We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Apartment, Excellent Location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Waterfront Vertigo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IMG 6872
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
138 reviews
IMG 6872
SAM_0200.JPG
waterfront 002
DSC01490.JPG
SAM_0262.JPG
SAM_0267.JPG
DSC01392.JPG
P4270847.JPG
P4270848.JPG
P4270853.JPG
PA220522.JPG
SAM_0203.JPG
SAM_0212.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 138 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Susievdp
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment, Excellent Location, Wonderful Host!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

This was our sixth visit to Cape Town, but the first time we stayed at the Waterfront.. We rented the Vertigo apartment in the Altmore Building (overlooking side of Cape Grace hotel) for 14 days. Dominique (the owner) is an absolute sweetheart and is always available (via mobile or email) if you need to get in touch with her. The apartment exceeded our expectations as all the faciliites were ideal for self catering especially with great kitchen inc: w/machine, a lovely big lounge and large outside balcony - and the bed is SO comfortable!!! The location is fantastic as you're central to everything and extremely safe. Make sure you walk along to the 5* One & Only Hotel as they serve fab cocktails at a very cheap price! You must visit Willoughby's in the V&A Shopping Mall for the world's best Sushi (only 15 min walk!) . Can't speak highly enough of Vertigo, especially if you're looking for a safe, affordable and luxurious option at the Waterfront. Will definitely return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, safety, excellent amenities - and lovely big balcony!
Liked least: Leaving!!!!!!!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nic1954
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We booked the apartment for 10 days over Christmas and New Year. Directions from the airport were clear and the apartment was easy to find. The host met us at security and we were shown straight into the apratment. As the owner was away on holiday we were greeted by an agency. Unfortunately this did cause some problems as the agency person did not point out that the office would be closed during most of our stay and so we were unable togain access to the mainswimming pool, the gym or to wi-fi for the first five days. I did point this out to the owner by e-mail as it is a small but important issue to resolve. Other than that we found the whole stay exceptional. By the way wi-fi access is very expensive Rand160 per day. If you have Skpe on your computer you can access Skyrove from the apartment which charges by the minute but then you can use it for only as long as you need. This is a much cheaper option if you only want to use your computer to say check a few e-mails or check in for your flight.

The apartment is perfectly located for an easy stroll to the V+A Waterfront for shopping and supermarkets, to the trendy Waterkant area for dining and to the City Centre/Long Street area for sightseeing and nightlife. It is also an easy drive either down to Clifton/Camps Bay or down to the sights on the other side of the mountain.

It was great that the parking garage was on the same floor as the flat making it easy to get stuff from the car to the flat.

The apartment was very well equipped and we made most of our meals in the flat. The small touches also make a difference as I noted in a review for another apartment where they were absent. Here we were provided with shower gel and hand soap, dishwashing powder and detergent for the washing machine, salt/pepper and some spices in the kitchen, some tea/coffee etc.

The furniture was simple but comfortable and the flat was decorated with colourful paintings. We especially liked to sit on the large balcony with a view over the canal and watch the world going by. Everything worked i.e. TV, washing machine, dryer, stove, microwave etc. If I could offer one piece of advice on furnishing it would be to add an extra lamp in the living room. When watching TV one had a choice between one small floor lamp which was a bit too dark or the full ceiling lights.

Overall a great place to stay and thoroughly recommended. In my notes below I mentioned I would not recommend this as a flat for those with smaller children. This is only because of the canal which runs through the property which is not fenced off. Potentially kids could fall into the canal if not closely supervised

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the fact it was sol well equipped and the small touches
Liked least: Not being able to gain access to the gym/pool or wi-fi for most of our stay
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2012
Thanks Nic for your review, much appreciated.
Just 2 things to mention.
1. Internet is NOT R 160 per day. The R 160 will cover your internet for your whole stay. When I am around I ask the people to leave the cards behind so it gets carried over to the next people. If you are lucky you get internet for free, if you are unlucky you will just have to spend R 160
2. When I am around (most of the year !!), I give my guests 2 access cards. One of them gives you automatic entrance to the "owners pool" and gym.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund
Reviewed 29 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed 9 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing