We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
dreyeramanda
Cape Town, South Africa

A Real Bosveld experience!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jan 2023
My husband and I spent 4 days at Mali Mali in December as part of our trip to Kruger. We wanted a "get away from the hustle and bustle" experience. We enjoyed the tranquility of Mali Mali.
The host, Eric, went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We were not expecting 5 star luxury accommodation, but all the facilities were comfortable and clean.
The themed rooms had a real bush feeling.
The meals we had there, were pleasant and well-presented.
Evenings around the campfire was very nice. The other guests provided much entertainment!! We had a very nice crowd.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Although it was very hot, lounging by the pool and cooling off, made it bearable.
I can recommend Mali Mali to anyone wanting to stay at a bush lodge, at BnB prices.
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$356
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
23.4 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
Tripadvisor
$152
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
13.8 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$248
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Prestigia.com
24.1 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$183
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.6 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Pool Area
Tripadvisor
$72
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $72
19.9 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$1,331
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
26.2 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Official Site
    $363
  • Priceline
21.5 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $211
  • Priceline
24.1 km from Mali Mali Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
8
7
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
7
2
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2023

MALI MALI - FALSE ADVERTISING // VERY DISAPPOINTED

Stayed at Mali Mali from the 4th Jan - 7th Jan
They state game viewing available, yet the only vehicle available is broken and needs repairs. There is nothing to do at Mali Mali other than sit by a dirty pool.
Rooms: Mattress is a thin foam on a cement base VERY VERY UNCOMFORTABLE.
Pictures on the website is clearly false/old.. ARC OLD! The paint has faded and looks old.
So many Stairs, not suitable for old people or people with Back/knee problems
NOT A LODGE, More like a B&B advertising false, none of below available directly from the lodge, have to drive far distances to get any of the below services.
Rooms really of poor standard, broken table/dressers. Decking outside the room broken/lose, lose stones, i personally fell and injured myself, i have photos, and videos
Limited packing space,not worthy of R2000 per night stay, I wouldnt even give Mali Mali a 1 Star. Breakfast portions are very small, cannot even offer a filter coffee ONLY a packet of coffee milk/sugar/coffee this coffee is full of preservatives. What about the people who do not take sugar or milk?
Stayed 3 Nights ONLY.. instead of the 7 night stay!
Malaria Area, yet they have a pond & 3x non-working water fountains full of stagnant water that is a maleria mosquito breeding ground!
The Activities are as follows: (NOT AVAILABLE DIRECTLY FROM "LODGE"
Bush Walk (Ndlovumzi Nature Reserve)
Game Drive (Ndlovumzi Nature Reserve)
Big 5 Game Drive
Moholoholo Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre
Blyde Canyon Boat Safari
Wildlife Quad Bike Ride (approximately 80min)
Wildlife Quad Bike Ride Passenger
Graskop Gorge Package 1
Graskop Gorge Package 2
Graskop Gorge Big Swing Add On
Elephant Interaction
Kruger Park Day Drive (1 to 7 People)
Flying Safari 10min
Flying Safari 20min
Flying Safari 30min
Flying Safari 60min
Flying Safari Blyde Canyon 60min
Flying Safari Hoedspruit, Blyde, Graskop & Back
Helicopter Ride (1 to 4 people)
Hot Air Balloon Ride
Spa Treatments For The Ladies:
Swedish Massage 60 min
Deep Tissue Massage 60min
Aromatherapy Massage 60min
Destress Back, Neck & Shoulder Massage
Hot Stone Massage
Couples Massage
Face Treatment 45min
African Head Massage 30min
Hand & Foot Massage 30min

The only good thing about the stay was the couple/Hosts whom had only been at the lodge in a working capacity for less than a week, they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as they could. "lodge" didnt even have tupperware for a picnic breakfast takeaway! Thank You Chantelle & Sinjin for your hospitality!
Please also note that i have been charged R210 for dinner, Desert was supposed to be included yet we didnt even receive a desert on either 2 occasions of making use of your restaurant!

They advertise a 5* Mali ali Safari Lodge on Trip Adviser/Bookings.com its all false!
Flat Screen TV - Ummm thats a NO NO .. no TV in any rooms!
Security? Ummm the doors dont even lock! NOT SAFE!
Air Purifier - haha if you consider a R120 air purifier any good!

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2022

The hosts were amazing, went out if their way to make us comfortable, the supper by the bonfire a highlight for me, best mushroom sauce I've ever had! Definitely a place to check out and just relax and unwind.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fisabi358796
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2022

We had a great experience on our family weekend away. The staff were so friendly and the food was amazing! Such a relaxing atmosphere with wild life and nature around us. During the day we went for walks, nature drives and cooled of with n nice swim in the pool and at night we sat around the fire and listened to the hyena and night owl noises. We will definitely be going back to this lovely bushvelt lodge!!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Marvel1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

Wonderful idyllic place in the bush. At night sitting at the campfire you here the hyena's call. In the morning the monkeys play in the trees.
The art of Anton Smit makes the place very very special.
The owner Eric is very enthousiastic, helpful and a true cook and host. He really let you feel at home.

Room tip: Visit Moholoholo Rehab Center. Ask Eric for an evening tour.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Coastal32043946801
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2022

Mali Mali is in serious need of some TLC. The toilet seat in our unit was broken, the "shower" was anything but a shower. The towel rail also fell off a few times. One of the windows in the kitchen nearly fell out when we tried to open it, all rusted. Also a few open light bulbs, no insect screens. The entire unit is in serious need of a good, deep clean! Very friendly staff!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wynand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews