We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Self-catering option in Knysna”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home Deck at Prospect Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
80 reviews
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home
Deck at Prospect Cottage
Giraffes on the deck at Prospect Cottage
Lounge area with comfortable couches
Corner of the comfortable lounge
View out of the lounge window.
African Art on the lounge wall
Dining room
Master bedroom with queen size bed
En suite bathroom with shower, toilet and basin
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds and a view over the lagoon.
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds
2nd bedroom with double bed and views over the lagoon
View from the 3rd Bedroom
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Hallway at Prospect Cottage
Kitchen
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Braai (  BBQ)
How to find Prospect Cottage.
Knysna Lagoon
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront.
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront
Knysna Waterfront.
Knysna Waterfront.
Paddle Steamer on the lagoon
Knysna Waterfront.
View of the Knysna Heads from Bollard Bay
Knysna Lagoon
Western Head
Knysna Lagoon
Low tide at  Bollard bay beach
Knysna Lagoon from the Heads
Knysna beach and lagoon
Lagoon views
The Heads,
Jubilee Creek in the Knysna Forest
Jubilee Creek
Knysna forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holger O
Windhoek
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Self-catering option in Knysna”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Prospect Cottage is a great place for a family with children looking for a peaceful self-catering option with a view. The view over the Knysna lagoon is as displayed on their website. The house has everything you need for a self-catering cottage. The braai place is not under cover, which was no problem for us as it never rained, but might be for braai lovers. The parking is not on the premises, but on a parking-bay just off-street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: parking area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Prospect Cottage. We really do appreciate your time and effort. It was nice meeting you and we do hope we will see you again at the cottage in the not too distant future. Best regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVR1234
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would recommend this place to all my friends!”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Everything at Prospect Cottage was great, the warm welcome...all the little extra's. It was clean, safe and we felt at home. We will recommend the cottage to friends! Thanks Liz and Neville!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the vieuw.
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Hello, It was lovely meeting you both and thank you for taking the time to write a review for Prospect Cottage. We do appreciate it very much. Hope the rest of your Cape stay was enjoyable and hope to see you again one day. We LOVE our overseas guests. They always leave the cottage so neat and tidy. Thank you. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudie B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One word: Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Prospect Cottage is everything you need for an awesome holiday! Neville and Liz are friendly and provided us with great info for the surroundings and even made an effort to advise us of potential load shedding scheduled for our first night. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to the finest detail in terms of what a visitor might require.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your review, we loved having you stay with us at Prospect Cottage. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter196...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Prospect Cottage. The owners met us on arrival and gave lots of useful tips for the best places to visit and eat. The accommodation is bright and spacious with a veranda which benefits from early morning sun and is great to eat breakfast on. Ideally situated for the Waterfront and town centre the property is located up a quiet lane with no passing traffic. The views from the lounge looks out on the lagoon and the Knysna Heads in the distance. We stayed for 6 days...it wasn't long enough to enjoy everything that Knysna has to offer. We'll definitely be back and wouldn't hestitate to stay at Prospect Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us - most appreciated! So glad you enjoyed the cottage and we look forward to another visit from you in the not too distant future. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn M
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and service, beautiful views.”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were greeted by the owners who had even boiled the kettle for us and we were shown around the house. The house was very neat and tidy and there were even Easter eggs on the pillows in the rooms. We had a wonderful stay and the place is beautiful and quite in a cul de sac. Tremendous views of the Knysna lagoon, and close to the main shopping mall as well. Very well situated as you come into Knysna but still close enough to go to the waterfront or Thessen Island.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you found our cottage so comfortable and that you felt it was value for money. The views are spectacular and we loved sharing them with you. We hope that you will be back again soon - perhaps for Easter 2016 ! Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;