We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Matt D
Perth, Australia

Perfect honeymoon experience

Review of Kuname Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jun 2023
From the warm welcome at the airport to the sad farewell, our stay at Kuname was incredible. We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon, in the honeymoon suite, and we were treated like royalty the entire time. Housekeeping were wonderful and the bed was super comfortable. We had animals right outside our room most days.
The food was great and plentiful. We brought snacks with us that remained untouched because the volume and quality of food on offer was outstanding. The wait staff were lovely and made each meal enjoyable. The boma braii was a highlight. Almost every meal had a different location and table setting which was lovely.
The game drives were superb. Our guide was Adolph and our tracker was Solomon. We experienced 8 game drives in total and each one was unique and unforgettable. We saw the big 5, learned about the African bush, and spent a good amount of time with each animal. Both Adolph and Solomon went the extra mile to ensure we had the best experience.
We can’t wait to return to Kuname with friends and family to experience it all again.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 19 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to send this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Karongwe in the future. Karongwe Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$162
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $148
24.9 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$493
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $494
  • Official Site
    $373
  • Hotels.com
    $494
43.2 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$399
  • Expedia.com
    $421
  • Hotels.com
    $421
  • Priceline
44.4 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$77
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
42.3 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $324
  • Hotels.com
    $309
  • Priceline
44.9 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$522
  • Expedia.com
    $464
  • Hotels.com
    $487
  • Tripadvisor
    $464
63.4 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Exterior - Night
$220
  • Booking.com
    $220
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Priceline
39.4 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$1,119
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $1,390
  • Agoda.com
    $933
  • Booking.com
    $1,604
33.5 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,043
  • Expedia.com
    $1,367
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    $1,366
36.7 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
353
33
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
353
33
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon the river game drives outdoor shower and bath enjoyed every moment african bush stayed nights our night stay an amazing experience treated like royalty the kitchen staff every meal game reserve adolph tracker ranger leopard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2023

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every moment whilst we were there. The dinning room staff were great fun and Gladys tried on my sarong as she had seen me wearing it. The meals we had were 5 star and the kitchen staff should be congratelated. The game drives were a lot of fun and we saw the most of the big 5.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2023 via mobile

Text: This was the most incredible experience. From the minute we arrived till we were dropped off at the airport. We were spoiled and our every need was met. Kuname's staff goes out of their way to make the experience unforgettable. Patrick and Aldoloph did an excellent job tracking the game and ensuring that we not only had our fill of the big five, but that the entire experience was rich, memorable, and informative. Regina and her team of Emily and Suzan prepared amazing cuisine and provided excellent service. Philip and Christa are invaluable in keeping the ship running smoothly and paying attention to every tiny detail to ensure perfection. Robert, Steve and Sam, as well as the rest of the security crew, were wonderful in taking us to our cottage and guaranteeing our safety. We stayed in the manor house complete with its own plunge pool, kitchen, lounge, verandah and two ensuite bedrooms. It was superb! We were well looked after by the chamber maids with five star turn downs every night! What an exceptional location! Make a reservation!!! You will not be let disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tarynlisamolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2023

A beautiful lodge in a magnificent setting. Wonderful rooms with great outdoor bathrooms. Attention to detail was superb. After reading reviews and staying at another lodge prior I decided to book Kuname to celebrate my 60th with my 2 children who live overseas with their new partners who had never experienced the bush before. We were unfortunate to be allocated a game ranger who wasn’t interested in giving us the best experience in the bush. We went around in circles trying to spot a leopard - which I think was more for cataloguing purposes. Due to this we missed out on so much more in the bush. No information or facts. was given on other animals. We are huge bush travels and enjoy seeing everything from small to large and know that it is a gamble. Sightings were being called in but clearly weren’t of interest to our range. Having been to other lodges before we were most disappointed as I really wanted to give my family an amazing experience.
The food was delicious but service not so great, white wine was hot, had to pour our own wine. Plates not removed.
The rooms were very comfortable and beautiful.

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wanderer08443297512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your honest and helpful feedback and it has been taken to heart and will be looked into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2023

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Kuname! We had a lovely warm welcome and things continued to be great throughout our four night stay. Our room was attractive and comfortable with an inside bathroom (and also an outside bath and shower) and a peaceful deck area complete with fridge. The room was very well-serviced every day. The delicious biscuits provided in the room were a real temptation. The dining area, lounge and outside deck area overlooking the river were beautifully and stylishly decorated.

The food (beginning with 5.30 a.m. coffee and snacks before the morning game drive through to a superb dinner at night after the second game drive) was absolutely superb. There is lots of food during the day, and the quality and presentation is a credit to the excellent chefs and the rest of the wonderful staff. The varied places to eat were always beautifully arranged and the stylish crockery and linen had been carefully chosen making each meal an absolute treat.

Our drivers and trackers were fantastic. Jurie and Freddie and Adolph and Mosco were skilled, patient, determined, knowledgeable and great fun (though bear in mind there is absolutely no compulsion to eat any of the strange things they suggest you can eat whilst out on drives . . .!)

The game reserve is very well-run with a limited number of vehicles operating in a vast area. Only two vehicles are allowed at major sightings and there is a limit of staying for five minutes if other vehicles arrive - no limit on time until then. This prevents what can happen on some game drives where a dozen vehicles surround one sighting. We were really impressed by this aspect of the Karongwe portfolio. We saw the Big Five several times and had a fantastic experience.

We would very happily return and may well do so.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thorpethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2022 via mobile

Our chalet #5 was perfectly quiet. There is wifi and mozzie netting. We saw everything we hoped to with Jack and Johnson as guides. Our maid, wonderful! But the kitchen went above and beyond accommodating a restrictive diet, and the food? Oh my, DELICIOUS! We would return in a heartbeat!

Room tip: The weather is not predictable anymore but we were hoping for water in the river at beginning of Dec, dry as a bone. (sigh)
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cbmeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews