We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
K8264NWnicky

A Piece of Heaven on Earth

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Nov 2022
Food was exceptional, presentation great. WAY too much!! Peace and quiet, a real bush experience. We were treated like Royalty from the get go....Game Drives we saw plenty. Rams and Elias are the best team. Cannot wait to come back....
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$150
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
15.0 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Pool Area
$76
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $76
  • Agoda.com
34.1 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free parking
Pool
$188
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
39.5 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,297
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel Site
24.6 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $706
  • Priceline
17.0 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $303
  • Priceline
18.0 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $282
  • Booking.com
36.5 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $983
  • Expedia.com
    $1,118
23.8 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $272
  • Expedia.com
    $337
36.8 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $197
32.9 km from aha Makalali Private Game Reserve
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
530
107
25
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
530
107
25
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river outdoor shower bush experience the main lodge game reserve cape buffalo off road unique experience romantic dinner went the extra mile our honeymoon food was amazing fantastic stay private lodge wild animals three nights out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2022

We had the absolute best stay for our honeymoon! The service and food was amazing throughout our stay. The staff is very friendly, informative and professional. Our ranger Kensana (Isaac) and tracker Vutomi (Life) were exceptional!! If you want to see almost every animal possible like we did, ask for them. The place is beautiful especially by the river lodge as it is more secluded and in nature. Overall it was one of our best holidays!!

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandrad0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2022

We came to South Africa for the wild life, and stay in a Game Reserve was one of the most waited activities. And we were not disappointed! Kids loved the safari (so did the parents) we loved our stay.
Breakfast are great and food was very good and there was a lot of diversity.
What could be better than coming back from a GREAT safari with a duo of rangers way above our expectations, and arrive at the lodge and have a diner under the stars?
Amaizing moments!
We loved it

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laulau1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2022

4 of the most amazing days on our honeymoon, nothing was too much, the service, food, drinks, our beautiful private lodge, dinner settings and ofcourse the game drives! We saw so many animals and the drivers were so willing to give us the best experience! They surprised us with a private picnic one day which was so thoughtful! We will absolutely be coming back and can’t recommend this place enough! Thank you so much 😊

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hmay431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2022

I was the lucky winner of the Makalali River Lodge & aha Hotels & Lodges Instragram giveaway, where my husband and I were spoiled with a 2 nights stay, 3 meals per day (including coffee + tea + hot chocolate and game drive drinks & snacks) and 2 game drives daily!

We felt like VIPs from the moment that we arrived at the idyllic and breathtaking Makalali River Lodge. We were welcomed with the best welcome drinks (which is now our favourite drink…just saying) and the most friendly and warm hearted staff and rangers. The lodge itself is surrounded with nature – it is absolutely beautiful and so exclusive!

The chefs are amazing and each menu is carefully planned to really give you the best South African food experience (it really tastes like home as I am a South African myself). Every dish is an experience and the ultimate is the dinner when you relax around the boma while the chef prepare the food – from oxtail potjiekos to braaivleis! To me, there is nothing like freshly baked bread and butter & they even bake their own bread…that was next level lekker!

The rooms have a modern touch to it and the cleanliness and neatness of the rooms are absolutely amazing. The room staff always make sure that your room are clean and stocked with coffee, teas, hot chocolate, milk, towels etc. I have not experienced such amazing service like this before.
The game drives are the absolute best and really something we looked forward to – the 4x4 drive itself is an experience! The rangers really go out of their way to search for the animals and they have so much interesting facts about every animal (from small to big). We have also seen the most amazing animals and sceneries, as well as little animals which were adorable!! It was the most fantastic drives, filled with so much adventure to see some of the animals so close!!! WOW!!!

To conclude, we were spoiled rotten and nothing is too much effort for the people Makalali Private Game Lodge. We absolutely loved every second of this wonderful getaway - it is TOTALLY worth it. I HIGHLY recommend Makalali River Lodge where you eat top quality South African food, stay in luxury accommodation surrounded with nature, while having a wild life experience with the best rangers.

My heart is bursting with thankfulness for this incredible prize!!! I don't have enough words to thank you enough!

Mari xx

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marim00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2022

Amazing surprise ! The staff is very welcoming and competent, bedrooms are comfortable, food is good, and the safari is awesome. You get to see wild animals from the best photo spot possible thanks to skillfull rangers who communicate with each others to relay interesting sightings.
This was my first safari with rangers, so I cannot really compare, but I totally enjoyed my time at Makalali !

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lysemna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews