We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
94
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool fishing town roof terrace small pool riad style first floor well stocked honesty bar upper rooms private courtyard gracious hosts family run hotel stayed for two nights a short ferry ride boutique hotel other guests fish market breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This is a gorgeous boutique hotel set on a little back street in the fishing town of Olhao - about 20 mins drive from Faro airport. The hotel is beautifully finished throughout with rooms set around a riad style courtyard. The decor was very eclectic and we loved the roof terrace with it's 360 degree views, it's pretty pool and lovely shaded area with daybeds. We really enjoyed sitting out in the courtyard in the evening with the canopy overhead - we could read and relax - heaven! Breakfast was delicious, served at a long communal table so you can chat to other guests and it was something fresh and different every day. The staff are all lovely too. Bear in mind that the spiral staircase to the upper rooms and roof terrace is very narrow and steep - do not underestimate how narrow and steep! so it is not suitable for large suitcases or anyone with mobility issues. You leave your shoes at the door on a rack as you enter so it really is like staying in a friend's gorgeous holiday home - regrettably none of my friends have a house as lovely as this,,,,, Olhao is ideal for boat trips or you can just get the ferry out to the beaches - a car is great as you can drive to lovey Tavira or Faro and parking is free just up the road from the hotel. There are lots of eating and drinking options for the evening. Definately will come back one day...... Oh and thanks for the cava for our wedding anniversary celebration - much appreciated :)

Room tip: Have a suite set around the courtyard - gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous......
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent accommodation for pairs with no children. Very nice place with excellent interior. We were very happy with breakfast and self-service during the day. Service was excellent, nice and warm people. Be careful with stairs-are very narrow.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Spent three perfect nights at this gorgeous littlr hotel. It's hidden away from the main street but close to everything in this charming fishing village. The rooms are all beautiful with great attention to comfort and detail. The rooftop pool area is a wonderful place to relax especially at sunset with a wine.
Would love to return one day.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms cooler in hot weather.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TnTHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed for two nights in July in a rooftop room which was peaceful, spacious and light. Everything about Convento is beautiful from the architecture to the relaxing rooftop pool to the amazing breakfasts. The hotel is perfectly located just back from the waterfront with a great selection of restaurants within a few minutes walk.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carolinelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We recently enjoyed six nights at Convento and our stay couldn't have been better. After a full on week at a family wedding we booked Convento as a place where we could unwind and enjoy some peace and quiet, and Convento proved perfectly suited to this purpose. Upon entering Convento your voice automatically drops to a whisper as the place emanates an effortless calm. From removing your shoes at the entrance, to the beautiful courtyard with silent water feature, minimalist decor, cosy library corner, and beautiful rooftop terrace Convento offers a tranquillity more reminiscent of a mindfulness retreat than a hotel. The breakfast provided every morning was a highlight and consisted of an array of fresh fruits and local produce. Besides eating local foods, reading and swimming in the sun on the rooftop terrace, and taking a few trips out to the beaches to do the same there, we did little else during our stay. It's exactly how we wanted to spend the week and we can't wait to visit again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews