We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
CheapTicketsUS$88
Orbitz.comUS$88
TravelocityUS$88
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
86
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
13
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Matareva Beach Fales is a great place to stay in Samoa. The owners are working hard to make the stay great for visitors and help their community and environment. They have turned the area into a marine preserve to help revive coral and fish populations. With the return of marine life, they hope to increase tourism and hospitality job opportunities for their village.

My husband and I are so appreciative of their hard work because we had a truly amazing experience while staying with them. We saw so many different types of marine life while snorkeling. The owners offered a night snorkel tour that was phenomenal.

Authentic Samoan meals are served at breakfast and dinner. The management offers various day trips around Upolu. The beach is covered with palm trees, hammocks, and beach chairs for relaxing during the day. Bathrooms are classic beachside buildings with basic showers, changing rooms and toilets. Bedding is clean and well maintained.

I highly recommend a stay here! You not only have a wonderful experience but your money is going towards the owner's goals to support their community.

Room tip: fales are traditional style sleeping facilities
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Hi Hannah,

Thank you for your kind words! We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
At the moment we developing our own coral garden so we can grow our own coral. In the next few years we'll be able to plant these corals in areas nearby where the coral is dead already.
We're looking forward to welcome you again in our fales and show you the coral garden!

Best regards,
Matareva Beach Fales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

We only got to spend 2 nights at Matareva but wished we had stayed longer. We stayed in a Fale with our 2 kids aged 11 and 8 over a weekend. The resort was full, but it is spread across a huge land with its own private lagoon beach. We loved:
- the gorgeous beach and warm water
- the easy going vibe of the place
- the fale accommodation
- the family friendly environment

My boys had a ball and keep asking me when are we going back. We were there during the April ANZ school holidays meaning that there was a bunch of kids their age + the boys from the owner's family who would play together for hours in the lagoon. They had so much fun!

Weekend stay also meant we got to participate to a traditional Lomo lunch which is prepared onsite according to traditions - fish and seafood is gathered in the early morning hours from the lagoon by the local men, and everything is prepared from scratch including coconut milk etc...the buffet was absolutely somptuous with fresh fish, seafoof, sashimi, it was excellent.

There is also a show on the saturday which was good fun too.

I would highly recommend this place, to families, couples etc...it is large enough for good privacy with some fales a bit further away from the action for additional privacy. Beach is a few steps away from the fale, hammocks are provided. We all slept like babies to the sound of waves. Mosquito nets are provided and mattresses were comfortable.

The only area we thought could be improved is the cleanliness of the shower block which is dated and could do with more regular cleaning. We ended using the beach shower instead which was fine.

We'll be back!

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcandflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Hi Marca,

Thank you for your kind words! We're really happy that you chose us as your holiday destination.
And we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us :)
We're trying our best to improve our resort, so thank you for your feedback!
Looking forward to welcome you again in Matareva!

Best regards,
Matareva Beach Fales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019 via mobile

I picked this place for my last night in Samoa and my only regret was that I couldn't stay longer. In addition to the rustic fales, they have some cottages with AC and plumbing, lots of options for lounging on the beach (chairs, hammocks, picnic tables), a well-stocked bar with good happy hour specials, friendly staff, yummy food, and a constant stream of other guests to chat with. All of this on a clean, blue-watered, beautiful beach that is groomed regularly by some of the hard-working staff.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Thank you for your review and kinds words! We really appreciate it.
Our staff is doing the best they can to make your holiday unforgettable :)
We're looking forward to welcome you again and hopefully you can stay longer!

Best regards,
Matareva Beach fales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Didn't stay the night but stayed the entire day. best looking water and warm as water, the highlight of the trip would definitely go again but probably not stay the night as the overnight fales looked a bit unconformatble

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noahborton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Manager at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Thank you and looking forward to host you again. We are doing our best to make experience of sleeping in traditional Samoan fales comfortable:)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Thanks to the beautiful staff at the Matareva Beach Fale for making our trip one to remember. My partner and I stayed for only two nights during our week stay in Samoa. It was an amazing experience. We were picked up by Fale to go on a day trip to various places on the island, one of which being the To Sua Trench, which was incredible. We had a few stops along the way to swim at a nearby waterfall as well as with the clams, which was pretty impressive! The Lava caves are an added bonus as these are on the property of Fales family, it was amazing to experience this and would have never known about them otherwise.
We were lucky enough to stay on a Saturday and experience the FiaFia show, which was amazing.
The beach is by far one of the nicest we have ever seen, so peaceful and quiet. And with minimal phone signal you have no excuse but to relax, enjoy the beach and it’s ammenities. The food served every day was fresh and tasty, it was nice to try some local meals. If you are looking for an affordable and authentic place to stay in Samoa i highly recommend the Matareva Beach Fales. They are great value for money. Thanks again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank LaurenDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiauu F, Owner at Matareva Beach Fales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Thank you Lauren for us choosing as your holiday destination and your kind words.
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We're looking forward to welcome you again in our fales!

Best regards,
Matareva Beach Fales team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews