We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great and warm guest house in Camps Bay great...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bayleaf Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
s_cederqu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great and warm guest house in Camps Bay great location”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I travelled to CT with my sister end of November 2013 and we stayed at The Bayleaf guest house in the Orange tree room with kitchen facilities and we really enjoyed it. Shirley, the owner was terrific, very helpful, fun and nice. Our room had a connecting door with the other smaller room (Lemon tree room) and you can hear the other guests when there, felt a bit like flat share and we were aware of the sounds and talking to loud so we would not disturb. The room was kept clean, we did find the bathroom not so clean at times. Shirley had two nice dogs. There were very nice rooms on the top floor of the house, called the villa, can be rented for a large group of people, had three bedrooms, very nice. We will come back next year to stay and rent both rooms (Orange and Lemon) so we get the lower floor to ourselves and not having to be door to door with other guests. We felt save in the Camps Bay area, although just a small lock on the front door and no fencing. (as most houses has a bit more security in the area) Location was fab, only 4 minutes walk to the beach, pick n pay supermarket and all the great restaurants located on the beach front.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, owner and the beds
Liked least: The connection door to the other room, very easy to hear the other people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrTarbuz
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in an ideally suited location”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in August 2012

The Bay Leaf is a fantastic place to stay and makes a great place for
exploring Cape Town. The house is a beautiful, well-maintained, and
modern building. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staying there
doesn't feel like an impersonal hotel. It feels like a warm home. They
are thoughtfully appointed with all the things you might need (e.g.
beach towels, maps and guides, tea) etc. The self-catering is a
wonderful draw, and provides a great option for those who do not wish
to take every meal at a restaurant while on vacation. The grounds are
quiet and well-kept. In short, it's easy to relax and feel at peace
while staying here.

The B&B; has an amazing location close to the main strip in Camps Bay.
You can find a grocery store, pharmacy, and lots of restaurants and
shopping. Across the street is the beach, just a short walk. There is
ample parking across the street. It's easy to head both into the
downtown area, Sea Point, and further afield.

Finally, the staff is extremely efficient and friendly, and the
proprietors are wonderful to chat with and ready to help in any way.

The Bay Leaf is a terrific place to stay while in Cape Town!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, well-stocked rooms & helpful, friendly staff
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would prefer to keep this our secret jewel in Camps Bay”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We visited with two families in February and the Bay Leaf villa in Camps Bay was just perfect. Very friendly owners welcomed us and stocked up the refrigerator in advance and even gave a bunch of flowers - very kind. The house was clean and welcoming. The staff come in everyday and tidied up, so we really felt on holiday. The location is perfect - walking distance from the boulevard in Camps Bay and the beach. All I can say is keep it a secret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambiance of the house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
|Norfolk
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed 5 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing