We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza but need the room needs a big roaring fire in winter”
Review of Red Herring

Red Herring
Ranked #5 of 9 things to do in Noordhoek
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We love supporting the local restaurants and we often just pop down for a quick drink or pizza. The pizza's are good but now that it's winter , I think they need to warm the room up with some warm furniture and make sure the fire is roaring on cold nights.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank mightymousemdsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"herring"
in 18 reviews
"noordhoek beach"
in 8 reviews
"milkwood trees"
in 2 reviews
"top deck"
in 2 reviews
"cape town"
in 5 reviews
"kommetjie"
in 2 reviews
"vibe"
in 3 reviews
"nature"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

In a unique setting among milk wood trees near Noordhoek beach you will encounter the Red Herring on Beach Road. A wonderful place with so many and positive offerings that is difficult to describe same in a review. Our pictures will assist in doing some talking to you as readers. In summary, a wonderful place. Numerous offerings and attractions. Restaurants, pubs, deli, views, ambiance, nature, near the beach, good food, fine service provided by local hosts - and much more. On and off street parking. Wonderful experience. Recommended.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank saswcpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We had supper here. A plus for me was the fact that they serve great low carb pizza ( with cauliflower base which I love). Atmosphere is lovely both inside and out. We sat on the upper deck which was sheltered and with great views of the beach and sea. Staff were great - 10/10 for this place. When I lived in SA years ago it was a nice place to go to but they have invested in it and made it great . Dog friendly too.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MaxBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Had the rump steak here this evening along with veggies and a salad. Ordered the steak med rare but got a medium, so sent it back to the kitchen. Apologies from 2 waiters and a manager. 2nd time round got a perfect steak. Veggies good, salad good.

Service was really good all round, very attentive. From previous visits this is a big improvement!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 970derekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We were staying at Noordhoek beach and this place became a favorite from day 1! The vibe is great- so relaxed and laid back! We loved the staff and their willingness to accommodate 8-10 people with no fuss. The food was great! Definitely a go to place!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank sheilal677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Herring also viewed

 

Been to Red Herring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing