We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$1,346
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
esasso622234
Johannesburg, South Africa

Piece of Paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2022
Everything was magnificent. The main lodge is gorgeous with a beautiful pool area. Luxurious rooms, delicious food, lovely spa area for a relaxing massage. The staff were wonderful and couldn’t do enough for us. Our guide Aurela was fantastic, each game drive was packed with adventure, amazing game, incredible knowledge of the bush and views to die for. They even have a generator for loadshedding!!
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary Geyer, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 12 Apr 2023
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Moditlo River Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$344
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
11.6 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$249
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Prestigia.com
12.3 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
Tripadvisor
$66
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
    $66
12.7 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$1,306
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
40.8 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $424
  • Priceline
12.8 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $365
  • Algotels
10.8 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $302
  • eDreams
12.0 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Priceline
32.1 km from Moditlo River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
455
82
27
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
455
82
27
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives field guide great chef turn down service safari experience the reserve amazing experience food was amazing hoedspruit area wild animals every meal a wonderful stay off road african bush whole experience south africa kruger park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2022 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in Modlito after viewing a few different lodges in the Hoedspruit area. We were delighted with our choice from the friendly welcome at the airport, lodge itself as well as stepping into our beautiful and well presented room.

The game drives were great fun and we managed to see the big 5. Our guide Jika went over and above to hunt down the elusive leopard who we saw 3 times during our stay! There was also lots of wildlife around the lodge, as it is unfenced, plenty mischievous monkeys, Impala and Nyalas.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful and it seems they really enjoy working there. The food was very good and plentiful, I am vegetarian and said in advance and was well catered for. Drinks (soft drinks, water, wine/beer) are paid for separately at the end of the trip and not included, but were all priced reasonably!

Room tip: The temp is v variable - bring many outfits! Temps of 39 degrees on the game drive one day the next needed jackets/ponchos with the wind
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lucief687
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary Geyer, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Dear Lucie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at Moditlo River Lodge. We are delighted to learn that you had a good time with us.

Please do come and revisit us.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2022

wow i have enjoyed my stay, the morning and evening drives, the guys went out of their way for us to see as much as they can for us to see the animals, the food was superb as special the supper. the environment and atmosphere was good

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tmbula191484
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary Geyer, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Dear Tmbula,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay.

we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2022

Moditlo River Lodge is a piece of heaven in the bushveld. To see a lion a few meters away from you in an open vehicle, and to see not one but three white rhinos up close was an extraordinary expereince. The lodge in beautiful and peaceful, and the staff very freindly and attentive.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank june681
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary Geyer, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Thank you, June for sharing your recent stay with us. we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2022

An amazing place to stay, the Moditlo River Lodge blends so well into its natural surroundings. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the staff are so hospitable and wonderful. The safaris are extremely well organised and the driver and tracker are very knowledgable and friendly. They are so patient in answering questions and also really make the trip a lot of fun. From check in to check out, the experience was wonderful, and I highly recommend the place.

PS: Ask for their local gin cocktails; extremely delicious and tasty.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheTrvllingChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary Geyer, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Dear Travelling Chef,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience at Moditlo River Lodge.

We do hope to see you back real soon.

Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

Scenic views, friendly staff, exceptional service & mouth-watering food - Moditlo has it all. Our two night stay was revitalizing to say the least. From the moment we arrived we were met with friendly faces who took our bags to our room, face cloths to freshen up after a long drive & welcome drinks. Each morning we were treated with coffee and rusks before our very informative adventure started on the game drive ( you will also be treated to a coffee & rusk stop in the bush ). The daily meal spread ( breakfast, lunch & dinner ) was exciting and the variety was impressive. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that our vehicle had been washed prior to our departure.

Room tip: There is no need to overbook with off site excursions as the offering at Moditlo is more than sufficient. Be sure to pack warm clothing for early morning game drives.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leo95C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary Geyer, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Dear Leo,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards
Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews