We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food in pleasant surroundings”
Review of Cruise Cafe

Cruise Cafe
Ranked #29 of 189 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cruise Cafe is known for its fresh seafood and modern styled cuisine, a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional views of the Knysna Lagoon. Cruise Cafe presents diners with a soothing yet sophisticated ambiance, graced by lots of blond wood, sepia coloured alcoves and enlarged nautical photographs. Enjoy specialty coffees and classy cocktails on the lagoon deck with superb views, or sample the delightful breakfasts, healthy lunches and mouth-watering dinners from our fine selection of menu items.
Reviewed 25 June 2018

nice venue friendly staff and good food the restaurant is in a nice location plenty of space for the kids to run around.nice unrushed atmosphere

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulK216DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Lovely review thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

I meant to review the last time I went with visitors about a month back. Forgettable meal so I simply forgot. As locals we’ve been a number of times but slowly have become disenchanted with the place. Last time around the food was a just “blah”. I had the grilled calamari which was nothing to write home about and frankly a little on the cold side. Our guest had the same but deep fried, again just average.
My partner had the chicken. She was extremely pleased with the food, but at some point, her attention was distracted and the waitress who cleared my plate (I’d finished) also whipped away her unfinished meal.
Now, had we managed to attract one of the many waitron staff we could have rescued our evasive meal. Unfortunately, they all had that thousand-yard stare and it was a few minutes before one sauntered our way to find that the food had been disposed of. In fairness they did offer to replace the meal, but what was the point – everyone else had finished their meal?

Its one of those defining moments when you decide that maybe its time to give this place a miss in future. Sure, it has its captive patrons from the ferry ride but for us, and the fact not a single duty manager came to apologise – sorry guys. Fail.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gatvol69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We went to Cruise Café for dinner and went back two days later for breakfast. Really good food and great atmosphere. Staff very friendly. Beautiful décor and lovely views of the lagoon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tish630703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Thank you, Cruise Cafe for an excellent lunch and memorable day. Ten family members celebrated a special occasion and we never felt rushed. Food and service was great.

Thank knysnalaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Lovely to hear that you chose Cruise Cafe for your special celebrations and that we did not disappoint. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Been there for lunch with 3 vegan and 1 vegetarian friends. We vegans got tempura veggies with sticky rice with soy sauce. Tasted okay average. Very friendly staff!

Thank sydney_park_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Cruise Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cruise Cafe also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Cruise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing