We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ligt55
Putten NL

Great cottage but perhaps overrated by others..

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Dec 2013
- Location: yes, safe but so remote.. 20km from Hoedspruit, 50km from Phalaborwa with only private game reserves around.
- Luxury rondavel: indeed most complete, even an ironing board, good furniture, best shower we had this trip, no mosquito screens though and while garden nicely landscaped the ambiance to sit there was not enough.The daily rate of over EUR 55 imo is not a bargain (we paid 40 at Marloth Park, a smaller distance from KNP gates)
- Staff kind and helpful, Lindiwe roomservant the most sweet person
- So why the statement of overrated? We had -probably unjustlified but still- expected to view the hippo pool right from the cottage but it was a little way to walk and either sit on the grass or as we were kindly invited to use, at the deck at River House but it was not the same since your fridge/toilet etc were all over at the opposite side of the property and then the view was mainly obstructed by trees.

The goal of our 2 night stay was to spend the day in between a lazy day at the cottage watching the hippo but nothing came of that..
Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$153
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
$187
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
22.6 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
$469
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $469
45.1 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
$319
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $319
30.2 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior - Night
$206
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
21.1 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Official Site
    $448
  • Booking.com
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,387
  • Booking.com
15.4 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $310
  • Expedia.com
    $342
23.9 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was rarely let down by Tripadvisor evaluations, but in the case of Hippon Pools Lodge I felt rather misled by the positive marks for this guesthouse. I booked a budget standart room for what I thought was an attractive price given the positive reviews for the guesthouse. In fact, what we got was a room which met at best best youth hostel standart and after all wasn't at all good value for money. The room turned out to be a family/backpackers room with 4 beds. Everything in the room was old and worn out. The worst was the bathroom. A shower which remained cold and even didn't feature a shower curtain, so you would wet the entire room. There were no amenitites whatsoever, except for a rather small towel for each of us. There was not even soap in the bathroom. The beds were unconfortabel and you could feel the bed springs. By the way that was not the room which was promoted at booking.com but a cheaper category. Nevertheless I think this room should not be let at all without a clear warning that this is a backpackers room at the lowest standart. The resort may have some nice rooms at the poolside or above the River, but you should be very careful for what you actually get. Breakfast, which was included in our tariff was ok, but not a great deal. We were not even offered any juice or other cold drinks except coffee.

The positive points to mention are that we received a very warm welcome by the charming landlady and her little son though we were somewhat disappointed that both the restaurant and the bar were closed. The setting is very nice though except from two cottages directly located at the river there is no view on the river. There were no hippos when we were there.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HippoPools, Manager at Hippo Pools Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our resort. We understand that you were "let down" and are excited to inform you that all of our family backpacker units are currently undergoing a complete renovation. We are also receiving a complete load of new mattresses and beds that are due next month.
With regards to the advertising used on booking.com, we have to link our website-advertised "backpacker" to the "standard" label used on their site. We apologize if this created any confusion and invite you to come and experience the new renovations when you are next in South Africa!
We will be happy to offer you a complementary breakfast should you visit us again.
Kindest Regards
The Hippo Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we booked for the long weekend, at arrival we found the most friendly and professional staff ready to help with every little thing and even willing to assist during odd hours, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We previously stay at other so called 4 and 5 star venues around Hoedspruit and were always disappointed.Hippo Pools were money well spent, will recommend to anyone on holiday in the area. The four wheeler motorbike trip next to the river was a great experience for my 9 year old daughter. Thanks to David, Kelly and other staff members

Room tip: Unit next to the river to view the hippo's
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bertie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Loved the hotel : rooms are big , clean and well equipped.

surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and so quiet

staff are nice and helpful

Great security and you feel very safe

Highly recommend this place

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Cannot fault the accommodation (we stayed in the luxury self-catering rondawel). The accommodation was well-equipped and very comfortable. Management very helpful, setting and walks very pleasant. Can highly recommend. Our only disappointment was that the hippos didn’t visit while we were there.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 335lebreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been at the Hippo Pools few days ago - and it was an excellent choice. The place is nice, relaxing and very friendly ... and the hippos are really there in the Olifants river, few meters below the resort. David accompanied us to Kruger, to a private game drive and then a bush walk - and we enjoyed all of that very much as David is an enthusiast with a lot of experience (besides a university degree in natural sciences). In the end we paid much less than with other organisations and we had a very high quality experience. Kelly made us feeling at home together with the rest of the staff. Certainly good value for money. If we can, we will come back.

Room tip: The luxury rondavel, where we stayed, is probably not the most comfortable among the different options. Next time we will try the cottages facing the pool.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews