We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$268
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
neilf811
Preston, United Kingdom

A wonderful stay at Kubu Safari Lodge

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Dec 2023
Stayed for 10 nights at Kubu and what a fantastic place. The staff are fantastic, the rooms comfortable and the food brilliant, served in different locations to ensure it never got boring. Our holiday package included 5 Game Drives/trips which were all in the first 5 days. On her own initiative Busi re-planned our trips to spread them out over the 10 days and then the staff fixed up additional activities to ensure we got the most from the experience. The Game Drives were awesome including Lions, both Rhinoceros, Cheetah, Buffalo and many more. And for birders the birds around the Lodge itself are fantastic.
A great place to stay and a wonderful country. We will be back
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Take your camera and binoculars to look for birds around the Lodge as well as on the Game Drives...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$252
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
13.7 km from Kubu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Pool
Radissonhotels.com
$286
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $286
20.3 km from Kubu Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $342
  • Booking.com
14.3 km from Kubu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $300
  • Booking.com
13.6 km from Kubu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $369
  • Booking.com
16.2 km from Kubu Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
90
44
17
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
44
17
12
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Me and my other half stayed here for 6 days and we honestly had the most amazing time ever - we did not want to leave. The staff really made it for us - every single person we encountered were the friendliest and most helpful ever. All of the staff are so proactive, friendly, happy to chat, going above and beyond. When we had a day with no activities in our package, they found extra drives for us to go on and were able to rearrange things so we could go with friends we had made whilst there. My other half had previously injured his foot and without us even saying anything, they overheard and gave him something to help his foot - its such incredible service. They're so accommodating, everything runs so smoothly. As a vegetarian, they made food specifically for me which was always delicious. The lodge itself is stunning, there are beautiful locations you can eat dinner in on certain nights and the pool is great. Beds are comfy and they have mosquito nets. And there are animals on their reserve which will drink water from the water hole whilst you have breakfast. I could not recommend this place more!

Room tip: If you are veggie, make sure that you tell them in advance. At breakfast, sit outside so that you can watch animals in case they visit.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 338felicityh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023

We stayed at the Kubu Safari Lodge for 5 nights and everything was just PERFECT ! All the staff is so nice and kind, Always worrying about our well-being. The rooms are beautiful and clean, and the food is simply amazing ! You will not be starving there that's for sure ! We were told that all the staff changed recently so don't trust previous bad comments on that place, we recommand 100% !! Unlike some reviews that we saw, we didn't have any issues with the WiFi, hot water or electricity... The only thing you have to know is that the lodge is about an hour drive from Kruger.
Can't wait to be back and we will be back for sure !! Really loved that place !
Morgane & Jeremy.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023

We stayed at Kubu for 3 nights and very much enjoyed our time there! The lodge has a few rough spots (in need of some updating and TLC) but I am sure Karein and her team will have the lodge in tip top shape in no time. Very friendly staff and great food. Only breakfast could do with a glow up…..a bit too basic and toast takes for ever.
Wishing the team all the best and we would definitely come back!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank fonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2022 via mobile

If you’re looking for a small and intimate African Resort with a European flair, great food and excellent service, look no further than Kubu Safari Lodge.

Owner Manfred and his staff are warm, friendly and very entertaining. The suites are very clean and well appointed. Huge bathrooms!

We really enjoyed the swimming pool and the fact that wildlife abound on this 20 acre property. No negatives here and great guides, you’ll
Love it!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CHR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

This was one of our favorite lodges. Friendly staff which were doing their utmost to make our stay as good as possible. Would go there anytime again and advise you to do the same. A plus: while sitting on your porch you can see small game within reaching distance and at night hear the lions roar (though the are safely behind fences)

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kubulodge, Owner at Kubu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Thank you Roger.
You are right, we are in the middle of Bush but it is abolutely safe. Our Nyalas are used to humans but remain wild animals. Beautiful to watch them interacting.
I trust you took a lot of nice memories home.
Warm regards
The Kubu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews