We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Groot Constantia
from US$42.13
More Info
from US$219.56
More Info
from US$89.88
More Info
from US$108.48
More Info
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
811
505
149
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
811
505
149
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar tour oldest winery wine tasting cape town blue line south africa hop on hop off bus wine estate wine making different wines the city sightseeing bus beautiful estate tasting room take home red bus great wine sauvignon blanc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2019

We decided to change our itinerary and visit Groot due to very rainy weather. It was still a nice stop though. We had the wine and chocolate pairing tasting. Went around the estate as well as had lunch at one of their restaurants. Just a nice relaxing day out. Bought some wine to bring home too.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank wt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2019

What a beautiful place breathtaking scenery. Great wine tour and tasting. Couldnt resist buying a bottle of red.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Lovetravelingworld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2019 via mobile

Groot is South Africa's oldest wineyard. I had lunch at their restaurant, the angry beef chamussas were just the right spicy.
Then to the wine tour and tasting. You can choose from a selection of wines. Our guide (Luga) was great and took amazing pictures. Ans yeah, we could keep the glass :)

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank utisabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2019

We made our way here one afternoon because it was easiest to get to from the main part of Cape Town, and we are glad we stopped by. The wine tasting was good, and though we are far from experts or all that knowledgeable on wine, we certainly learned something from the tasting and the cellar tour. I do not believe the tour was anything special, but Dan provided helpful commentary for us as we tasted each of the wines. An impressive history to the place made it a memorable stop, worth a quick visit.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank mstef44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2019 via mobile

Grounds are stunning and wine is fantastic. We did the tour which was informative and well paced. Tasting with chocolate was fun as I had never considered pairing of chocolate with wine to be so fun and satisfying. If you do like the Chardonnay buy before you leave as we were not able to find it outside of the estate itself.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank carlh968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews