We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gillian R
Johannesburg, South Africa

Misleading

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Sept 2016via mobile
Run-down, ramshackle kind of place. The "restaurant" had nothing other than a very poor quality salad to offer, as everything else on the menu wasn't available. Swimming pool was green.The tariff we originally were quoted wasn't correct so we ended up spending more money than we'd expected, and the rooms were way below average! Overall, a terribly disappointing stay. Seemingly, even the hippos have left, as there was not a sound or sign of them at all either!
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$474
  • Hotels.com
    $457
  • Agoda.com
    $363
  • Expedia.com
    $424
22.1 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$664
  • Priceline
    $1,300
  • Hotels.com
    $1,300
  • Expedia.com
    $1,300
10.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$211
  • eDreams
    $211
  • Agoda.com
    $211
  • ZenHotels.com
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
Booking.com
$158
  • Hotels.com
    $152
  • ZenHotels.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $166
2.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$419
  • Hotels.com
    $419
  • Priceline
    $266
  • Expedia.com
    $419
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$339
  • Expedia.com
    $339
  • Agoda.com
    $243
  • Hotels.com
    $288
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
Expedia.com
$66
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $69
  • Agoda.com
    $65
  • Trip.com
    $75
21.8 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$317
  • Hotels.com
    $341
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
  • Priceline
    $317
23.9 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,054
  • Hotels.com
    $1,397
  • Expedia.com
    $1,397
  • Trip.com
15.4 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$1,872
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $1,872
  • Agoda.com
    $1,409
  • Booking.com
39.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here three nights and loved it. The host was very lovely and was so willing to help with any questions we had. We had problems with our rental car and she even called Avis to put us in the right direction. We had about three meals there and they were all prepared very tastily and the staff were very friendly and appreciative. We originally had a budget rondavel booked but our host upgraded us to a family accommodation free of charge. There are some updates that need to be made on the property but our host was very aware of that and was working on it. The area the resort is in was very beautiful even during Winter. The pool wasn't very clean so we didn't go swimming, but to be honest most places we stayed didn't have pools up and working. There were plenty of cute curious monkeys also, some hippos that come out at night and they have a few elephants on the property. This place has quite a bit of history, and we felt nothing but welcomed here.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinaarmstrong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

I was happy to find Hippo pools had Accom as the whole of Hoedspruit was booked out!

I kinda know why. The place needs a lot of maintenance, rooms are ok, but certainly not 3 star!

Most positive thing I can say was my bed was comfy and clean.

When I checked in I asked if there was a restaurant and was told there was. When I dropped my bag in the room and went to find a beer, the place was locked up and nobody could access to the "bar!" Eventually drove back to town to find dinner!

Anyway, was passable for a night, but certainly wouldn't try holiday there!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank de_chalain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Rooms and over all lodge is in a horrible state and over priced, not worth R 1100.00 per night This lodge has passed its hey days. Paid and they could not pick this up??? Should not exceed more than R500.00 per night.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debbiev39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2016

A beautifully clean and very neat room that was comfortable for our one night stay. Lovely crisp, clean white linen. A super pool facing room that was well equipped and had all the necessary goodies for a braai. Clean, modern bathroom. A most pleasant overnight stay with a very friendly reception lady. Was a bit far out of town so make sure you have all the stuff you need if self catering - a bit of a trek into town.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 622sharonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Where to start! This is a 3 star self catering spot! What you book online is not what you get! The owner, who was away, has still not contacted us for our refund after we were woken by the cockroaches scuttling over the 'kitchen' walls. We arrived with 2 young children at about 7.30 pm and had no hot water, the fridge had not been turned on and there was no microwave to pop our dinner in. We could not use the hob or pots due to the filth and as for the revolting bathroom with no hot water, we could not take a shower. When we awoke, we were roasting in the room as we could not open any doors or windows, due to monkeys and baboons. I have travelled the world in back-packers and never been in such filthy accommodation! Never book to stay here.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moodieancic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews