We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
thorpethorpe
Marrakech, Morocco

Absolutely wonderful!

Review of Kuname Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Feb 2023
We had an absolutely wonderful time at Kuname! We had a lovely warm welcome and things continued to be great throughout our four night stay. Our room was attractive and comfortable with an inside bathroom (and also an outside bath and shower) and a peaceful deck area complete with fridge. The room was very well-serviced every day. The delicious biscuits provided in the room were a real temptation. The dining area, lounge and outside deck area overlooking the river were beautifully and stylishly decorated.

The food (beginning with 5.30 a.m. coffee and snacks before the morning game drive through to a superb dinner at night after the second game drive) was absolutely superb. There is lots of food during the day, and the quality and presentation is a credit to the excellent chefs and the rest of the wonderful staff. The varied places to eat were always beautifully arranged and the stylish crockery and linen had been carefully chosen making each meal an absolute treat.

Our drivers and trackers were fantastic. Jurie and Freddie and Adolph and Mosco were skilled, patient, determined, knowledgeable and great fun (though bear in mind there is absolutely no compulsion to eat any of the strange things they suggest you can eat whilst out on drives . . .!)

The game reserve is very well-run with a limited number of vehicles operating in a vast area. Only two vehicles are allowed at major sightings and there is a limit of staying for five minutes if other vehicles arrive - no limit on time until then. This prevents what can happen on some game drives where a dozen vehicles surround one sighting. We were really impressed by this aspect of the Karongwe portfolio. We saw the Big Five several times and had a fantastic experience.

We would very happily return and may well do so.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 1 Jun 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$162
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $149
24.9 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$169
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $188
30.7 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$517
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $518
  • Official Site
    $449
  • Hotels.com
    $519
43.2 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$77
  • Priceline
    $77
  • Agoda.com
    $77
  • Vio.com
    $77
42.3 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$327
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $283
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Priceline
    $327
42.7 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$344
  • Expedia.com
    $373
  • StayForLong
    $327
  • Hotels.com
    $355
44.9 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior - Night
$207
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
    $207
  • Priceline
    $207
39.4 km from Kuname Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$1,116
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $1,604
  • Expedia.com
    $1,388
  • Hotels.com
    $1,390
33.5 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,043
  • Expedia.com
    $1,366
  • Hotels.com
    $1,366
  • Trip.com
    $1,366
36.7 km from Kuname Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
353
33
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
353
33
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon the river game drives outdoor shower and bath enjoyed every moment african bush stayed nights our night stay an amazing experience treated like royalty the kitchen staff every meal game reserve adolph tracker ranger leopard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2022 via mobile

Our chalet #5 was perfectly quiet. There is wifi and mozzie netting. We saw everything we hoped to with Jack and Johnson as guides. Our maid, wonderful! But the kitchen went above and beyond accommodating a restrictive diet, and the food? Oh my, DELICIOUS! We would return in a heartbeat!

Room tip: The weather is not predictable anymore but we were hoping for water in the river at beginning of Dec, dry as a bone. (sigh)
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cbmeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2022

Everything has been perfect: nice room and amazing common areas, great staff, wonderful safari (we have seen elephants, leopards, giraffes, lions, buffalos, springboks, baboons e many others !!) , top food and local beers! Totally recommended.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelez442
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2022

The lodge is really well situated over a river and animals process across throughout the day. When we were there the river was dry but there was still a steady stream of wildlife to watch during much of the day.
The staff are lovely and the food delicious and well presented. The rooms are delightful and the outside bath/showers offer monkeys as companions throughout the day! We enjoyed having a resident Kudo outside our room too. Thank you very much

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank goldfinchUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

Excellent service all round starting with the
Reservation, Gugu
Host, Kathleen
Guide and Spotter, Adolph and Adolf (best radio call sign we ever heard)
Frontline Staff, Moses, Susan, to mention a few.

The staff go the extra mile to make you comfortable and make it a memorable stay.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Kuname Lodge is truly a gem within the Karongwe Portfolio and we cannot wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2022

We absolutely LOVED our four days at Kuname Lodge! By the second day of our stay, our guide and tracker had brought us to the Big Five and so many more! The food was heavenly and plentiful. We loved the little touches, like the towels on our beds folded into little elephants bedecked with purple flowers and the African sayings on our pillows every night (with chocolate treats!)

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DJFC360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karongwe Reservations, Marketing at Kuname Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2022

Kuname is truly a gem within the Karongwe Portfolio and we cannot wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews