We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
343
75
23
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
75
23
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge deck house manor house the main house hotel dogs love dogs cape town nature reserve duty manager table mountain stunning views watch the sunset sun loungers wonderful stay short drive attention to detail boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

I'm still waiting for the CEO to get in touch as per the hotel's response. It seems incredible to me that I've been totally ignored and the hotel is lying about it. My advise is to stay in another hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mrfastidious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights here and while the main building has this colonial feel to it, the main part of the hotel consists of private villas furnished to the highest standard. You get great views of both Camps Bay and the mountains. It’s truly magnificent. However food and service were not that great. People are friendly but you would expect a lot more from a place like this. Anyway, good place to stay if you come several couples and want to share a villa.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mariya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, The Entire Camps Bay Retreat Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Mariya,

Thank you for the posted review.

It is such a pity to have read that our food and the service thereof did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you experienced it this way.

All your super comments about our decor, the views and other angles we truly appreciate.

The team has sat together to discuss how to ensure your other concerns are met for another stay.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

The Entire Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

What a beautiful little hotel this is with lovely gardens and a swimming pool{solar heated I believe }
We only stayed 2 nights before moving on but would 100% stay here again
Our room was across the rope bridge and had stunning views to the sea and table mountain
And if you walk to the bottom of the garden there is a gate leading to the main street

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulcJ497NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We recently went for a weekend away with 3 kids to Camps Bay Retreat.
It was such a treat!
The property is situated on 2 hectares with beautiful wild landscaping, including a magical waterfall, a natural pool, a hanging bridge many different walkways that offer exquisite views of Table Mountain and the sea and simply a feeling of immersing into nature (and that in the middle of Camps Bay!!!)

We had fantastic food, lovely service and very comfortable accommodation (staying in a 3-bedroom unit, with kitchenette, dining table and lounge).

It was lovely and warm despite the cold weather and we felt super safe.

The property offers a gate that offers quick access (albeit having to cross a fairly busy road) to the beach.

The best part if definitely the surprise feeling of being far away in a magical forest and not having to drive anywhere the entire weekend. We went for walks in the garden, the kids played with the resident dogs on the lawn, had fantastic food, walked over the hanging bridge to our unit, had ice cream on the beach, played on the rocks.

Oh, and we stared in amazement at the architecture and interior in the manor house (built in 1920’s).

I’ll definitely recommend this place!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank albabrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We arrived in a beautiful sunny afternoon and the retreat is a joy. Great sea view, sundowners on the lawn and all round great evening. Then a cold front swept in with rain.... the room we have is cold, with one small heating panel. The room door did not seal and it was leaking water into the room. The main lobby and dining room have fires that do not heat up the place and our experience become unpleasant. The dining room fireplace was hopelessly too small and because the doors did not close did not produce the heat it should have.

Breakfast omelette was burnt and the portion size of the "toppings" was very small.

Dinner was very good - I had a superb steak and salad (in fact I had it again the next night and it was still good !). Great wine list at reasonable prices.

The SPA experience was very good and this was a warm and cosy place - value for monty was good.

Onsite parking was a bonus and there are staff to carry your bags and settle you in.

Would I go again - yes, but not when its likely to be cold.

Room Tip: The rooms not in the main building are accessed via a rope suspension bridge - pretty cool if heights don't bother you.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews