We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
531mish61

Fantastic safari experience

Review of Kuname Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Aug 2023
Kuname offered us an excellent experience. We had the Manor House as we travelled with our two adult children. The additional beds in the attic were a real bonus. The watering hole outside the fence attracted a number of animals. The foods was excellent as were all the services.
Guide and driver (Forget and Eddie) were fantastic.
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 27 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $152
24.9 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$451
  • Expedia.com
    $451
  • Agoda.com
    $272
  • Hotels.com
    $451
43.2 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$76
  • Priceline
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $76
  • Vio.com
    $76
42.3 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Pool Area
$63
Easy and fast booking
  • Expedia.com
    $67
  • Trip.com
    $77
  • Hotels.com
    $70
41.3 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$344
  • Hotels.com
    $293
  • Expedia.com
    $293
  • ZenHotels.com
    $292
44.4 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$113
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $113
  • Agoda.com
    $73
  • Expedia.com
    $99
42.7 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$294
  • Expedia.com
    $346
  • ZenHotels.com
    $284
  • Priceline
    $294
44.9 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Bar
$203
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $203
  • Hotels.com
    $203
39.4 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$1,409
  • Priceline
    $1,532
  • Hotels.com
    $1,533
  • Expedia.com
    $1,533
29.9 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,007
  • Expedia.com
    $1,086
  • Trip.com
    $1,072
  • Hotels.com
    $1,082
36.7 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
352
33
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
352
33
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon the river game drives outdoor shower and bath enjoyed every moment african bush stayed nights our night stay an amazing experience treated like royalty the kitchen staff every meal game reserve adolph tracker ranger leopard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2023

Great vacation with great service, accommodations and activities. The safari guide was great, we had Adolph and Lucky. They were very knowledgeable and were able to identify everything and answer all our questions. They also were very hospitable and gracious when dealing with our loud group.

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kanemm2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2023

We spent 3 nights here in July and what a fabulous place!

Our lodge (The Manor) was brilliant, lots of space for a family of 4, a pool, and a deck to watch the animals wonder past or drink from the waterhole outside. Rooms were spacious and the whole Manor was excellent.

Food here is terrific, you will be well fed! One night spent outside by campfire on the open deck which was lovely.

The wildlife viewing was brilliant, it is a Big 5 reserve and we managed to see all 5 a couple of times over the drives, including all 5 in one day. Guides are constantly on the radio so there are lots of eyes spotting things making it a little easier to find the big target animals. Our guide was Happy and our tracker Michael, both were great, Happy’s knowledge of literally everything was amazing, from astronomy to botany, biology to literally everything.. a very learned man!

We had some very memorable encounters we won’t forget and our children were well looked after.

Thanks again for a fabulous stay!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank s_bullock013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2023

From the warm welcome at the airport to the sad farewell, our stay at Kuname was incredible. We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon, in the honeymoon suite, and we were treated like royalty the entire time. Housekeeping were wonderful and the bed was super comfortable. We had animals right outside our room most days.
The food was great and plentiful. We brought snacks with us that remained untouched because the volume and quality of food on offer was outstanding. The wait staff were lovely and made each meal enjoyable. The boma braii was a highlight. Almost every meal had a different location and table setting which was lovely.
The game drives were superb. Our guide was Adolph and our tracker was Solomon. We experienced 8 game drives in total and each one was unique and unforgettable. We saw the big 5, learned about the African bush, and spent a good amount of time with each animal. Both Adolph and Solomon went the extra mile to ensure we had the best experience.
We can’t wait to return to Kuname with friends and family to experience it all again.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2023

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every moment whilst we were there. The dinning room staff were great fun and Gladys tried on my sarong as she had seen me wearing it. The meals we had were 5 star and the kitchen staff should be congratelated. The game drives were a lot of fun and we saw the most of the big 5.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2023 via mobile

Text: This was the most incredible experience. From the minute we arrived till we were dropped off at the airport. We were spoiled and our every need was met. Kuname's staff goes out of their way to make the experience unforgettable. Patrick and Aldoloph did an excellent job tracking the game and ensuring that we not only had our fill of the big five, but that the entire experience was rich, memorable, and informative. Regina and her team of Emily and Suzan prepared amazing cuisine and provided excellent service. Philip and Christa are invaluable in keeping the ship running smoothly and paying attention to every tiny detail to ensure perfection. Robert, Steve and Sam, as well as the rest of the security crew, were wonderful in taking us to our cottage and guaranteeing our safety. We stayed in the manor house complete with its own plunge pool, kitchen, lounge, verandah and two ensuite bedrooms. It was superb! We were well looked after by the chamber maids with five star turn downs every night! What an exceptional location! Make a reservation!!! You will not be let disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tarynlisamolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews