We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
394
158
38
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
158
38
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite outdoor cinema private beach terra restaurant exceptional staff faro airport farm house sun hats main restaurant boutique hotel adult pool off the beaten track reception area grounds are beautiful family pool living room relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Exhausted from our travels throughout Portugal - we were looking forward to having a couple of days to reflect and relax before heading back to Lisbon for our flight home. Vila Monte's setting between the mountains and the sea, framed by olive, carob and citrus trees heavy with fruit, did not disappoint.

We were welcomed with tea and escorted to our spacious, spotless suite. The interiors, by the late Vera Iachia, give the hotel a laid back-luxe feel.

Thoughtful touches in the room included sun hats, woven pareos and beach bags for use at one of the two lovely pools or numerous beaches nearby.

The location, off the beaten path and away from the crowds, is the perfect base to explore the more traditional fishing towns of Olhão and Tavira. It was also a quick thirty minute drive to the marina in Vilamoura where we chartered a boat and explored the beautifully, rugged Algarve coastline.

We dined at À Terra and Laranjal and each meal was delicious. However, I felt that the level of service at dinner was spotty and at times, non existent. While we were there, the resort was at capacity; the young and friendly staff did their best given the circumstances, but perhaps providing additional support during the busy summer months could help take the service to the next level.

Despite the service hiccups, we still had a lovely stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheCaftanClique22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari783725, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Monte Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Many thanks for the thoughtful description of our grounds and your stay with us! It is an honor to read such a thorough picture of Vila Monte, starting from the interior design, to our gardens and specific location in the Algarve, in proximity of but nevertheless hidden away from the busyness of Southern Portugal over the summer months. Thank you as well for your constructive feedback on our restaurants and their staff, which was passed on and given follow-up.

It would be great to host you again the future.

The best to you from us until then,

Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

I visited Portugal for the first time starting in Lisbon.. After falling in love with the city, I had the blessed opportunity to head down to the Algarve, checking into Vila Monte farm house. The place is amazing, a must if you stay in the area. The calm beauty, the attention to detail, the outstanding service, and the proximity to the most amazing beaches made the my trip a 10+. Highly recommend this wonderful boutique hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mandy, Joaquin, and Lena for their impeccable service. Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Diann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari783725, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Monte Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dearest Diann,

We cannot thank you enough for your words that were so carefully picked and put together. It was our greatest pleasure to have gotten the chance to host the both of you. Vila Monte would not be the place of refuge it is without guests like you, that we feel so lucky to receive - Vibrant, curious and eager to exchange and connect. Please do know that our team will eagerly await your return. We are wishing the best for you until then.

The best of greetings from the Eastern Algarve,
Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Vila Monte for a late dinner to celebrate my birthday. We were given a beautiful candle lit table in the garden and had a wonderful evening. Great food, lovely service and a very relaxed, warm welcoming atmosphere. This was a return visit for us, but we will keep coming back for this great service and food in a wonderful location

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank CCohen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2018

A sincere thank you for having chosen our À Terra as location to celebrate this occasion. We are glad to hear that the restaurant suited this special event and that you were able to spend moments of good company in a comforting environment in our house. Please be back - it would be a pleasure!

Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We stayed late Aug/Sept so hotel was full with several younger children, but that was never a problem. The hotel has extensive and beautiful gardens. Several additional activities to book and experiences to try. Two pools with one adult only, especially helpful during school holiday season. Complimentary filtered water from containers with chunks of citrus fruit & herbs by pools and at reception. Also complimentary home made biscuits ( Carob or lemon) left in room and in reception cookie jar. Quieter than hotels closer to the beach or connected with golf courses. No smoking and no excess drinking witnessed, hence no loud behaviour. Staff all very friendly. Excellent breakfasts. We looked over rear old carob grove.(rooms 61 - 64) One early morning after rain saw a Little Owl perched 20m away and twice saw Greater Spotted Woodpecker as well as Azure Winged Magpies and smaller birds. Would be even better in spring.

On the down side we had booked a birding trip in advance with the hotel for day 3. We asked to confirm on arrival and on day 2. Arrived at dawn at the desk only to wait 30 minutes to be told they had not booked it! We went for a suggested local countryside walk instead (although map given was out of date and one track blocked by new olive farm gates) and on our return the hotel offers a free trip at 2.30pm. This was accepted but by then it was very hot and certain birds less in evidence. Manger was very apologetic. Another day we did enjoy the hotels olive farm trip.

Food at the Terra restaurant was okay, the fresh fish was nice, albeit expensive. The lunch and evening menus were the same but specials every day with at least 4 types of fish.. At the Laranjal restaurant we went for the Sunday shell fish plata, advertised in room booklet as "from 42 euros" but it was in fact from 70 euros! It was delicious. Only a few tables occupied so lacked atmosphere - not surprised at that cost. The Laranjal is also now closed Mon - Weds. The nights it is open the food is London top restaurant prices; 3 - 4 x cost of local places. It is also plagued by wasps this time of year until 8pm and then the mozzies get going! As it is the place the hotel uses for breakfast and with no extra evening decor it does not feel special for residents.

The ambience around the adult pool was quiet and calm but the service there was often absent. If you found someone to order food or coffee it could take 30 - 45 minutes to arrive. Many of the hotel staff were young Portuguese and all very friendly. The manager was occasionally seen in reception but senior managers were less evident in grounds and at breakfast than at any other 4-5 star hotel I have stayed at in the Algarve.

The gardens are really nice and the outside cinema is great, especially for school age children. If you want a good standard of hotel a bit away from the beach, and a bit further from the high life of sun & sea, then this is a good choice. But at the 5 star prices the last bits of attention to detail would be nice and they should rethink the Laranjal restaurant.

Room tip: If you like bird watching ask for upper floor suite 61 to 64 overlooking the field.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SemiRetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2018

Dear Trevor,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a complete review about your days with us. First, let us communicate once more - via web this time - what a pleasure it was to have hosted you in our house. We are thanking you for these carefully picked words about our gardens and grounds, capturing Vila Monte's bustling but peaceful summer atmosphere. It is great as well to hear about your bird observations and special attention to nature on ground - This is in fact what we are very proud of: blending in with our neighborhood and environment. Equally, we thank you for your points of constructive feedback that we acknowledge and take on from here. Greatest apologies once more for the mishap in the booking of the bird watching trip, which we regret very much and understand as outlier in our usual booking practices. The opening times of our second restaurant, the Laranjal, given our number of rooms and demand by guests in the past, our experience so far has taught that during the months of the high season adding the second dining option for five days of the week - on Mondays the cuisine of Laranjal invites for a BBQ by the main pool - was a viable solution. We have been observing and gathering impressions of guests along the season in order to reassess and decide our Laranjal pathway for next year. It goes without saying that your comment will be integral here as well. We kindly ask you to excuse this year's wasp situation, which was unusually dominant this year, and has left not only us but as a matter of fact the whole region in wonder of this unprecedented phenomenon.

The best from us to you - It would be a great pleasure to receive you once more in the future,

Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The resort property immediately makes you feel relaxed with lovely grounds and an attentive staff. The restaurants were delicious and the personal wine tasting experience we had was absolutely fantastic. Our room was next to the parking lot, probably not one of the nicest at the property, but we were using points and spent most of our time exploring the beaches in the area so it was fine. I would absolutely return again and next time bring my children!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2018

Dear Libby,

It is great to hear your feedback and we would like to thank you for it!

It goes without saying that we were reading the impressions of your stay and experience with us with pride.

What greatest pleasure it would be to receive you back - this time with the rest of the family.

The best from us to you,

Your Vila Monte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews