StayForLong
  • eDreams
19.5 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Breakfast included
Booking.com
$461
  • Hotels.com
    $528
  • Agoda.com
    $410
  • Expedia.com
    $522
27.1 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $122
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $121
26.6 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$134
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Trip.com
    $134
17.5 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$335
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $335
  • Vio.com
    $335
  • eDreams
    $335
14.5 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$416
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $285
  • Agoda.com
    $272
  • Hotels.com
    $288
28.9 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$130
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Tripadvisor
    $124
  • Booking.com
28.2 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$82
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $82
  • Hotels.com
    $123
  • Expedia.com
    $121
50.3 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Room service
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $588
  • eDreams
36.5 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • eDreams
53.2 km from Salani Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Upolu
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
46
6
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
46
6
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

You dont have to be a surfer to appreciate Salani Surf Resort. There is still plenty to do if you dont surf.
My husband and I took our daughter and her boyfriend there, as they both surf. While they were out doing that, we had a great time kayaking up the Estuary and we also kayaked into the ocean. It’s great having both the ocean and Estuary to explore. It’s a really beautiful place, very quiet and peaceful.
The surfers get to go to different surf spots all over Upolu which is great as you get to see a lot of places you normally may not get to see, a bit off the beaten track.
The bungalows are lovely, very clean, and generous supplies of soaps, shampoo etc. They have aircon if you need it and a ceiling fan so its easy to stay cool. The bed was very comfortable and theres a lovely view from the back deck overlooking the Estuary. There is also a swimming pool and a natural spring that you can bathe in.
The food was fantastic. We had something different every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the food was fresh and beautifully cooked. There’s a great eating, dining area where you can meet other guests and have a good chat.
There’s also a bar that provides beer, wine, a few spirits and soft drinks.
The couple who run the Resort, Jess and Emma are so lovely and they run the Resort extremely well, but in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. All of the staff were very efficient and super lovely too.
Thank you so much Jess and Emma for looking after us so well. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.
I would highly recommend Salani Surf Resort to anyone wanting a peaceful,scenic getaway.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank novemberchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023

My husband (surfer) and I (non surfer) stayed here for 7 nights and we wished we could have stayed for longer. Within the first hour of our arrival it was clearly evident why Salani receives 5 star reviews.
There is absolutely nothing about this resort we could fault.
The food was delicious and
plentiful, thank you to the ladies in the kitchen.
We cannot speak highly enough about the surf guides Junior and Matt they were absolutely awesome and a such an asset to Salani.
The resort itself is nice however it was the welcoming, friendship and service that we experienced from management and all of the staff (including Tippy the cat) that made our holiday truly special and we will definitely be returning in the near future.
Hubby, the surfers perspective...
From literally the minute we arrived they were jacking up a surf mish to the other side of the island. Jess the manager is such a gc along with the surf guides Junior and Matt nothing was a problem. We had the resort to ourselves and the last 3 days the surf was pumping out front. Head high glassy barrels all day.
One thing I really loved here was they were so accommodating. We wanted to explore and experience the Samoan culture and they nailed it. From hunting for the rare palolo worms at 5am in the dark in the ocean, to the To Sua Trench and a kava ceremony with the surf guides on our balcony. From stunning beaches, amazing waterfalls and incredible ocean walks this place has it all.

Room tip: Not the place for precious ladies, there's no beach out front or luxuries you'd get in a fancy resort.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kiwisurfer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2020 via mobile

My mates and I went over on a 13 day surf trip to Salani Surf Resort. Easy 5 hr flight there and then about an hour drive by tour bus to the resort. Once we got there we were greeted by Jesse the manager and with his wife Em and little fella in toe, we were greeted with warm smiles and hospitality. Great little set up with compfy rooms, Good beds, Good big servings of food and cold beers after a long day surfing. The surf break out the front is Salani right and the more fickle Salani left. The right we surfed from 2 ft to 6 ft and didn't disappoint. On the days when the wind didn't favor Salani, the guys took us to other surf breaks around the island. There wasn't 1 day we didn't score waves. The surf guides were great, especially Junior who I think just woke up stoked everyday regardless of the waves. Between Jesse and the guides, they always did their best to put you in the right conditions. The breakfast was continental, the lunch was always plenty as was the dinner. A small bar and a good pool to laze around in between surfs. The rooms were cleaned daily but I would recommend you bringing your own pillow if you like sleeping on your own. Also the roosters and local dogs can be a bit noisy if your not used to it so some ear plugs are good too. Bring reef booties. You will need them, especially at low tide. Very humid and hot so bring a refillable water bottle as thete is filtered fresh cold water at the bar and plenty on zinc and sunscreen. It was an awesome surf trip and to be able to surf uncrowded waves with just you and your mates is pretty special. I would say it's more for surfers, but there were surfers with their wives/ girlfriends who didn't surf who still enjoyed themselves. Lot's of sightseeing on the lay days and the island is beautiful to drive around. Thanks to Jesse, Junior, Freddie and Nina and all the other people that made this trip so great. We will be back again. Yeeeweeeeee

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 670troya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Best holiday ever, again! Wouldn't change a thing, thank you so much -can't wait to come back!
Beautiful resort, quiet, relax, great surf, food and people
So much fun and great place to unwind
So happy we found this place

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T6023MMnicolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2019

As far as surfing goes in Samoa this is the number 1 location to stay. Jess and his crew have their finger on the pulse and read the conditions in a way that only experienced local surfers can. The location of the resort is ideal with just a short boat ride to World class waves right out the front! The resort is well kept and has a homely feel with friendly local staff making amazing meals and keeping the place clean and tidy. I would definitely return and cant say a bad word about Samoa, Salani and the natural beauty that surrounds. Bring you big boy pants for some crazy waves and experience it while its still the most unspoilt, uncrowded place you may ever visit.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aschlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews