We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
CheapTickets
eDreams
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
86
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
13
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Even if the location was a total disappointment, the warmth, the authenticity and the humanity that these people can show and surround you with would still be worth a thousand times a visit!
But hey... it also happens that Matareva is ACTUALLY located in an earthly paradise!
The beach housing the resort, one of the most beautiful of the whole island (which is now -and thanks to them!- marine protected area), is the access path to an unbelievably lively, colorful and vast underwater garden, veiled by a pristine blanket of hard-to-believe hues of turquoise and with nothing but an unspoiled stretch of lush jungle as a shelter on the back.
Every single member of the big owning family, along with the whole hardworking, always laughing and singing staff, have spoiled, entertained, fed, enchanted, amused and loved us since day one as if we were part of the family too.
Too much more than just a holiday, staying at Matareva has been the absolute peak of our one-year trip.
Unforgettable and incomparable, there's no reasons on Earth not to go.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H8021PCdiegog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Talofa! Thank you so much for your lovely words. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will let our team know about your review (I am sure they will love it!).
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The Matareva Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Matareva Beach Fales is a great place to stay in Samoa. The owners are working hard to make the stay great for visitors and help their community and environment. They have turned the area into a marine preserve to help revive coral and fish populations. With the return of marine life, they hope to increase tourism and hospitality job opportunities for their village.

My husband and I are so appreciative of their hard work because we had a truly amazing experience while staying with them. We saw so many different types of marine life while snorkeling. The owners offered a night snorkel tour that was phenomenal.

Authentic Samoan meals are served at breakfast and dinner. The management offers various day trips around Upolu. The beach is covered with palm trees, hammocks, and beach chairs for relaxing during the day. Bathrooms are classic beachside buildings with basic showers, changing rooms and toilets. Bedding is clean and well maintained.

I highly recommend a stay here! You not only have a wonderful experience but your money is going towards the owner's goals to support their community.

Room tip: fales are traditional style sleeping facilities
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Hi Hannah,

Thank you for your kind words! We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
At the moment we developing our own coral garden so we can grow our own coral. In the next few years we'll be able to plant these corals in areas nearby where the coral is dead already.
We're looking forward to welcome you again in our fales and show you the coral garden!

Best regards,
Matareva Beach Fales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

We only got to spend 2 nights at Matareva but wished we had stayed longer. We stayed in a Fale with our 2 kids aged 11 and 8 over a weekend. The resort was full, but it is spread across a huge land with its own private lagoon beach. We loved:
- the gorgeous beach and warm water
- the easy going vibe of the place
- the fale accommodation
- the family friendly environment

My boys had a ball and keep asking me when are we going back. We were there during the April ANZ school holidays meaning that there was a bunch of kids their age + the boys from the owner's family who would play together for hours in the lagoon. They had so much fun!

Weekend stay also meant we got to participate to a traditional Lomo lunch which is prepared onsite according to traditions - fish and seafood is gathered in the early morning hours from the lagoon by the local men, and everything is prepared from scratch including coconut milk etc...the buffet was absolutely somptuous with fresh fish, seafoof, sashimi, it was excellent.

There is also a show on the saturday which was good fun too.

I would highly recommend this place, to families, couples etc...it is large enough for good privacy with some fales a bit further away from the action for additional privacy. Beach is a few steps away from the fale, hammocks are provided. We all slept like babies to the sound of waves. Mosquito nets are provided and mattresses were comfortable.

The only area we thought could be improved is the cleanliness of the shower block which is dated and could do with more regular cleaning. We ended using the beach shower instead which was fine.

We'll be back!

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcandflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Hi Marca,

Thank you for your kind words! We're really happy that you chose us as your holiday destination.
And we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us :)
We're trying our best to improve our resort, so thank you for your feedback!
Looking forward to welcome you again in Matareva!

Best regards,
Matareva Beach Fales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019 via mobile

I picked this place for my last night in Samoa and my only regret was that I couldn't stay longer. In addition to the rustic fales, they have some cottages with AC and plumbing, lots of options for lounging on the beach (chairs, hammocks, picnic tables), a well-stocked bar with good happy hour specials, friendly staff, yummy food, and a constant stream of other guests to chat with. All of this on a clean, blue-watered, beautiful beach that is groomed regularly by some of the hard-working staff.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Thank you for your review and kinds words! We really appreciate it.
Our staff is doing the best they can to make your holiday unforgettable :)
We're looking forward to welcome you again and hopefully you can stay longer!

Best regards,
Matareva Beach fales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Didn't stay the night but stayed the entire day. best looking water and warm as water, the highlight of the trip would definitely go again but probably not stay the night as the overnight fales looked a bit unconformatble

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noahborton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Manager at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Thank you and looking forward to host you again. We are doing our best to make experience of sleeping in traditional Samoan fales comfortable:)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews