We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
388
158
38
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
158
38
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach junior suite outdoor cinema terra restaurant faro airport exceptional staff sun hats farm house main restaurant boutique hotel adult pool reception area off the beaten track grounds are beautiful relaxing break a lovely stay nearest village
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Good welcome after short (30 minutes) drive from Faro airport and quickly shown to room. Simply decorated bedroom with a lot of white paint and distressed furniture, straw mats, but high specification bathroom fittings, nespresso machine etc (though slightly irritating WiFi setup: only worked with TV on). Very comfortable bed.
Excellent breakfast (though expect wasps on the terrace above the fruit grove in October).
Charming garden restaurant for dinner catering equally for fish lovers, carnivores and vegetarians. Reasonable selection of wines by the glass but limited choice of non alcoholic drinks. Very interesting desserts.
Lovely gardens and two pools (one being adult only).
Very helpful and cheerful staff who seemed genuinely to want to please.
Overall, good for a relaxing holiday in a quiet rural setting but with fast access to the nearby beaches and interesting towns/villages like Tavira, Fuseta and Olhão.
Rooms vary hugely so check carefully when booking to make sure you get the kind of sitting out space you need for example and that it’s not tucked away at the back of a building.
Might also be worth checking if they have a big wedding on as the crew setting up the marquees etc can disturb the peace.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dr_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari783725, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Monte Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A sincere thank you from our side to you for taking the time to explain your experience with us in such detail and care. It is an honor to know you have had a close to perfect stay! Your kind words on our staff have been passed on. It is very true that our room categories offer quite a wide variety of room or suite set-ups. Our reservations department is happy to assist and inform about your personal best fit and about any further happenings occurring on the property.

We hope to get the honor of welcoming you once more in the future.

Pleas take very good care of yourself until then,
Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Me and my husband came here on our honeymoon and were not disappointed. The service was outstanding, we have never experienced anything like it before. Sometimes it was as if they read our minds. Our suite was beautiful and we slept so well every single night. Breakfast selection was excellent and we enjoyed our meals at the Terra restaurant. This place is perfect to recharge, whether by yourself, in a couple or as a small family. In fact we did not see anyone with more than one baby/toddler, probably because the properly mostly has suites where the bedroom is not divided. Will definitely be recommending and if possible coming again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari783725, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Monte Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you a lot for leaving your rating and sharing your impressions. We received it all with pride! It is great to know that you were able to recharge your batteries on our grounds and that our staff was able to support in this. Our property offers quite a range of options for families, such as adjoining rooms and our family corner suite, that we are always happy to lay out and explain to families of any size or constellation interested in a stay with us.

Take very good care of yourself and please be back in the future - That would be a great honor.

The best from us to you,
Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

This is our ninth visit to this most wonderful place . It is an oasis of tranquility and luxury with an amazing helpful staff who are so accommodating and welcoming . It is a destination hotel , set in wonderful manicured grounds with two swimming pools , one is adults only . Food is superb. Highly reccommend this place . You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari783725, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Monte Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dearest Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond and sharing your impressions of your stay with us with the world. It is always the largest compliment to have guests return to our house. It fills us with pride that you find an oasis of tranquility and peace in Vila Monte, which allows you to escape the day-to-day busyness of reality and slow down to the rhythm of the Eastern Algarve.

We are already looking forward to your tenth stay with us - may it come as soon as possible!

The best from us to you,

Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

I loved everything about this resort! It started with the warm welcoming staff, beautiful grounds and fun, clean and well thought out design details. The food was FANTASTIC!!! You could eat every meal at the hotel (we practically did) and ALWAYS be happy with it! We did the farmers market with their charming chef on Saturday morning which was a highlight. The first room they put us in had water leaking in the bathroom and they graciously upgraded us to a wonderful suite! We felt spoiled and catered to the whole time! It reminded me of being in the south of France and would be a great place to use as your home base and then go explore the Algarve from here. We went on to stay a few nights in Lagos and really wished we had spent the whole stay here at Vila Monte!

Room Tip: Suite room located adjacent to their restaurant, Laranjal, which are their suites
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari783725, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Monte Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Sarah,

A big thank you for your kind words! It is an honor to understand that Vila Monte felt like a home base to depart your daily Algarve exploration from - and this is really what we aim for: creating a place of home-comfort and peace in the midst of the cultural and culinary diversity of the Algarve that surrounds it.

It would be a pleasure to receive you back in the future!

Take very good care of yourself until then.

The best from the Eastern Algarve,

Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Exhausted from our travels throughout Portugal - we were looking forward to having a couple of days to reflect and relax before heading back to Lisbon for our flight home. Vila Monte's setting between the mountains and the sea, framed by olive, carob and citrus trees heavy with fruit, did not disappoint.

We were welcomed with tea and escorted to our spacious, spotless suite. The interiors, by the late Vera Iachia, give the hotel a laid back-luxe feel.

Thoughtful touches in the room included sun hats, woven pareos and beach bags for use at one of the two lovely pools or numerous beaches nearby.

The location, off the beaten path and away from the crowds, is the perfect base to explore the more traditional fishing towns of Olhão and Tavira. It was also a quick thirty minute drive to the marina in Vilamoura where we chartered a boat and explored the beautifully, rugged Algarve coastline.

We dined at À Terra and Laranjal and each meal was delicious. However, I felt that the level of service at dinner was spotty and at times, non existent. While we were there, the resort was at capacity; the young and friendly staff did their best given the circumstances, but perhaps providing additional support during the busy summer months could help take the service to the next level.

Despite the service hiccups, we still had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheCaftanClique22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari783725, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Monte Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Many thanks for the thoughtful description of our grounds and your stay with us! It is an honor to read such a thorough picture of Vila Monte, starting from the interior design, to our gardens and specific location in the Algarve, in proximity of but nevertheless hidden away from the busyness of Southern Portugal over the summer months. Thank you as well for your constructive feedback on our restaurants and their staff, which was passed on and given follow-up.

It would be great to host you again the future.

The best to you from us until then,

Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews