We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bertie N
Tzaneen, Limpopo, South Africa

Great stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Oct 2013
we booked for the long weekend, at arrival we found the most friendly and professional staff ready to help with every little thing and even willing to assist during odd hours, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We previously stay at other so called 4 and 5 star venues around Hoedspruit and were always disappointed.Hippo Pools were money well spent, will recommend to anyone on holiday in the area. The four wheeler motorbike trip next to the river was a great experience for my 9 year old daughter. Thanks to David, Kelly and other staff members
Date of stay: September 2013
Room Tip: Unit next to the river to view the hippo's
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$493
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $495
  • Official Site
    $373
  • Hotels.com
    $494
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$162
  • Expedia.com
    $154
  • Tripadvisor
    $154
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
$399
  • Expedia.com
    $379
  • Hotels.com
    $379
  • Tripadvisor
    $379
23.7 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$303
  • Expedia.com
    $323
  • Lol.travel
    $281
  • Hotels.com
    $309
23.9 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$77
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $77
  • Vio.com
34.9 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
$470
  • Expedia.com
    $464
  • Hotels.com
    $487
  • Tripadvisor
    $464
45.1 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
Exterior - Night
$220
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $220
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Priceline
21.1 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free parking
Pool
$1,120
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $1,604
  • Agoda.com
    $930
  • Expedia.com
    $1,255
11.6 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,043
  • Expedia.com
    $1,229
  • Hotels.com
    $1,230
  • Trip.com
    $1,230
15.4 km from Hippo Pools Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
11
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Loved the hotel : rooms are big , clean and well equipped.

surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and so quiet

staff are nice and helpful

Great security and you feel very safe

Highly recommend this place

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Cannot fault the accommodation (we stayed in the luxury self-catering rondawel). The accommodation was well-equipped and very comfortable. Management very helpful, setting and walks very pleasant. Can highly recommend. Our only disappointment was that the hippos didn’t visit while we were there.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 335lebreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been at the Hippo Pools few days ago - and it was an excellent choice. The place is nice, relaxing and very friendly ... and the hippos are really there in the Olifants river, few meters below the resort. David accompanied us to Kruger, to a private game drive and then a bush walk - and we enjoyed all of that very much as David is an enthusiast with a lot of experience (besides a university degree in natural sciences). In the end we paid much less than with other organisations and we had a very high quality experience. Kelly made us feeling at home together with the rest of the staff. Certainly good value for money. If we can, we will come back.

Room tip: The luxury rondavel, where we stayed, is probably not the most comfortable among the different options. Next time we will try the cottages facing the pool.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've got a great deal for this hotel - even at high season! Rooms were clean and customer service is amazing! David & Kelly go above and beyond to help guests!
Several room options are available, depending if you want to go on a low budget or high end. Location is also great for game watches.

Room tip: Very helpful staff for any info you need.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been at Hippo Pools in 2011 & we have been there earlier this year. WOW what an improvement in the Management team. Kelly & David is such a delight. They go above & beyond. Coming from a Hospitality background ourselves, we know what to look for (not that we are looking for faults), & we cant fault Hippo Pools. The cleaners are friendly, our room was clean on arrival & well cleaned during our stay, the grounds are well kept & we just love the overall atmosphere. We cant wait to go back to HP - little spot in paradise!!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilizeBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews