We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
622sharonf
Durban, South Africa

Happy stay at Hippo Pools

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jul 2016
A beautifully clean and very neat room that was comfortable for our one night stay. Lovely crisp, clean white linen. A super pool facing room that was well equipped and had all the necessary goodies for a braai. Clean, modern bathroom. A most pleasant overnight stay with a very friendly reception lady. Was a bit far out of town so make sure you have all the stuff you need if self catering - a bit of a trek into town.
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$211
  • Agoda.com
    $211
  • eDreams
    $211
  • ZenHotels.com
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$339
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Priceline
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$317
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $298
  • Hotels.com
    $341
23.9 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $355
  • Booking.com
    $474
22.1 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,300
  • Hotels.com
    $1,300
  • Priceline
10.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $152
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $419
  • Agoda.com
    $239
  • Hotels.com
    $419
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $69
  • Agoda.com
    $65
  • Trip.com
21.8 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $1,408
  • Hotels.com
    $1,872
39.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Where to start! This is a 3 star self catering spot! What you book online is not what you get! The owner, who was away, has still not contacted us for our refund after we were woken by the cockroaches scuttling over the 'kitchen' walls. We arrived with 2 young children at about 7.30 pm and had no hot water, the fridge had not been turned on and there was no microwave to pop our dinner in. We could not use the hob or pots due to the filth and as for the revolting bathroom with no hot water, we could not take a shower. When we awoke, we were roasting in the room as we could not open any doors or windows, due to monkeys and baboons. I have travelled the world in back-packers and never been in such filthy accommodation! Never book to stay here.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moodieancic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Staff were helpful and friendly but not as close to the airport as thought so had to pay for transfer. We just paid for basic room which had no air conditioning but it was clean and neat. Swimming pool was fantastic. Unfortunately didn't sight any hippos that morning. Wifi was free but only accessible around reception area.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Lovely 'basic', rustic lodge with splendid Hippos and other wildlife roaming around. There is no air conditioning, however, so be prepared to BOIL! We were told there would be air con, but there were very slow ceiling fans instead. My friends slept on the floor and other locations to try and get cool at night.
None of the doors to the toilets/bathrooms shut - no locks and all opened due to mould, swelling to the wood, hence me not being able to go to Number 2 for the entire duration of the trip for fear of people catching me in the act!
Also a bit dirty and mouldy - the bathrooms need a serious refurbish to bring them up to date, get them clean and fresher. Spiders and moths all over the windowsills, however this could be just a cleaning issue - which didn't get addressed. I think the cleaner was on holiday while we were there.
Main swimming pool was green so no one got in...but individual lodges had plunge pools which were nice and clean. Barbecue area good too.
Staff sort of non-existent - always away on errands. Only get wi-fi at the cafe, but not in the rooms.
Good bargain basement place - pretty and rustic and good if you don't want anything luxurious, as looking at the wildlife was great and there was plenty of space to stretch etc but needs better cleaning and AIR-CON!!!

Room tip: Ask for anything with AIR CON, if you can get it, hurray!!!
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank the-arctic-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2015

No, seriously. The facilities are wonderful and the rooms are very well taken care of. This is not the place to party, but rather enjoy the nature and peace. Hippos may even come out of the river at night. Arrive as early as possible or you will regret it. I wanted to offset my entire trip by a day so I could spend one more night here.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Filthy_Beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2015

A quaint hidden away set of apartments and hotel.
No hippos during our visit and rather ironically to the name no pool. it may well have been a seasonal issue.
I stayed here for three nights on business about a 15 min drive out of Hoedspruit. Follow the signs and then through the lane and it sort of appears on you. Consisting of apartments and houses alongside the river bank there is something unique about it
I went in the winter in essence and I wasn't looking for any hippos My accommodation was a house overlooking the river but didn't show me any hippos, but I can see the appeal.
Hippo pools did appear tired in places, the bar was empty of stock, the shelves messy and disorganised and with a fridge that you'd find in a kitchen under-filled with beer. The staff were it appeared not allowed to manage the money and any cash payment required the manager to come in and sort.
The pool llooks very nice, but there was no water in it - I didn't ask why, again I'm assuming it was the low season and it was being cleaned? All said and done, the staff were meticulous, breaakfast was very good I thought and the rooms, albeit tired and set in 70s decor were clean and tidy, mine had a great power shower and a hot tub?? No wifi in the room - only in reception.
Choice is limited in this area, you're a short distance from many game reserves and the local town, for a few days I think it's a unique experience. The town has all you need. Even the owner is unique and almost eccentric, but couldn't be more helpful. It's not 5 star but is good value and if you have your own plane - it has its own landing strip.....

Room tip: Out buildings have the best views.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews