We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
94
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing townplunge poolsmall poolriad stylerooftop terracefirst floorwell stocked honesty barupper roomsgracious hostsinternal courtyardwarm hospitalityfamily run hotela short ferry rideboutique hotelother guestsbreakfast was deliciousfish market
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Just back from another visit to Convento in Olhao - as ever it was a wonderful retreat and we're back feeling really refreshed and ready for anything. we have tried to continue to breakfast as served in Convento - but we have failed miserably!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the more you spend they better they get!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angelatrotter261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This is the kind of small hotel/ B and B that guests choose to just hang out in because it is so relaxing. The building was saved from developers and transformed to lovely riad style accommodations. On arrival, we received a nice orientation to the hotel, the city of Olhao, and the area including restaurant recommendations and day excursion suggestions. We felt very welcome. Our room was on the rooftop, where there are multiple terraces to relax, a small pool, and an honesty fridge with beer and wine (or you could store your own). The room was spacious, very clean, and had everything we needed. You look out over the oldest part of Olhao and the water. Breakfasts were terrific, great variety, delicious and beautiful to look at. The staff and owners were all extremely pleasant. It was our first time in the Algarve and this is definitely not the standard city or type of hotel for the area. Turned out that Olhao, a working fishing town, is an interesting place to stay, with a good market, lots of restaurants and easy ferry access to the islands. We spent a day on Culatra and it was wonderful, much better beaches than expected and a cool atmosphere. We also drove to some of the beaches that you see on the travel posters, with all the fantastic rock formations, and that was great too. Our three days at Convento were lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Hidden down an alley and behind a little door discreetly marked 10 with nothing else to give itself away is this spotlessly clean, tranquil, calming, and completely unique hotel, in the Moorish style, where the guests sip green tea on white wicker chairs, in a hushed library atmosphere, and share their beautifully prepared breakfast on a long refectory table, a nod to the building's past as a convent. More riad than guesthouse, more guesthouse than hotel, this is the antidote to the modern tourist world, with its handful of immaculate rooms surrounding an immaculate central courtyard leading to an immaculate dining room. As a retreat from the modern world, it is almost perfect (the water pressure in the shower is a little low perhaps) But afterall, only God is perfect; and one must be respectful, this was a convent.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluewater81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This was our favorite boutique hotel we stayed in during our 15 day trip to Portugal and Spain . The décor reminds you of Greece meets Portugal. We stayed on the roof deck and enjoyed the sunrises and sunsets. A very relaxing peaceful atmosphere Did yoga in the morning and watched doves fly above the roof top and listened to the dogs signing what an idyllic setting. The hosts made some great suggestions for dinner .Loved the local fish market and bought some great appetizers and wine. Go to the 7 1/2 bars for fantastic cocktails and eat at tasco gallo-where the two sisters cook traditional Portugal dishes. The breakfast was fantastic wished we stayed a week-loved the infinity pool .This was the most relaxing part of our vacation.

Room Tip: if you can do the spiral staircase do the roof deck room-very private
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mistey395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Beautiful riad-style property, all in stunning white - no shoes allowed! Nice roof terraces with views over the lovely Olhao roofscape and a plunge pool. Great breakfasts and lovely staff. Perfect position just a few metres from the seafront.

Room Tip: Stairs are narrow spirals, so if your mobility is impaired stay on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BTHmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews