We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
270
115
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
115
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfew blocksnice garden and poolcentral locationthe main squarewithin walking distancemajor attractionsfriendly hotelstandard roomwi fiplenty of hot waterbuenos airesdecorationpurmamarcahairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We spent several non-consecutive nights here while touring the Salta area. Room 6 was our favorite as it is a little larger and has a bigger bed. Room 8 is smaller but has a small balcony. Internet service was better is 6. Both have bathtub/shower combo with plenty of hot water. Continental breakfast with cooked eggs is available. Hairdryer and safe available. Walking distance to multiple restaurants. They stored our big bags while we were out on overnight yours. Desk and dining area staff were all very friendly. Rooms are very clean.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCandelaSalta, Gerente at Hotel La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Salta. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in both rooms and felt comfortable with the amenities and the attention received during your stay.
Many thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to receiving you again at La Candela!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Pleasant staff and greeting. Clean and comfortable hotel, no lift or restaurant. Not luxurious but adequate for a short stay. Lovely swimming pool.
Breakfast minimal and very basic so very disappointing.
Failed to repair a broken light which caused inconvenience.
Luxurious towels but bed sheets too small so sleeping was uncomfortable!
Air conditioning in bedroom, which was needed!
Bottled water in fridge in room exorbitantly priced, shops fairly close by.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bolnuevo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCandelaSalta, Gerente at Hotel La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Bolnuevo7,
We appreciate your comments and thank you for choosing us for your stay at La Candela.
We will take into consideration your opinion towards the breakfast, although we must say it is not a basic breakfast. What we offer are regional products, typical of Argentina. We also offer hot dishes as omelet or scrambled eggs, under request.
Regarding the price of the water, we offer two brands of water. One of Argentina and the other one from abroad. That's why the price of one is more expensive.
We hope to receiving you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

First impressions were that it was a little gloomy but we came to really like this small
personal hotel. The staff were really great and very helpful - I had fallen at the airport and sprained my ankle - they provided ice packs and continued to keep supplying them without asking. The young guy on the front desk was particulary friendly and helpful.
The rooms were a little on the small side but very comfortable and nice linen. Good wi-fi provided and the breakfast was a really nice buffet which was continually replenished. There was a nice garden and pool although it was still a little cold to swim.
There were plenty of nice places to dine nearby and the main square was only about 10 mins walk. We stayed there three times during our visit to the area first visiting Cachi and Cafayate and then going back before moving on further north to Purmamarca, returning to la Candela one more time before flying back to Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem there are I think 3 rooms downstairs but the upstairs rooms were a little bit quieter and nicer decor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCandelaSalta, Gerente at Hotel La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Diane,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Salta. We are really glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments.

We work very hard to provide the best service to our guests, it is good to know the effort was worth it.
Hope to receiving you again in the near future!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The hotel is located with a few blocks of the main square, which is welcomed as you do not have the street noise. It also is within walking distance to a selection of wonderful local restaurants as well as all the major attractions. Our room was spacious, clean and tidy. Breakfast was good enough to start the day.
What was most impressive was the front office staff. They were kind and very helpful with many suggestions about dinner, sites, etc. They also helped us avoid tourist fees by suggesting using our US credit card.
Finally, the last day my wife was ill with a bad cold and the person in the front office in the evening helped coordinate a delivery pizza, and the morning person was also attentive, kind, helped find a pharmacy and went out of her way to help us stay an hour more, until the person taking us to the airport arrived. This kind of service is priceless and speaks volumes about this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SeDeGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCandelaSalta, Gerente at Hotel La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Salta. We re glad to know you've enjoyed your stay at La Candela and felt comfortable, despite the illness of your wife.
Everyday we work very hard to make our guests feel like home and provide the best service, it`s good to know all this effort was worth it.
We appreciate for sharing your experience and hope to receiving you again!
Kind regards on behalf of La Candela staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The hotel is located with a few blocks of the main square, a selection of restaurants as well as all the major attractions. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy and included a Jacuzzi bath. Wifi was easy to use and had a good signal strength. The room also had a well stocked mini bar / fridge and a safe. The laundry service was quick, efficient and reasonably priced. Breakfast was basic but decent in selection and quality. The weather was not fantastic while we were there but the hotel looked to have a good sized pool and gardens. One point to note is that the third party website quoted the price in US$ and seemed to indicate that the bill would be settled in dollars when in fact the front desk required peso's upon checkout.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stevetarn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCandelaSalta, Gerente at Hotel La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Stevetarn,
Many thanks for your comments! it seems you' ve enjoyed your stay and the services we offer. We are glad to hear that, and really appreciate you for sharing your experience.
We apologize if you had any issue while checking out. Some third party websites demand us to charge the prices in dollars, but as we are in Argentina, we have to charge everything in Pesos Argentinos. If you have any doubt, do not hesitate contacting us again.

We hope to receiving you again at La Candela!
kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews