We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Abby B
Arizona

An unbelievable experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Sept 2021
Kapama Southern camp was nothing short of amazing! The luxurious property is stunning. The food and wine selections over exceeded our expectations. The game drives were always exciting and our ranger was soo knowledgeable! The staff made sure we were taken care of from the minute we arrived and until we departed. Thank you Kapama!
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$517
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $519
  • Agoda.com
    $475
  • Hotels.com
    $519
16.1 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$344
  • Expedia.com
    $372
  • StayForLong
    $327
  • Hotels.com
    $355
15.7 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$77
  • Priceline
    $77
  • Agoda.com
    $77
  • Vio.com
    $77
28.8 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
$327
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
    $294
21.0 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$162
  • Expedia.com
    $148
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Priceline
    $162
37.3 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
$169
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $189
31.4 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
Exterior - Night
$207
  • Booking.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
    $207
  • Priceline
    $207
19.6 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
$1,116
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $1,604
  • Agoda.com
    $1,020
  • Expedia.com
    $1,390
27.8 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,043
  • Expedia.com
    $1,364
  • Hotels.com
    $1,366
  • Trip.com
    $1,366
42.7 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
895
100
19
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
895
100
19
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern camp game drives safari experience private pool high tea bush walk african bush hoedspruit airport an amazing experience every meal highlight of our trip private reserve blown away our honeymoon food was amazing morning and evening amazing safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2021

We expected Kapama Southern Camp to be great, but our expectations were surpassed, it was absolutely fantastic. All the staff were exceptional, the food was absolutely divine and the game drives phenomenal. The Big Five were all seen during a three hour game drive on two or three occasions. The guests that we interacted with were all truly delighted with the service standards and offerings at Kapama Southern Camp. KAPAMA IS GREAT!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhillipvanVuuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

The beautiful bush, African sun, breathtaking views and the big five!!! 😍Kapama will stop at nothing to give you the royal treatment! Their food is fine dining at its best and plenty! Their staff is friendly, fun, helpful and just AWESOME! Lifetime memories... Guaranteed 😃

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MAGENTHRIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

Our stay at kapama karula camp was based on the private heated pool. Upon making reservation I made sure to ask multiple times if the pool is heated and the response I got was yes. This was our anniversary getaway and we really wanted to make it special, however upon arrival we were disappointed that only then it was disclosed to us that the pool is solar powered and so if there is no sun it won’t be hot. I am fully aware that is is winter and that sunlight isn’t as strong. With that being said I was looking forward to the relaxing experience of a hot pool on a cold winter night like that offered by Tshipise, a forever resort. However the discovery of it being solar powered instantly made me realise that I would be disappointed. The only reason I booked that room was because of the pool. It wasn’t available for both nights of my stay hence I settled for moving from southern camp to karula on the second night. If your staff was honest and transparent about the possibility of disappointment I wouldn’t have upgraded my room. I feel I wasted my time because the heated pool was actually the highlight of our getaway. Me and my partner were talking about it all week only to arrive and be disappointed. The pool was not even warm enough to dip our feet. We didn’t get to experience what we thought would be the highlight

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sbabigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

An exceptional stay at a very comfortable lodge near Hoedspruit. The staff, guides, trackers were amazing,. Nothing was too much to do to give the guest that feeling of being cared and looked after. I would highly recommended this lodge.

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

This was our 1st ever and I would recommend everyone to at least experience once in their life. Hopefully, we will be able to do it again. From entering the lodge upon arrival they carry you in their hands, the rooms are amazing, the food o my gosh! The game drives in the morning and late afternoon with the stop for drinks is also an experience, the one day 2 hyenas came to investigate. No words to describe, if you are considering it JUST DO IT!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank greg852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews