We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
162
151
45
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
151
45
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio room secure parking glass roof cape town bars and restaurants a bit tired ideal location fully equipped kitchen the penthouse self catering sea view opposite the beach table mountain main bedroom victoria road small pool thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The location makes this place and the service was really strong. However, the state of the rooms (old and in a poor state) and poor cleanliness are detracting. I would recommend a thorough renovation (especially the bathrooms which are at least 30 years old) and better cleaning.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rh440340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear rh440340

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. We're currently taking steps to upgrade the bathroom facilities.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Besides the fact it looks onto the beach, nothing else is appealing about this resort The unit was dated and kitchen facilities were very poor and falling apart. Very basic accommodation. Staircase definitely not safe for elderly or small children!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Pamela D

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Excellent location in Camps Bay. Accommodations are clean and suited our family of 4 adults perfectly. Across the street from the beach with many excellent restaurants just steps away. Nice pool (not heated) and lounging area. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms and outside patio with a table. We had an ocean view. Price was excellent for the accommodation. Saw surfers on the beach. Great for body surfing.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tornvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear tornvt

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I was happy about my room and would like to have the same room during my next visit. It was near the beach and the atmosphere was relaxing. I enjoyed the stay more so my kids. The place is neat and pricing reasonable. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ekoman655588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear ekomann 655588

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We spent one night in this hotel apartment that is in front of the beach so in a perfect place to walk on the beach and to have dinner on the promenade without using the car. The apartment was clean and very comfortable. It has heaters that in winter time are very important and not all the places we visited had.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy087, Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Chaira S

Thank you for staying with us and appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We take pride in catering to our guests needs the best way we can. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews