We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Susan P
Sorede

Perfect!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Mar 2024
Our stay at Phelwana was excellent. We stayed in one of the tents which was fabulous, our plunge pool on the terrace gave us great views and we really enjoyed watching the hippos. One evening we were walking up the path to the restaurant and encountered a giraffe walking towards us, he very slowly turned and walked the other way. The monkeys playing around our tent gave us endless amusement. Our guide Joe was excellent, his walks in the morning and drives in the evening were so interesting, the evening drives were perfectly finished off with sundowners and snacks at hippo dam. The food was superb, from a wonderful array at breakfast to imaginative and delicious evening meals.
We highly recommend a stay at Phelwana, we can't wait to return.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $364
  • Hotels.com
21.7 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $371
  • Booking.com
21.5 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $313
  • Expedia.com
    $381
21.7 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Booking.com
22.9 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $548
  • Hotels.com
25.1 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Radissonhotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $259
  • Booking.com
24.5 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $730
  • Hotels.com
50.9 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $237
  • Booking.com
28.0 km from Phelwana Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
308
41
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
308
41
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge sabi sands kruger national park stayed longer out of this world tent hippos luxury animals meals bush safari plunge nyala
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2024

We spent 4 nights at Phelwana G.L.
We had two great safari with two expert guides that taught us to follow animals footprint. We made also Quad trail in BuffaloLand, very recommended.
We also recommend to see Moholoholo Rehabilitation Centre. Very cheap, but it touched our hearts. In the lodge area there are free hippos, giraffes, zebras, nyalas, monkeys, impala, buffalos. We suggest also the morning bush walk.
We stayed in a luxury tent with private pools directly on the lake. Fantastic.
Also restaurant and team are very fantastic.
HIGLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GuglielmoS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

The property has lot to offer for its guests. To start with is the staff, they go out all the way to make sure the stay is comfortable. As a family we had dietary requirements which was met to our satisfaction. The chefs are always ready to prepare something that is not in the menu to meet the guest's requirements. The property also offers in-house game rides and bush walks, our guide Ms. Flora was very knowledgeable and friendly, she made sure our children (ages 14 and 11) were well engaged in the activities. The front office staff Ms. Nikita, Karla and Mr. Jordan were very helpful in arranging all our external activities including the safaris to Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route to Blyde Canyon. The restaurant staff Mr. Jeffery and Ms. Gale made sure all our requests were promptly met and went the extra mile to keep us comfortable. Overall an awesome experience as a family. It's a pity that Trip Advisor gives only five stars but this property needs more.

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sudhakar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2023

American family of five adults stayed in a three bedroom villa for a week in June 2023.
Everything exceeded our expectations. The staff was very warm, and very helpful in communicating with us before and during our stay. The villa was very comfortable, the food was excellent, and the wildlife was abundant on grounds, with Kruger and private reserves not far. Town of Hoedspruit offers good amenities (doctor, grocery etc.) for those who need it.

The level of comfort and quality are very reasonably priced (compared with often very high daily prices of some private reserve lodges).
We would return in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

After a week on safari in Sabi Sands we looked for somewhere to relax and recover from the 5.00AM wake-calls!

We searched online for somewhere close to our route back towards Hoedspruit/Eastgate Airport, and found Phelwana. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer.

Our stay could be described as total relaxation.

We chose a luxury tent on the edge of Phelwana’s lake, which was inhabited by a hippo, who periodically appeared during the day. On the opposite side of the lake was a giraffe who also appeared from time to time.

Being outside Sabi Sands we did not expect to see the big five, but did understand that there were two leopards that did appear in and around the lodge from time to time. Unlike Sabi where the animals are conditioned to human presence, the Phelwana leopards are not, therefore resulting in the lodge providing transport from/to the main building during the hours of darkness. We did however see some of the smaller game such as impala and nyala, and waterbuck.

We selected the all-inclusive package, which has a somewhat restricted number of alcoholic beverage options. Anything beyond these appeared to be reasonably priced. The meals that we took were all very good.

The staff were all very courteous and attentive. Our special thanks to Kayla who efficiently handled our booking, and subsequent pre-arrival requests.

Having found Phelwana we hope to return, for a longer stay, after our next safari.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AIRPORT-OPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanine De Villiers, Marketing at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2023

Dear AIRPORT – OPS
Thank you for your review and feedback, we are happy to hear that your stay with us was a relaxing one; we always ensure that our guests receive the best service and feel welcome when staying at Phelwana Game Lodge.
We hope to see you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jordan Torr, Lodge Anchor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2023

Beautiful location, wonderful food.
We were in a "tent" overlooking a waterhole. A giraffe walked within 10 feet overnight. The staff were great and there were no problems with dinner when we arrived late. The morning guided Bush walk was amazing and educational, seeing hippos and giraffe while learning about the plant life and animal tracks. Unfortunately we only stayed one night, I would happily have stayed longer. A little piece of paradise

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trek48142170134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanine De Villiers, Marketing at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2023

Dear Trek48142170134
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review for us! We are so pleased to hear that you found our bush walks informative and that you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Nikita Torr (Phelwana Management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews