We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michelle V

WOW!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jul 2021
A must do on everyone's bucket list! Best value for money! All that you have to do is rest and enjoy yourself! Learnt so much on my game viewing trips. From a food and drinks perspective: I think it is impossible to finish all the delicious food on offer! The drinks selection is amazing and it really awesome to know that all drinks are included in the price!
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$346
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    $346
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $349
15.6 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$399
  • Expedia.com
    $340
  • Agoda.com
    $327
  • Priceline
15.7 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$493
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $495
  • Official Site
    $429
  • Hotels.com
    $494
16.1 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$274
  • Expedia.com
    $308
  • Agoda.com
    $246
  • Priceline
15.7 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$327
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $274
  • Expedia.com
    $320
21.0 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$188
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $208
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Priceline
31.4 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$162
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
    $148
37.3 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
Adult pool area outside Pegasus Restaurant and bar
$207
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
    $207
  • Priceline
19.6 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
$1,505
  • Expedia.com
    $1,502
  • Hotels.com
    $1,591
  • Trip.com
    $1,505
27.5 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free parking
Pool
$1,043
  • Expedia.com
    $1,231
  • Agoda.com
    $953
  • Hotels.com
    $1,229
42.7 km from Kapama Southern Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveller rating
894
100
19
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
894
100
19
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern camp game drives safari experience private pool high tea bush walk african bush hoedspruit airport an amazing experience every meal highlight of our trip private reserve blown away our honeymoon food was amazing morning and evening amazing safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

Kapama SC is a lovely base for game drives on the eastern cape. Its main gate is conveniently located just across from Hoedspruit Airport. A ranger met us at the airport and whisked us to KSC (25 minute drive in a safari jeep). Game drives occur at 630 am and again at 4 pm. Snacks, blankets and hot water bottles were much appreciated. Our day drives were much more successful with regard to wildlife, and our tracker and ranger were top notch. The food is EXCELLENT. They took care of me so well, making items that fit my vegetarian lifestyle. Honestly with pre morning drive snacks, morning coffee, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, evening drive drinks and snacks and dinner, you are never hungry! My husband and I stayed in villa 3, which was lovely. The mini bar was stocked, and the modern room was clean and well designed. I always appreciate chairs to relax on rather than only having a bed or desk chair for sitting. Because it was cold, we did not utilize the plunge pool, but it looked inviting. I enjoyed the impala and wart hog visitors, and the staff were ALL amazing. I DO recommend, but note these few issues: Kapama is a private reserve, so the area and animals are fenced, albeit in a vast area. That felt a little bit like cheating, and I did not realize this as my travel agent booked it. The villa's shower is all glass and windows without a door/curtain on the outside or inside. While probably only visible to wildlife, it made me uncomfortable. The shower floor is very slick, without any sort of mat. The room has one door that separates the bed/sitting area from half of the bathroom, but then the same wall is open and without door/partition on the other end, making most of the bathroom exposed and, frankly, cold. Finally, there is a lot of down time in the afternoon with nothing to do between 11 am and 3 pm. In warm weather with the pool or with kids, this might be a bonus, but as two adults who like to "do" during a holiday, we got bored. Neither of us enjoy a spa and the villas do not have tv/movies at all. There was too much time unfilled. While we did take advantage of a visit to the elephant sanctuary at additiinal cost, I wish they had offered some activities during that time such as a cooking class, wine tasting or even a bush walk.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jordiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2021

Kapama offers tranquility out of this world. Can’t wait to visit Kapama annually for recharge and rejuvenate. The booking process and hospitality from arrival till departure gives value for money. Big up to the staff at large.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TebogoKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2021

I planned a trip for my girlfriend and I to Kapama Private Game Reserve (Southern Camp) in mid-June, 2021. I had planned this trip with the intention of proposing during our stay; however, as I had never visited, I was uncertain of how to go about this or where the best place to do this might be.

After receiving endless help from the staff and rangers (particularly Nelani, Viljoen and Simon) prior to our stay even commencing, we had planned out a spectacular setting at the Romantic Sleep Out - a sleep out under the stars in the reserve's "Lion's Den". The proposal went perfectly and our sleep out was unreal, and what followed was 3 days of celebrating in absolute bush-bliss luxury.

Each day started off with some tea, coffee and pastries at 06h00 before we left for our morning game drive. Our game ranger and tracker, Jaques and Kenny, were brilliant and we would recommend them to anyone. We had the most incredible sightings and each game drive was different from the last; Jaques and Kenny even took particular note of specific animals we were hoping to see and we saw every one on the list.

Back at the camp, every meal - from breakfast, to high-tea, to supper - was superb. Our waiter, Sam, took such good care of us at every sitting and ensured that our glasses were never empty, not even for a minute.

Our room (which was a family villa) was absolutely breathtaking; we had everything we needed and more for a perfect stay in luxury.

Thank you very much Kapama for an unforgettable experience, this truly was a trip of a lifetime. We haven't stopped speaking about it and telling friends and family about it, and we don't think we ever will.

Room tip: We recommend opting for a villa / family villa
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2021

From the minute we arrived there we were treated to excellent service; from reception to management. The game drives were fantastic and the rangers went the extra mile to ensure we had the complete bush experience, seeing the Big 5.
The food was superb with every dish enhanced by the beautiful surroundings.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SafariSafari246
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2021

Excellent stay in beautiful and luxurious rooms, warm and friendly staff seeing to our every need.
Fun and interactive game drives. Will definitely return to stay here again.
Loved the outdoor safari experience.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank admin933
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews