We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sunshine2134
Cairns, Australia

We’ll be back!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 May 2024via mobile
3 nights at this relaxed lagoonfront resort wasn’t nearly long enough. Owners Robyn and Grant are so welcoming and the staff are charming. Restaurant meals are delicious and offer the opportunity to sample Samoan food. The fiafia night is a must. Thank you!
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: It’s helpful to take your own mask, snorkel and rashie as you’ll swim a lot
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robyn thornley, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review
Responded 18 May 2024
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially our daily local breakfast dish and our fiafia night! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$341
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $341
  • eDreams
30.2 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
32.3 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
37.4 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
37.0 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
                  pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
36.2 km from Savaii Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Savai'i
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
559
104
29
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
559
104
29
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish glass bottom boat swimming hole low tide local village filtered water barefoot bar restaurant bar waters edge rental car le lagoto beautiful beach air con sea breeze relaxing holiday your doorstep island tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2024

Very basic and not worth the money. Owners are rude and unhelpful. There are plenty of nicer resorts which we wish we had stayed at instead.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday8172
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2024

Group of 12. We had rooms 1-4
Great hosts.
Used the kayaks and rooms so close to the beach.
Fiafia night was our highlight.
Staff were very friendly.
We had dinner at the Barefoot Restaurant. the meals were nice but unfortunately had to wait at least 90 minutes for a meal

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leilua6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2024

Too long - didn't read:
We got home and re-booked 6 days later for next year

If you want a wee bit more detail, feel free to scroll down...

We arrived in Salelologa and hauled our suitcases off the ferry to be met by Grant, one of the owners of SLR. Grant has heaps of local knowledge and we chatted for the hour-ish drive across the island to the resort as he pointed out various local points of interest. A fun drive with plenty to look at and Grant was willing to answer any questions about the island, the resort and their own journey to SLR.

Arriving at SLR we were met by Grant's wife Robyn, who showed us a basic layout of the resort - beach, restaurant, beach, ocean, beach, restaurant, beach, ocean... and then took us to our room.
My wife's suitcase was pretty heavy and Robyn, being a good host, could see that she was struggling and asked on of the local staff, Lio, to help take it to our room. Lio grabs the case, hoists it up and off goes the case to our room. Happy wife. That kind of small hospo detail on our arrival immediately made me realise we were in the right place.

Our room was as close to the water as you can get at the resort. It was big with a comfy bed, great AC, good fridge for water and cold beer, microwave (why you'd need that I dunno, but you do you) and a few of the basics like a hot water jug, utensils etc... well appointed - and when we needed anything that wasn't there we just asked the really lovely people at the restaurant about 15 steps aways and they provided it.

The bathroom was awesome with what is basically an "outdoor" shower while not being outdoors at all - it's completely private and enclosed but still has the feeling of being outdoors - difficult to explain here. There is also an proper outdoor shower to rinse off when you come back from the water, which was just brilliant when we were feeling all salt crusted and just wanted to rinse off and refresh. I should also mention that they UV filter all their water so that you can drink straight from the tap. That's not the case in a lot of other places and was a big plus as we filled a few water bottles and just rotated them to make sure we had fresh cold water each day.

We ate at the Barefoot Bar and Restaurant most days. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic - fresh fruit or cereal or eggs or toast and probably something else that I'm forgetting. There was also a menu to purchase from and I can recommend the hot-cakes if you fancy. Wife had perfectly poached eggs most morning that were as expertly cooked as anything we've had in Akl.
Lunch was great too. Oka (raw fish with coconut cream + citrus and tomato and cucumber) was the standout for me. I ordered it until I had to stop.
Dinner, again, really good food. I promise you will NOT go hungry here. Portions are kinda huge, which is a good thing as no-one wants to feel as if there's not enough. Prices are really reasonable as well.

I should mention that we had a few - maybe more than a few - really well made Mojito's as well. Not at the standard of a bar in a major city, but if you're expecting that here then you're mental. They were full of lime and were refreshing and crisp and delicious.

The staff at Barefoot were awesome - friendly and fun. We really enjoyed coming in each day and seeing who was on at work that day, having a little chat and getting comfortable. They're a professional bunch who wanted to do a really good job and it showed. Again, maybe not at a major city standard, but, again, if you're looking for that here then you're still mental and should probably go to a Hilton or Sheraton somewhere in Fiji. We loved chatting and chilling while sitting in the restaurant about six feet from the high tide line watching fish swim past.

Overall our stay was genuinely brilliant. The location - I haven't even mentioned snorkeling right out front, which is astounding - the hosts, the staff, the service, the food, the actual accommodation, the resort itself which is pristine...

Wife and I thought we had a favourite place after being together many years and many trips to many places.

This is now our favourite place. It's brilliant. We're going back. You should too.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2024

We stayed 7 nights in the waters edge bungalow with its own little fale near the water. The room is very spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The open air bathroom is a lovely feature. The food at the Barefoot Restaurant is plentiful and delicious. They also make a mean mojito. The snorkeling right outside the resort is really good and there is a lot of diversity in the fish species. Dive Savai'i is right next door and I highly recommend booking a snorkeling tour to see the turtles. I cannot fault anything with our stay. Robyn and Grant are exceptional hosts who go out of their way to check their guests are having a great time. It was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever taken and our new favourite place.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2024

We absolutely loved staying at the Savaii Lagoon. Our family included our mother 82 years old and the access to the room and beach was easy for her, this was very important to us. Beach was so beautiful, best feature here. Kayaking and Snorkelling available, Mum just loved the Swimming. We stayed in the family room which was clean, lots of room, good kitchen facilities if you have children or a family group and a big bathroom. Our hostess Robin was the best, beautiful and bubbly with very friendly staff. We had dinner at the Barefoot Bar Restaurant, could not fault the service from our waiter Jonothan, food and drink were on point and ambience was idyllic. Excellent value for money. We will be back xx

Room tip: Everything was great!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brokur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews