We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
137
14
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
14
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ria formosa perfect escape great hosts breakfast each morning beautiful details rain shower private terrace rooms are small rural hotel breakfast was delicious honesty bar perfect stay short drive easy access long weekend swimming pool algarve
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We had a wonderful time at Casa Modesta. It is a beautiful place with a stunning architecture. Carlos and his team are very dedicated and friendly. The room was fantastic (just a bit small) and the view from the rooftopterrace was amazing, there is a nice small garden with a pool. the breakfast was delicious, we never had such a great breakfast at a hotel before. Maybe this hotel is not the best place for small children, they are welcomed, but the place is not so suitable for babies. We could recommend Casa Modesta and will come back.

Room tip: We stayed at room No 3, the double room with Kitchenette, private terrace and hammock
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank saskiasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Couldn't be happier with our choice to stay at Casa Modesta when we were in the Algarve. It is in more of a residential area, so far away from the huge high rise resorts - it really feels like a little rural escape. But it's easy enough to drive to Faro or even further like Lagos. The hotel itself is really special. There aren't very many rooms so it feels very private. The breakfast spread is delicious and a little different every day. The highlight was dinner - you MUST have make a reservation for dinner here at least one of the nights you stay. The meal is so upscale and delicious - we found it much better than most restaurants in the area so opted to have dinner 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed here. The only negative I have is the room was somewhat small - it was certainly the smallest sized room we had during our 2 week trip throughout Portugal. But there is plenty of room to lounge around the property so we never felt cooped up. The manager, Carlos, and the chef (forget his name, he wore glasses) were super nice and provided excellent service.

Room tip: Room #5 is a corner room with "roof" deck, but no hammock.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Our 3rd time staying here. Love this place! The property is so beautiful & the rooms are great. Carlos & his team are so friendly and warm, breakfast is to die for & dinner is a real recommandation. I love this place & will for sure be back!

Room tip: 1 - 4. Then you have a private rooftop & hammock in front of your room.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephanie_verloove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

An authentic retreat in front of the marvelous Ria Formosa. Great attention to detail in everything. Wonderful breakfast with high quality local products. They know god is in details! Just perfect!Also great for architecture lovers

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NunoPaisCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Carlos, Nunu and the team at Casa Modesta were the most amazing hosts during my stay! Casa Modesta is perfection if you are looking to kick back in beautifully designed yet homely surroundings, appreciate organic produce and being a bike ride away from one of the seven natural wonders of Portugal! Obrigada x

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle_Pallai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews